We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Rooms Around”
Review of Laragh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Laragh House
Ranked #27 of 72 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Rooms Around”
Reviewed 23 August 2006

My room at Laragh House was one of the nicest I’ve stayed in anywhere—5-star resort hotels included! The décor is very modern and welcoming, and my room was immaculate.

It is a short walk into town, though the guesthouse is located far enough out of the city centre to be relaxing and calm (at least calmer than the city centre). The guesthouse also has a nice guest lounge, patio, and dinning room. Breakfast was also very good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — Room and décor
  • Disliked — No complaints!
  • Stayed April 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank artfuldodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    26
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
36
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2006

Stayed at the Laragh House with my three children; we had two rooms. Rooms - both public and our rooms - were stylish and attractive. Warm welcome from the father of the owner, who was very helpful.

Hotel is well situated for a stroll into Kilkenny, but out of town far enough to ensure a quiet night's sleep. It is about 15 minutes walk from the Kilkenny Castle (a must-see).

Breakfast was good and we would definitely return here on another trip. Small mishap at checkout time due to an overcharge (they thought we had three rooms instead of two). I think that the owner is not around all that much but the staff did their best to fix the error immediately. Very very nice place.

  • Liked — So stylish! Great location.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trishf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2006

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a weekend break at Laragh House. The guesthouse was magnificent and definitly the best accomadation I have ever stayed in. It was easy to find, fantastic location and the room was fab - tastefully decorated with great space within the room.

I have to disagree with the last posted comment stating that there was no hospitality at the guesthouse. Helen greeted us when we arrivied and checked us out on our departure. We seen her on a number of occasions durning the weekend and each time asked us if everything was ok and where we enjoying our stay at both the guesthouse and Kilkenny itself. The rest of the staff at Laragh House where equally as friendly and helpful to us during our stay.

Definitly will be recommending a stay at this guesthouse for all my family and friends.

  • Liked — decor - fabulous
  • Disliked — nothing - everything fantastic
  • Tips/Secrets — a must to stay
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank M-Leahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2006

The Laragh House was an exceptional B&B for the price. The rooms were spotless and very stylish. It is a very modern looking place with a nice sitting room and breakfast room. The bed was very comfortable and everything looked fantastic. My only complaint is that the host (Helen) quickly showed us to hour room and we never saw her again. The hospitality does not compare with what we experienced on the rest of hour trip.

  • Liked — stylish and clean rooms
  • Disliked — no hospitality
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McPimplestein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2006

We spent one night here and it was extremely impressive for the price, new, purpose-built, spotless, great shower. Our party had three rooms and they were all equally good. A 15 - 20 min walk to town centre and it's in a quiet, but very easy to find area.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank teddy1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2006

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night and the room was perfect. Everything, including the bathroom was new and CLEAN! The matress was so comfortable and they had lots of pillows too. They also had a iron/board and blow drier.

The staff were really friendly.

For breakfast we had a choice of cereal, fruits and a fry up - very delicious.

The only slightly negative moment was when we went to check out they wanted to charge us 80 Euros, but we were told 70 Euros in our confirmation email. We simply pointed this out and it was not a problem.

We would definitely go back!

  • Liked — The cleaniness and newness
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlexandrasWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2005

I agree with the other reviewer previous to me. This B & B is the best by far I have ever had the pleasure to stay in and is definitely nicer than a lot of the hotels I've ever been in. Absolutely top class and a credit to the owner.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank beemac70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,756 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carraig Rua B&B
Carraig Rua B&B
#16 of 72 in Kilkenny
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Auburndale B&B
Auburndale B&B
#26 of 72 in Kilkenny
74 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fanad House
Fanad House
#12 of 72 in Kilkenny
280 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Laurels B & B Kilkenny
The Laurels B & B Kilkenny
#14 of 72 in Kilkenny
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laragh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laragh House

Property: Laragh House
Address: Laragh House Waterford Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Laragh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing