We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Kilford Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kilford Arms Hotel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
ennis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 23 August 2009

Went with my partner and two young children. I found the staff incredibly friendly and accomodating.The room suited us perfectly. The restaurant was fantastic and we had two great meals there. O'Faolains Bar was amazing and the atmosphere was very lively. When we wanted something a bit quiter we just went across to PVs pub. It was great that everything was under one roof and we didnt have to go looking for anything. Everyone was friendly and helpful. We had a great stay and i would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    210
    127
    44
    61
See reviews for
81
310
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corofin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2009

I have stayed in the Kilford several times and cannot fault the hotel for its service, location or friendly staff. Location is right in the center of the city and the bar in the hotel is amazing.
We stayed for two nights and ate in the hotel both nights, the food was great and would recommend if you were staying in the hotel to eat there. The nightlife is really great and would recommend O'Faolains for a great night out!
I will definitely be coming back again as my stay was a pleasure!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CR0bbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banner
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Have to say that this about my third or fourth visit to Kilkenny and each time I find the Kilford an ideal hotel to serve my purposes be they work or pleasure, midweek or weekend. Staff yet again were friendly and helpful. Breakfast and especially dinner were of a very high standard. Rooms of a sufficient size and very clean. Overall can not wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2009

The hotel was deceivingly big on the inside. It was a bit confusing to find the room and the number of stairs...be prepared to haul your luggage up and down!

Once again, the room was a good size and had both double and single beds. It was right in town and we (I was part of a tour) walked right by it initially. It was a bit outdated and does need to be updated.

The hotel is attached to a bar which is very nice and modern. So all-in-all, a nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMM_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2009

What a revelation it is to meet genuinely caring hoteliers. On arriving at The Kilford Arms my partner collapsed with an attack of kidney stones!!!! The hotel staff and owners were so caring and helpful. My partner had to stay for four nights in the local hospital and during that time the staff made sure I was looked after and made me feel at home in a town where I was totally alone. We had only initally booked the Hotel for one night but as it turned out I had to stay for four and there was no hassle holding on to the room from a day to day basis as I found out what was happening in the Hospital. Because I stayed from Sat till Wed I can definitley testify that the hotel itself is busy at the weekend with a fabulous 3 story pub and nightclub and as a result it can be noisy. During the week it is transformed into a quiet escape ideal for midweek breaks with great food and craic. As I didn't get to enjoy the nightlife on this stay will defo return - with my partner hopefully staying with me this time!
A massive thanks to all the staff again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesandNiamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2009

Well where do I start - if you are looking for a nice quite relaxing weekend this is not the hotel to stay. I think every stag and hen party in Kilkenny are staying at the Kilford Arms. The Saturday night was just manic with half dressed bodies everywhere - plenty of noise and screeching. The room we got was a show box and a little pricey for a January stay. It was very clean though and they put on a great breakfast and staff were nice. Stayed here a couple of years ago and it was grand but I certainly won't be staying again.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Red_Kazzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 February 2009

hi everyone this is my first review i hope to have many more ..............
we stayed in kilford arms hotel at the weekend when we arrived the staff we're very nice even got a mini tour of the place.went to the rooms we were staying in the family room which was huge , very spacious and very clean and comfortable. we had lunch in the bar which was also nice. they are recently after adding a huge smoking area i personally don't smoke but i didn't mind going out there with friends as it was a lovely area with lots of seats and heaters . the late bar was beautiful the three different levels were cool good music great atmosphere the only complaint that i have was the toilet down near reception was dirty could have been cleaned alot better .... the breakfast in the main restraunt in the mornings was buffet style was ok could have been nicer... over all i think the hotel is a great place to go with friends or young couples as a base for a great weekend and it's cheap the place is really nice so much better than i would have expected and would recomend it .

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,864 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilford Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilford Arms Hotel

Property: Kilford Arms Hotel
Address: John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilford Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This City Centre hotel is just a few minutes walk from the rail and bus station and within walking distance to all the major sights and attractions Kilkenny has to offer. With 60 bedrooms it is small enough to offer a truly personal service, while offering an excellent range of facilities for our guests. Whether dining in the White Oak restaurant or enjoying a drink in one of the 2 bars, make the Kilford Arms your home away from home.EntertainmentThe Kilford Arms is a great entertainment complex, with something for everybody! O’Faolain’s fabulous "super-pub" is built over 3 levels, with stunning architecture incorporating the ruins of a 16th century church! This new pub is a "must-see" on your trip to Kilkenny, and it features late bar and DJs nightly and a New Heated Smoking Area to Rear. PVS Bar hosts live bands regularly, and is home to the famous Kilford Karaoke on Saturday nights! During the day this is a great place for a quiet drink or to enjoy freshly prepared bar food. Dining The traditional White Oak Restaurant offers the best of local produce served in relaxed in formal surroundings. Open from 7am – 9pm Daily.PV’s Bar provides lunch and bar snacks menu daily, for lighter meals or a quick bite to accompany a relaxing drink! O'Faolains Bar serves food from 12:00 up to 21:00 daily, offering a great range, from light snacks to more substantial fare! Parking: Ample Coach Parking and Free Complimentary Parking for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Kilford Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilford Arms Kilkenny
Hotel Kilford Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing