We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brillant!”
Review of Kilford Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kilford Arms Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Reviewed 9 March 2010

Stayed at the Kilford Arms for a girly get away with my friends. On arrival it looked kind of small from the outside but its actually huge! They have a restaurant, late bar, a residents bar and a niteclub so really you never have to leave! I made this joke at the reception and the receptionist answered that they also have a bank machine in the bar so we were set for the weekend! Their residents bar has a wonderful atmosphere and they run a karaoke show on the Saturday night which was deadly craic! If I was to find any complaint it would be that the car park was hard to find but we rang the hotel and the receptionist was lovely and she guided us there. Probably the best thing about our stay was the friendliness of the staff-the hotel obviously caters for large groups and they were so lovely to us I felt prompted to go home and write this review! Can't reccomend the Kilford enough!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suziep456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (821)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

741 - 747 of 821 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2010

just a quick review to ensure other do not have to ensure what we did. Staff were very unprofessional and were not able to deal with problems effectively and efficiently. All other probems could've been over looked(payment demanded on arrival, noise of other occupants, basic dinner) had the staff been able to deal with the complaints correctly. A group of young professionals should not have been treated like a group a tear-aways. The receptionist had little or no respect when dealing with us and she refused to listen to reason when we were trying to explain the issues we had. Hotel is very central and the room was spacious but these are the only redeeming factors among a long list of complaints.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank limerick2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2010

Myself and my husband took a last minute break to Kilkenny and stayed in this hotel which is near the city centre. The location was ideal for wondering around the city and we could park up the car for the weeked and not worry. There was a great band on the Friday night in the main bar and Karaoke on the Saturday night (not for the faint hearted but good fun all the same). I would recommend this hotel to friends for location and entertainment if staying in Kilkenny. Enjoyed the breakfast also in the unique restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Stayed in the Kilford Arms for 2 nights, first night we arrived late after a long drive we made our way to the room, first reaction was disapointment, small, cold, dirty and rubbish under the beds. The beds were also very uncomfortable. Woke up to blaring music coming from the nightclub, thought that was bad until later when we realised our room was under the smoking area downstairs so had to listen to shouting, laughing and singing. eventually that stopped only to hear banging on our door around 4 in the morning by drunk men trying to get in. Around half five there was shouting and fighting goin on in the hallway for half an hour or so. Similar situation the next night. Left the hotel wrecked tired. Didnt have the relaxing romantic stay we were hoping for, and never going to stay there again. overpriced for the dismal hospitality. 3 star its most definitely not!

Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
3  Thank LadyGreyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

where do i start! payment had to be paid up front before we got keys to our room. there was a dispute about how much we owed as we had booked through a third party website and the reception staff were arguing that the 70 euro deposit we had already paid wasn't to be discounted from the bill which is a ludicrous practice by any standards. We were even accused of trying to pull a fast one on them. This eventually did get sorted and they did apologise for the mix up, but the unprofessional manner of the staff in dealing with the matter was completely unacceptable. Staff were beyond rude. At one point the receptionist actually shoved her hand in my face when I was speaking to her. When I rang reception at 2 am to make a complaint about the noise I was hung up on. I could go on and on. I will never be returning to the hotel and I would certainly never recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MilMilis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

second time to stay here first time was lovely but this time was totally different horrible little room over the pub unclean dusty and way too small for two people the bathroom was cold and dirty standards are way down wont be staying there again and wouldnt recommend it to anyone visiting kilkenny...

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisonekaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Stayed for 2 nights in this hotel. Its very easy to find and on check in the staff were very friendly and helpful. Just dined in the hotel for breakfast and it was lovely. the only problem I would have would be the decor in rooms could be up dated.
Left my phone charger behind and it wasn't a problem for them to post and return to me. WOuld stay again

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upinthenorthNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,844 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#13 of 19 in Kilkenny
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,058 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
859 reviews
0.7 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilford Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilford Arms Hotel

Address: John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £56 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilford Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This City Centre hotel is just a few minutes walk from the rail and bus station and within walking distance to all the major sights and attractions Kilkenny has to offer. With 60 bedrooms it is small enough to offer a truly personal service, while offering an excellent range of facilities for our guests. Whether dining in the White Oak restaurant or enjoying a drink in one of the 2 bars, make the Kilford Arms your home away from home.EntertainmentThe Kilford Arms is a great entertainment complex, with something for everybody! O’Faolain’s fabulous "super-pub" is built over 3 levels, with stunning architecture incorporating the ruins of a 16th century church! This new pub is a "must-see" on your trip to Kilkenny, and it features late bar and DJs nightly and a New Heated Smoking Area to Rear. PVS Bar hosts live bands regularly, and is home to the famous Kilford Karaoke on Saturday nights! During the day this is a great place for a quiet drink or to enjoy freshly prepared bar food. Dining The traditional White Oak Restaurant offers the best of local produce served in relaxed in formal surroundings. Open from 7am – 9pm Daily.PV’s Bar provides lunch and bar snacks menu daily, for lighter meals or a quick bite to accompany a relaxing drink! O'Faolains Bar serves food from 12:00 up to 21:00 daily, offering a great range, from light snacks to more substantial fare! Parking: Ample Coach Parking and Free Complimentary Parking for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Kilford Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilford Arms Kilkenny
Hotel Kilford Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing