We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Laragh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Laragh House
Ranked #26 of 74 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2007

This place was amazing. Absolutley beautiful and immaculately clean. We traveled with our two children and had plenty of space in a room with a double bed, twin bed and cot. They even brought up a high chair to make feeding the baby easier (which we simply took to the breakfast room in the morning). The breakfast was so good! The staff was super friendly and helpful. The town of Kilkenny is a charming little place and a 15 min or so walk away. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bjsmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2006

Simply top class! I have been in mant hotels around the world, and this guesthouse tops all of them!
First of all, great service. All staff members were very friendly and helpful.
We took 2 rooms, since we were 4. Both rooms were new, as the whole guest house, amazingly clean, TV+ tea and coffee making facilities. very nice bathroom, and the beds were very comfortable.
Breakfast was OK, they serve a regular Irish breakfast, but you can always ask for something else.
the guesthouse is a 20 minute walk from the center of Kikenny, and easy accessible by car, since it is right on the Waterford road.

Amazing place, we paid 100 Euros for 2 adults and 2 children in July, and I can say it was very cheap for what we got there!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank primitivepios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2006

My room at Laragh House was one of the nicest I’ve stayed in anywhere—5-star resort hotels included! The décor is very modern and welcoming, and my room was immaculate.

It is a short walk into town, though the guesthouse is located far enough out of the city centre to be relaxing and calm (at least calmer than the city centre). The guesthouse also has a nice guest lounge, patio, and dinning room. Breakfast was also very good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank artfuldodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2006

Stayed at the Laragh House with my three children; we had two rooms. Rooms - both public and our rooms - were stylish and attractive. Warm welcome from the father of the owner, who was very helpful.

Hotel is well situated for a stroll into Kilkenny, but out of town far enough to ensure a quiet night's sleep. It is about 15 minutes walk from the Kilkenny Castle (a must-see).

Breakfast was good and we would definitely return here on another trip. Small mishap at checkout time due to an overcharge (they thought we had three rooms instead of two). I think that the owner is not around all that much but the staff did their best to fix the error immediately. Very very nice place.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trishf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2006

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a weekend break at Laragh House. The guesthouse was magnificent and definitly the best accomadation I have ever stayed in. It was easy to find, fantastic location and the room was fab - tastefully decorated with great space within the room.

I have to disagree with the last posted comment stating that there was no hospitality at the guesthouse. Helen greeted us when we arrivied and checked us out on our departure. We seen her on a number of occasions durning the weekend and each time asked us if everything was ok and where we enjoying our stay at both the guesthouse and Kilkenny itself. The rest of the staff at Laragh House where equally as friendly and helpful to us during our stay.

Definitly will be recommending a stay at this guesthouse for all my family and friends.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank M-Leahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2006

The Laragh House was an exceptional B&B for the price. The rooms were spotless and very stylish. It is a very modern looking place with a nice sitting room and breakfast room. The bed was very comfortable and everything looked fantastic. My only complaint is that the host (Helen) quickly showed us to hour room and we never saw her again. The hospitality does not compare with what we experienced on the rest of hour trip.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McPimplestein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2006

We spent one night here and it was extremely impressive for the price, new, purpose-built, spotless, great shower. Our party had three rooms and they were all equally good. A 15 - 20 min walk to town centre and it's in a quiet, but very easy to find area.

Stayed: July 2006
1  Thank teddy1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.6 mi away
The Laurels B & B Kilkenny
The Laurels B & B Kilkenny
#14 of 74 in Kilkenny
230 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyrath Estate
Lyrath Estate
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,551 reviews
8 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Brandon View House B&B
Brandon View House B&B
#3 of 3 in Graiguenamanagh
65 reviews
10.5 mi away
Moonarch Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laragh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laragh House

Address: Laragh House Waterford Road, Kilkenny R95 XH99, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range: £31 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Laragh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing