We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly and clean”
Review of Kilkenny Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kilkenny Inn Hotel
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Reviewed 13 July 2012

5 mins walk from the main streets of kilkenny but a pleasant walk. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Had a few drinks in the Bar the owners were very friendly and we enjoyed their hospitality. Good variety for breakfast and you got what you asked for.
I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babs59000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2012

My husband & I stayed at the hotel in May while on a visit/trip around Ireland. This family owned hotel has that little extra where the staff/family go out of there way to be helpful. The reception area was a beautiful place with classy decor. The receptionist was very helpful, make phone calls for us and helped with finding routes to our next destination. The bar man pointed us in the direction of a first class restaurant. Rooms were fine and clean. Only problems we came across was missing bulb in the wall lamp and the breakfast sausages were not up to usual high Irish standard we have come to expect.

Room Tip: Very good value. Our room was at the front and was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

What would you do if you returned to your hotel after a very nice evening in a Whiskey Bar, ascended to your room and discovered to your delight that the supplies cupboard next to your room was unlocked, and no one was manning the desk to ask for extra supplies? Liking very strong coffee (even if it is only instant which seems to be all they provide in hotel rooms in Ireland) ratheler than tea for your breakfast, you unfortunately decide to help yourself to a few extra mini freeze dried packages of this instant coffee and simultaneously discover extra little coffee biscuits. While large blaring alarms did not go off, nor did flashing lights, to your utter dismay the barman arrives to singlehandedly accuse you of theft and wrest from your hands the paltry little packages of delights.

Nonetheless, lovely little spot, well worth every penny. ... In addition to all of those wrested from our savings by the car rental company. But that, is another story.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rrcapecod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

This Hotel delivers on it's promises. It doesnt pretend to be 5* and it is not. It is a well run, nicely furnished, clean and tidy Kilkenny centre retreat.
I travelled for business, but intended a bit of social too and the location was perfect for town, bars, restaurants and sight seeing.

If you want to feel that you are in a specific Irish dwelling, this may not be for you as the hotel could be anywhere to be honest. That said the bar is welcoming and the food decent.

For business, family or social this is the best hotel I have found in Kilkenny, maybe not a romantic Irish retreat but very practical, efficient and delivers on its PR promises.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarricktoRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

The hotel is in a good location, just a few minutes walk from the downtown tourist areas. The staff was very polite and attentive to our needs. The room was clean and comfortable. We stayed there on a Sunday night and I think we were one of only a few people staying in the hotel that night so it was very quiet. Breakfast was quite good.

It's not a top-of-the-line hotel, but it is quite good for what we paid. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We were 3 pals travelling together & finding one room was not easy. This was perfect. Excellent service by helpful and friendly staff, clean and neat room with windows that open to a great view of a beautiful, very old church! Simple and elegant decor. High quality linens and towels.

Location was fine walking distance to everything in town and in the butter slip area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seashorenorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here last week and we found the hotel just average, a bit on the older side. The staff was not overly friendly and seemed annoyed by answering our questions. The best part about this hotel is the location, just up the hill from the Smithwicks Brewery.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cala1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.5 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,831 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#13 of 19 in Kilkenny
786 reviews
0.6 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,032 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 19 in Kilkenny
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Inn Hotel

Address: 15-16 Vicar Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £47 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilkenny Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kilkenny Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilkenny Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing