We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking”
Review of Kilford Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kilford Arms Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Avoid this hotel at all costs, from the moment we walked in to this hotel it was a disaster, blonde girl on reception was very rude, other staff were okay, we decided to have lunch in the bar area after our long drive, and my was i sorry greasey crap with gone off salad. I will never go back here again

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank mel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 804 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

We spent two nights at the Kilford Arms Hotel when we visited Kilkenny for the Arts Festival. We bought a voucher for 90 Euro which claimed to have a value of 178 Euro; we would have been really cheesed off if we had paid the full price.

Reception area was nice; staff were friendly but seemed to be busy and harassed.

There is an elevator to the first floor but then there are steps and stairs everywhere. It seems to be a number of buildings knocked into one. The hotel had the look and smell of an over-used premises; there was a smell of cooking permeating the corridors, which were clean and bright.

In our room the flooring was of the cheapest laminate; the joins were turning up where they had been penetrated by liquid, probably when washing the floor. There was a sticky residue on the floor, I am not sure what it was.

The bathroom was adequate in size but was let down by mould in the corner of the shower. The toilet bowl was cracked and very inexpertly repaired. The flush handle had come adrift and was hanging off. The feel of the place was that there was no maintenance plan and no interest in compiling a snag list.

The beds were uncomfortable and lumpy. The duvet bag (no buttons or clips - just an open bag) was made of what felt like Dacron sailcloth; it was hard, noisy, and scratchy. The sheets were the same. I did not expect mercerised Egyptian cotton but the bed clothes (supplied by a contract company) were awful. Every time someone moved, the duvet ended up on the floor; it was that stiff.

The breakfast area smelt of sour beer and was like a cattle mart with guests bumping into each other and trying to avoid being run over by the constantly hurrying staff. Every so often, the swinging door to the kitchen would burst open (it had no porthole to look through) and a staff member would erupt through it carrying pots or plates. The resting place for the damp cleaning cloth was IN the cutlery drawer. I moved it twice, and twice it was replaced in the drawer on top of the spoons. The food was not bad and was cooked in small batches. By the way, the big plates are under the hot food trays in a warming cupboard.

Overall, the staff seemed not to be professional and were careering around like billiard balls.

The hotel is apparently a destination for hen & stag (bachelor/ette) parties at weekends; it does not bear thinking about.

The premises urgently needs a manager who is a trained professional who knows how to compile a maintenance plan and run a breakfast service.

We really enjoyed the spotless city of Kilkenny and we will return but, when we do, it will be to stay in another hotel.

Room Tip: At weekends, when there is a late-night disco, keep well clear. Otherwise, ask for a room at the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Tyremarxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed here for two nights B&B and were very happy with it. We were in the heart of the city and were able to walk everywhere. Staff were lovely and helpful. Room was lovely and spacious . Breakfast was perfect with lots of choice.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wally041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed here in early August midweek. The good points. Staff were friendly ( although that should be a given for any hotel). room was quite big. Nice big breakfast. Right in the centre of Kilkenny. The bad points. Very noisy. Noise from the street. Noise from the hotel entertainment and paper thin walls restricted quite time to approx 4 hours (2.30am to 6.30am). Room was clean except for what looked like a vomit stain on the carpet. Overall great if you're looking for a lively spot close to town.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stanDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Had a hen doo here, was a nice place once we settled in.. rooms were nice and spacious. ..The Breakfast room was lovely decorated. .... at one point earlier on, on 1 of the evenings the owner (a man) asked us to keep it down and not make so much noise,we were only laughn and chatting as u do, he clearly knew it was a Hen doo & sure it was a pub. ...but other than that it was grand

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lusciouslucy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just back from one night in this hotel. We got it as part of a discount voucher deal, stayed a weekday night. Check in was friendly & quick, room was clean & spacious, TV stations were fuzzy. Bathroom was mainly clean, some damp on the ceiling, nothing serious. Breakfast was plentiful & tasty for a 3 star. For the money we paid I have to admit I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel. Great location, would recommend for a cheap & cheerful getaway in the centre of things.

Room Tip: Room 53 is quite close to the smoking room of another pub next door so if you are planning an early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Driscollll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed one night with my partner and was a little nervous with mixed reviews on Tripadvisor. Overall happy with hotel and you must remember it is a three star hotel and doesn't pretend to be anything else. Free parking , friendly staff, decent rooms if a little tired, great location within short walking distance of all major sights, breakfast buffet style but you could eat enough to keep you going most of day. Kilkenny is a lovely city with great history however not the place for a quite few days. It is a party town with lots of live music in the many pubs and popular for hen and stag parties. The night we stayed the hotel was busy but thankfully no parties. Overall an honest family hotel that tries to be innovative , would check in advance of booking if they have a stag/ hen group and depending on answer you make your choice? Brendan Dublin

Room Tip: All rooms on 1floor- We stayed in room 77 which was at very back of hotel so no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bbutler3232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,803 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#13 of 19 in Kilkenny
773 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kilkenny
799 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kilkenny Inn Hotel
Kilkenny Inn Hotel
#14 of 19 in Kilkenny
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilford Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilford Arms Hotel

Address: John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £57 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilford Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This City Centre hotel is just a few minutes walk from the rail and bus station and within walking distance to all the major sights and attractions Kilkenny has to offer. With 60 bedrooms it is small enough to offer a truly personal service, while offering an excellent range of facilities for our guests. Whether dining in the White Oak restaurant or enjoying a drink in one of the 2 bars, make the Kilford Arms your home away from home.EntertainmentThe Kilford Arms is a great entertainment complex, with something for everybody! O’Faolain’s fabulous "super-pub" is built over 3 levels, with stunning architecture incorporating the ruins of a 16th century church! This new pub is a "must-see" on your trip to Kilkenny, and it features late bar and DJs nightly and a New Heated Smoking Area to Rear. PVS Bar hosts live bands regularly, and is home to the famous Kilford Karaoke on Saturday nights! During the day this is a great place for a quiet drink or to enjoy freshly prepared bar food. Dining The traditional White Oak Restaurant offers the best of local produce served in relaxed in formal surroundings. Open from 7am – 9pm Daily.PV’s Bar provides lunch and bar snacks menu daily, for lighter meals or a quick bite to accompany a relaxing drink! O'Faolains Bar serves food from 12:00 up to 21:00 daily, offering a great range, from light snacks to more substantial fare! Parking: Ample Coach Parking and Free Complimentary Parking for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kilford Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilford Arms Kilkenny
Hotel Kilford Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing