We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”
Review of Kilford Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kilford Arms Hotel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
dublin
1 review
“great place”
Reviewed 12 May 2010

just back from weekend away in kilkenny with friends stayed in KILFORD HOTEL lovely staff , friendly and helpful, rooms very clean will definitely be back and recommend to others

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sopphie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    220
    133
    52
    62
See reviews for
88
328
20
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2010

Way to much to get into but here are the lowlights
Room not ready for check in till after 4. Very rude staff. Very unhelpful staff. Rip off price for quality of rooms. Came back to hotel after a nice night out in Kilkenny city (which is fab) to find people openly smoking in the hotel & a fight between to very drunk men in corridor outside our room!! We were booked in for two nights but left after one. Went up the road to the four star Hibernian Hotel which was CHEAPER & a joy to stay in!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotteddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2010

Thanks to Mary and her gang - great stay enjoyed by us all - no complaints all was brilliant

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerry
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2010

some place to stay. went down for a week with my family and had a lovely stay the sevice was great and the rooms were very clean and were the perfect size. it is just down from the train station so that was handy and a shopping center just across the road, the main street is just a five minute walk. very central. o' Faolains is a spectacular bar and the new restaurant and disco were great..I would recommend this hotel for family and for a weekend with your friends..

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millie007of
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suziep456
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2010

Stayed at the Kilford Arms for a girly get away with my friends. On arrival it looked kind of small from the outside but its actually huge! They have a restaurant, late bar, a residents bar and a niteclub so really you never have to leave! I made this joke at the reception and the receptionist answered that they also have a bank machine in the bar so we were set for the weekend! Their residents bar has a wonderful atmosphere and they run a karaoke show on the Saturday night which was deadly craic! If I was to find any complaint it would be that the car park was hard to find but we rang the hotel and the receptionist was lovely and she guided us there. Probably the best thing about our stay was the friendliness of the staff-the hotel obviously caters for large groups and they were so lovely to us I felt prompted to go home and write this review! Can't reccomend the Kilford enough!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suziep456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2010

just a quick review to ensure other do not have to ensure what we did. Staff were very unprofessional and were not able to deal with problems effectively and efficiently. All other probems could've been over looked(payment demanded on arrival, noise of other occupants, basic dinner) had the staff been able to deal with the complaints correctly. A group of young professionals should not have been treated like a group a tear-aways. The receptionist had little or no respect when dealing with us and she refused to listen to reason when we were trying to explain the issues we had. Hotel is very central and the room was spacious but these are the only redeeming factors among a long list of complaints.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank limerick2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2010

Myself and my husband took a last minute break to Kilkenny and stayed in this hotel which is near the city centre. The location was ideal for wondering around the city and we could park up the car for the weeked and not worry. There was a great band on the Friday night in the main bar and Karaoke on the Saturday night (not for the faint hearted but good fun all the same). I would recommend this hotel to friends for location and entertainment if staying in Kilkenny. Enjoyed the breakfast also in the unique restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,924 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.3 mi away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#13 of 18 in Kilkenny
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,735 reviews
0.7 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,881 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#8 of 18 in Kilkenny
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilford Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilford Arms Hotel

Property: Kilford Arms Hotel
Address: John Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilford Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This City Centre hotel is just a few minutes walk from the rail and bus station and within walking distance to all the major sights and attractions Kilkenny has to offer. With 60 bedrooms it is small enough to offer a truly personal service, while offering an excellent range of facilities for our guests. Whether dining in the White Oak restaurant or enjoying a drink in one of the 2 bars, make the Kilford Arms your home away from home.EntertainmentThe Kilford Arms is a great entertainment complex, with something for everybody! O’Faolain’s fabulous "super-pub" is built over 3 levels, with stunning architecture incorporating the ruins of a 16th century church! This new pub is a "must-see" on your trip to Kilkenny, and it features late bar and DJs nightly and a New Heated Smoking Area to Rear. PVS Bar hosts live bands regularly, and is home to the famous Kilford Karaoke on Saturday nights! During the day this is a great place for a quiet drink or to enjoy freshly prepared bar food. Dining The traditional White Oak Restaurant offers the best of local produce served in relaxed in formal surroundings. Open from 7am – 9pm Daily.PV’s Bar provides lunch and bar snacks menu daily, for lighter meals or a quick bite to accompany a relaxing drink! O'Faolains Bar serves food from 12:00 up to 21:00 daily, offering a great range, from light snacks to more substantial fare! Parking: Ample Coach Parking and Free Complimentary Parking for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kilford Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilford Arms Kilkenny
Hotel Kilford Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing