We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhelpful Manager & Rude Staff”
Review of Kilford Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kilford Arms Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

My room was broken into VIA the room window which leads into a courtyard. The manager, Michael [--] was no help in replying to any of my emails to date. The owner, Pius got involved and was absolutely no help at all. I would no recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2014
21  Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

464 - 470 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had booked here for 3 nights but we would have left the same day only we were so tired after a long journey .If we had seen the room which we had to pay for on arrival we would not have stayed.Wooden floor in bedroom number50 which was really sticky and shower was so grotty we wouldn't dare get into it.The breakfast was like a cattle mart.Cooked food just opposite cereal ,toaster etc.and as there was a queue at each staff had difficulty getting through them.We had to ask for a table to be cleared to get sitting down and eventually we got cutlery etc.The eggs had the yolks all burst and I could not get someone to ask to get my ehg well done .We had lunch in the hotel and the waitress just lifted the milk off a table which people had not finished to give to us for our tea.In our opinion this hotel is ruining its business by having hen and stags stay and lack of staff when they have s full house.When people are giving their review thy should state their sge .Definitely not suitable for 70 year old with the noise from the pub next door and even though there is alift quite a few steps.

Room Tip: Don't know as the carpet in all the foyers was filthy and nearly every room we passed on our way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I are just back from a wonderful 3 day stay at this hotel. We got a very warm welcome and were given a lovely spacious room and bathroom, both were very clean and well equipped. The free bottled water was a nice touch. The fan in our bedroom was making an annoying noise so rang reception and it was replaced straight away. great customer service. The location is ideal, perfect for getting around Kilkenny on foot. The hotel bars are cosy and welcoming with live music most nights. The breakfast was nice, plenty of choice. Maybe if I had one fault, it would be to get a better quality porridge, it was not great. We got a great 3 day groupon deal but would not hesitate to stay here again when in Kilkenny, deal or no deal.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carrigfay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My wife and I are just back from a three night stay at the Kilford Hotel. Have to say we had a great time from start to finish! The girl who greeted us at reception was very friendly and helpful as were all the staff we met! The breakfast was gorgeous and we were right in the city centre which was perfect for exploring Kilkenny. Beautiful City-we'll definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask the receptionist for advice on things to do in Kilkenny-she was very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Having stayed here just recently and reading some very negative reviews I must say we ..ere extremely pleased with everything in the Kilford Arms we were greeted pleasantly on arrival and the room we were allocated was spacious clean and modern. Breakfast each morning was served in The White Oak Restaurant and was a combination of waiter service and self service.possibly the buffet area could be slightly better organised

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DIEVERA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I had a lovely time in the Kilford arms hotel , everything was perfect , we don't have one single complaint about out stay , the staff were so friendly , the rooms were perfect and the breakfast setup was brilliant , I would recommend this hotel to everyone and will defiantly be coming back soon!!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The customer service in this hotel is appalling. From start to finish we were met with rude, obnoxious and completely unprofessional staff, particularly from the girl at reception. Completely ruined our stay and we have advised anyone we know to give this hotel a miss. Never again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Sally52014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,858 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,080 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#13 of 19 in Kilkenny
795 reviews
1.5 mi away
Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilford Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilford Arms Hotel

Address: John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £55 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilford Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This City Centre hotel is just a few minutes walk from the rail and bus station and within walking distance to all the major sights and attractions Kilkenny has to offer. With 60 bedrooms it is small enough to offer a truly personal service, while offering an excellent range of facilities for our guests. Whether dining in the White Oak restaurant or enjoying a drink in one of the 2 bars, make the Kilford Arms your home away from home.EntertainmentThe Kilford Arms is a great entertainment complex, with something for everybody! O’Faolain’s fabulous "super-pub" is built over 3 levels, with stunning architecture incorporating the ruins of a 16th century church! This new pub is a "must-see" on your trip to Kilkenny, and it features late bar and DJs nightly and a New Heated Smoking Area to Rear. PVS Bar hosts live bands regularly, and is home to the famous Kilford Karaoke on Saturday nights! During the day this is a great place for a quiet drink or to enjoy freshly prepared bar food. Dining The traditional White Oak Restaurant offers the best of local produce served in relaxed in formal surroundings. Open from 7am – 9pm Daily.PV’s Bar provides lunch and bar snacks menu daily, for lighter meals or a quick bite to accompany a relaxing drink! O'Faolains Bar serves food from 12:00 up to 21:00 daily, offering a great range, from light snacks to more substantial fare! Parking: Ample Coach Parking and Free Complimentary Parking for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kilford Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilford Arms Kilkenny
Hotel Kilford Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing