We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Kilford Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kilford Arms Hotel
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
N Ireland
1 review
“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2010

Stayed for 2 nights in this hotel. Its very easy to find and on check in the staff were very friendly and helpful. Just dined in the hotel for breakfast and it was lovely. the only problem I would have would be the decor in rooms could be up dated.
Left my phone charger behind and it wasn't a problem for them to post and return to me. WOuld stay again

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upinthenorthNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    200
    127
    43
    60
See reviews for
75
302
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wexford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2010

stayed in kilford last weekend with my partner, had stayed there over 7 years ago was very happy to see majority of staff, all management, receptionist were all there when I stayed before. The staff were just as friendly and helpful as they had been on my last visit as are the current staff. Rooms had been upgraded and were fab, clean and airy
The restaurant Manager was always there with a smile and food excellent, basic but very tasty and fresh. All in all a very enjoyable weekend and one I will repeat in near future A big thank you to all staff.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finolap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2010

The room we had was spacious, unfortunately a smoking room. One evening we tried the restaurant - please do not want to do the same experience as we did. Compared to other restaurants/pubs the food was not of high quality and bad prepared.

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank irisblume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2010

Stayed for a weekend purely for a laugh, everything was fine until the saturday night, i saw a man wearing adidas training pants a wife beater showing me his wolf tattoo that looked like he drew it on with a crayon. In the night club one of residents brought in his dog who was free to run about, the bar staff were nice but intoxicated. highlight of the weekend was the arm wrestling tournament on sunday that seemed like it was a weekly thing.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank locationYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2009

I drove down from Donegal 2 weeks ago for a wedding in Kilkenny and came across the Kilford Arms hotel I had intended staying for one night but the staff were so friendly and the craqic was great I decided to stay another night great place and will def come back

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2009

Stayed in the Kilford Arms for a weekend. Must say the staff were very friendly and accomodated our every need. Food and entertainment was fantastic. Hotel room was very clean and comfortable. I would definatley be going back.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ennis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2009

I stayed in the Kilford for one night with a group of 13 excited ladies last weekend on a hen night. We traveled up from Ennis and had no problems finding the hotel. On arrival we were welcomed by a very friendly receptionist. we had family rooms and found each one to be very clean and tidy. The restaurant staff were also helpful and friendly.
The bar in the hotel is amazing with a blend of old world and modern day charm. The hotel has one of the best smoking rooms ive ever seen and was kept spotless all night. There was a young guy working in the late bar that night and i cant remember his name but he was just amazing he just never stopped going all night and was left alone quite a bit by the manager on duty so a big thanks to him.
I will defo be booking back into the Kilford arms for a full weekenfdwith my boyfriend. Its right in the center of Kilkenny with access to all facilities.
Big thanks to all the staff who made the Ennis Hen so enjoyable and cant wait to go back......

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aoifeennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilford Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilford Arms Hotel

Property: Kilford Arms Hotel
Address: John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilford Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This City Centre hotel is just a few minutes walk from the rail and bus station and within walking distance to all the major sights and attractions Kilkenny has to offer. With 60 bedrooms it is small enough to offer a truly personal service, while offering an excellent range of facilities for our guests. Whether dining in the White Oak restaurant or enjoying a drink in one of the 2 bars, make the Kilford Arms your home away from home.EntertainmentThe Kilford Arms is a great entertainment complex, with something for everybody! O’Faolain’s fabulous "super-pub" is built over 3 levels, with stunning architecture incorporating the ruins of a 16th century church! This new pub is a "must-see" on your trip to Kilkenny, and it features late bar and DJs nightly and a New Heated Smoking Area to Rear. PVS Bar hosts live bands regularly, and is home to the famous Kilford Karaoke on Saturday nights! During the day this is a great place for a quiet drink or to enjoy freshly prepared bar food. Dining The traditional White Oak Restaurant offers the best of local produce served in relaxed in formal surroundings. Open from 7am – 9pm Daily.PV’s Bar provides lunch and bar snacks menu daily, for lighter meals or a quick bite to accompany a relaxing drink! O'Faolains Bar serves food from 12:00 up to 21:00 daily, offering a great range, from light snacks to more substantial fare! Parking: Ample Coach Parking and Free Complimentary Parking for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kilford Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilford Arms Kilkenny
Hotel Kilford Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing