We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible. Staff were rude and rooms were dirty.”
Review of Lawlors Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lawlors Guesthouse
Ranked #72 of 73 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 February 2007

Stayed here last weekend with my brother when visiting family. Having read previous visitor reviews I thought that this would be a great place to stay. WHAT A MISTAKE! Arrived in the afternoon and staff were generally rude and unwelcoming. We were brought upstairs by the owner who seemed disinterested in talking to us and were shown our room which was in desparate need of a good clean. In fact the whole place smelt of stale cigarrette smoke even though it is now illegal to smoke in pubs and hotels in Ireland. The owners here have obviously appeared to have ignored this new law.

This guesthouse is more suitable if you are part of a stag or hen party which unfortunately can take over much of Kilkenny at the weekends. We were woken up a number of times after 2am with drunken lads coming back after their night out. Then some time later they managed to set off a fire alarm which was then rather bizarrely blamed on us! No apology was given for this mistake.

Like most guesthouses and b&bs in Ireland, this is run by a husband and wife team who seem to have learnt how to run a hotel based on watching every episode of Fawlty Towers. While Kilkenny is such a beautiful town its just a shame that guesthouses like these are allowed to operate.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank PeterDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for Lawlors Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2006

Great place to stay for a short break. Bedrooms are large, clean, very well decorated and comfortable.
Bathroom was large, spotless and even included huge bath (on request)
Breakfast was excellent, Irish brekkie was included and cereal etc provided. It was also nice to eat downstairs in the bar part as this gave us plenty of room.

The Guesthouse itself is lovely and old-style, no outside noise to worry about. The bar downstairs is large and bright, great food too at great prices. The owners and staff are extremely nice and helpful and looked after us very well.

2 minute walk from the city centre/castle/shopping etc.

The only two gripes are only 4 TV channels on the tv and you have to park around the corner in the trainstation, other than that, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FrankSDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2006

On a recent visit to kilkenny we had the good fortune of choosing Lawlors as a place to stay. On arrival we were shown to our rooms which are tastefully furnished well servised and clean. The following day we decided to have lunch in lawlors which was a real treat. Menu is extensive and food is excellent. I would certainly recommend a visit to this charming and inviting guesthouse. This family run guesthouse has a welcoming atmosphere and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leanne739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Dublin
17
Reviewed 30 January 2006

We arrived and shown to our room straight away. Room was lovely. Newly renovated. Friends of ours had no where to stay so i rang down and asked for another triple room which they said they had available. So our friends arrived ten mins later and they were told they had no where available. I rang down to double check and they said it was sold. Our friends came up to our room for a couple of mins just so we could sort out dinner arrangements and five mins later we had the owner knocking at our door abusing us for having people up in our room. I told him that they were gone!

We went out and had a really good night. Our frinds who found a place about ten minutes outside the town called up to us the next morning before our drive home and when we went to check out and pay for our room we got abused by the owner again for having our friends back to the place. Again for which it was only a couple of mins. All we wanted to do was pay for our room and got shouted and abused by the owner. We were told we were not welcome back into their accomadation and that she had video cameras showing our friends around the accomadation which she was going to show to the other locals. I would of understood if there was trouble caused but to be treated like that for having our friends in our room for a maximum time of ten mins I thought was very bad hospitality on the part of the management. If your staying here keep well out of the way of the owner. But otherwise kilkenny is a lovely town and the majority of the people are lovely!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
dublin
13
Reviewed 18 January 2006

this was my third time to stay in this fantastic guest house the experience just gets better each time.i landed on friday night with some friends one of the reasons the came with me was because never stopped talking about my previous experience and the wanted to see for themselves one of my friends said i know now what you mean. again like the other occasions it was heaven i only the manager as john and all as i can say he knows his stuff what i liked about him he realy cares and that is hard to find these days. the food was great the service was fantastic the staff were well trained and friendly.i could say this is one of the best places i have stayed in for some time. well done to lawlors bar & guest house keep this standard up and you wont have any problems.
regards
mick rogers.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
New York
14
Reviewed 16 January 2006

I'm writing to let all tourists out there know that there is a wonderful guest house in Kilkenny and it is Lawlor's. I've been fortunate enough to
stay there several times and each time I am more impressed by the
hospitality that the Lawlor family extends.
Along with the splendid hospitality, you will be delighted with your very
comfortable room as well as the food, drink and atmosphere of Lawlor's
fine Irish pub. The location is also excellent, a short walk to Kilkenny
Castle. To experience true Irish hospitality, you must include Lawlor's on
your places to stay.
Regards,

Neil O'Sullivan

  • Stayed: October 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Dublin, Ireland
18
Reviewed 8 September 2005

Just wanted to let everyone know that Lawlor's is a fantastic place to stay and I would highly recommend it to anyone thinking about visiting the "Marble City".

The rooms were impeccable, well maintained and beautifully decorated with good facilities and the food was fantastic.

The Staff are very friendly and welcoming and handled any query that we had with a high level of professionalism.

The Guesthouse is situated close to everything that you would go to Kilkenny to see and also has a 3* classification from from Excellence in Tourism Ireland which shows when you stay there.

All in all I would have no problem recommending Lawlor's to anyone planning a trip to Kilkenny - It get's 10/10 from me.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.4 mi away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#13 of 19 in Kilkenny
770 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,713 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#2 of 19 in Kilkenny
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bridge View B&B
Bridge View B&B
#11 of 73 in Kilkenny
220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Daly's B&B
Daly's B&B
#66 of 73 in Kilkenny
46 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rosquil House
Rosquil House
#5 of 73 in Kilkenny
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawlors Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawlors Guesthouse

Address: 42/43 John Street Upper, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range: £40 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lawlors Guesthouse offers ten beautifully furnished ensuite bedrooms with 3* classification. Each room boasts a unique style of comfort and warmth. Guestrooms accommodate 2 to 4 persons. Those lucky enough to acquire rooms to the rear of the building can experience the wonderful view of the beautifully maintained lawns of St. Johns Catholic Church and the magnificent architecture of the church itself. Lawlors Guesthouse is situated on John Street which boasts numerous pubs, clubs, bars and restaurants. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing