We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all that”
Review of Laragh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Laragh House
Ranked #26 of 72 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not all that”
Reviewed 17 July 2007

After reading all the glowing reviews I expected great things. We arrived at the B&B at 8pm and were greeted warmly and shown to our room, which was fine but had a dirty carpet and cracks in the walls. Also, we only had a shower. We were told we could change rooms the next day as all the rooms with bath were taken. That was very kind of them and we did indeed change rooms (for a bigger room, although it had a broken curtain rail that collapsed when you tried to draw the curtains!). The breakfast was not good. I've had some wonderful fry-ups in B&Bs, but the fried egg was rock solid, cheapo sausages, no beans or mushrooms. The coffee was good, and the black and white pudding was fine too, but overall we were unimpressed. On checking out we asked if there was a train timetable for trains back to Dublin. There wasn't, but we were told there was one at 'around 2pm'. Luckily we popped into Tourist Information and checked - the train was at 1.45, not 2. For 100 euro a night this wasn't really worth the money and although the decor was modern and smart I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Liked — Clean bathrooms, nice decor
  • Disliked — bad breakfast, location wasn't great
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freelance_Ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    26
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
36
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamarac, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2007

When we arrived at the Laragh House, we were treated as if we had interuppted the host and were a bit of an inconvenience. When she did finally check us in, we were not shown to our room or even pointed in the right direction. The room was nice, however our shower did not drain, so we had to take very quick showers and keep stopping the water. When planning your trip, I would suggest just making a stop in Kilkenny, not staying over night.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2007

This is a modern house just a short walk from Kilkenny city. Helen is very friendly and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble for her. The bedrooms are immaculate, and all decorated in a really interesting, modern style. Unbelievably comfortable beds, and a couple of the rooms have whirlpool baths - heaven! Unless you want to be right downtown, this is the best B&B in Kilkenny, hands down (A regular visitor to Kilkenny, I stayed in several before finding this jewel).

  • Liked — the furnishings - all very high quality
  • Disliked — having to wake up. I wanted to stay in bed all day!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2007

while attending my friends wedding in a nearby hotel myself and my husband stayed in laragh house for two nights in may. while we were part of a large group we were all well treated and any requests we had were facilitated as best as possible. i can only say that as guest houses go this is the best i have ever stayed in and have already booked in again for august.

  • Liked — the decor
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steinwenden, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2007

This place was amazing. Absolutley beautiful and immaculately clean. We traveled with our two children and had plenty of space in a room with a double bed, twin bed and cot. They even brought up a high chair to make feeding the baby easier (which we simply took to the breakfast room in the morning). The breakfast was so good! The staff was super friendly and helpful. The town of Kilkenny is a charming little place and a 15 min or so walk away. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bjsmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2006

Simply top class! I have been in mant hotels around the world, and this guesthouse tops all of them!
First of all, great service. All staff members were very friendly and helpful.
We took 2 rooms, since we were 4. Both rooms were new, as the whole guest house, amazingly clean, TV+ tea and coffee making facilities. very nice bathroom, and the beds were very comfortable.
Breakfast was OK, they serve a regular Irish breakfast, but you can always ask for something else.
the guesthouse is a 20 minute walk from the center of Kikenny, and easy accessible by car, since it is right on the Waterford road.

Amazing place, we paid 100 Euros for 2 adults and 2 children in July, and I can say it was very cheap for what we got there!

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank primitivepios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2006

My room at Laragh House was one of the nicest I’ve stayed in anywhere—5-star resort hotels included! The décor is very modern and welcoming, and my room was immaculate.

It is a short walk into town, though the guesthouse is located far enough out of the city centre to be relaxing and calm (at least calmer than the city centre). The guesthouse also has a nice guest lounge, patio, and dinning room. Breakfast was also very good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — Room and décor
  • Disliked — No complaints!
  • Stayed April 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank artfuldodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,755 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carraig Rua B&B
Carraig Rua B&B
#16 of 72 in Kilkenny
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Auburndale B&B
Auburndale B&B
#28 of 72 in Kilkenny
74 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fanad House
Fanad House
#12 of 72 in Kilkenny
280 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Laurels B & B Kilkenny
The Laurels B & B Kilkenny
#15 of 72 in Kilkenny
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laragh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laragh House

Property: Laragh House
Address: Laragh House Waterford Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Laragh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing