We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - highly recommended”
Review of Laragh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Laragh House
Ranked #31 of 73 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic - highly recommended”
Reviewed 15 August 2006

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a weekend break at Laragh House. The guesthouse was magnificent and definitly the best accomadation I have ever stayed in. It was easy to find, fantastic location and the room was fab - tastefully decorated with great space within the room.

I have to disagree with the last posted comment stating that there was no hospitality at the guesthouse. Helen greeted us when we arrivied and checked us out on our departure. We seen her on a number of occasions durning the weekend and each time asked us if everything was ok and where we enjoying our stay at both the guesthouse and Kilkenny itself. The rest of the staff at Laragh House where equally as friendly and helpful to us during our stay.

Definitly will be recommending a stay at this guesthouse for all my family and friends.

  • Liked — decor - fabulous
  • Disliked — nothing - everything fantastic
  • Tips/Secrets — a must to stay
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank M-Leahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    25
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
35
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2006

The Laragh House was an exceptional B&B for the price. The rooms were spotless and very stylish. It is a very modern looking place with a nice sitting room and breakfast room. The bed was very comfortable and everything looked fantastic. My only complaint is that the host (Helen) quickly showed us to hour room and we never saw her again. The hospitality does not compare with what we experienced on the rest of hour trip.

  • Liked — stylish and clean rooms
  • Disliked — no hospitality
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McPimplestein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2006

We spent one night here and it was extremely impressive for the price, new, purpose-built, spotless, great shower. Our party had three rooms and they were all equally good. A 15 - 20 min walk to town centre and it's in a quiet, but very easy to find area.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank teddy1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2006

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night and the room was perfect. Everything, including the bathroom was new and CLEAN! The matress was so comfortable and they had lots of pillows too. They also had a iron/board and blow drier.

The staff were really friendly.

For breakfast we had a choice of cereal, fruits and a fry up - very delicious.

The only slightly negative moment was when we went to check out they wanted to charge us 80 Euros, but we were told 70 Euros in our confirmation email. We simply pointed this out and it was not a problem.

We would definitely go back!

  • Liked — The cleaniness and newness
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlexandrasWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2005

I agree with the other reviewer previous to me. This B & B is the best by far I have ever had the pleasure to stay in and is definitely nicer than a lot of the hotels I've ever been in. Absolutely top class and a credit to the owner.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank beemac70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2005

The nicest guesthouse I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. Immaculate, classy decoration, large spacious rooms some included jacuzzi baths. Saving up to go again!!!

Helpful?
4 Thank jennas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Laragh House, responded to this review, 2 November 2005
Thanks a million folks it's great to know you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will see you again at Laragh House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.0 mi away
Newlands Country House B&B
0.0 mi away
Carraig Rua B&B
Carraig Rua B&B
#16 of 73 in Kilkenny
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fanad House
Fanad House
#12 of 73 in Kilkenny
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Auburndale B&B
Auburndale B&B
#29 of 73 in Kilkenny
72 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Laurels B & B Kilkenny
The Laurels B & B Kilkenny
#14 of 73 in Kilkenny
211 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rosquil House
Rosquil House
#5 of 73 in Kilkenny
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laragh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laragh House

Property: Laragh House
Address: Laragh House Waterford Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Laragh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing