We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you can stay somewhere else”
Review of Kilkenny Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kilkenny Inn Hotel
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“If you can stay somewhere else”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Spent last Sunday night there. Only booked it last minute & the price was OK. Let’s put it this way: for the price paid, the place was adequate, any higher and it would have been a rip off. Service non existentent, in the sense that both at check in/out and at breakfast, the staff seemed as if they couldn’t care less. They were not rude but neither were they very helpful. We requested a nice view & bathtub. We got a horrible view and disabled bathroom (shower with seat- no tub) .Can only guess it must have been the last room available or they couldn’t be bothered to accommodate our request. Breakfast was average to poor. Location was OK but only because Kilkenny is small. The hotel is on the outskirts of the town so it doesn’t take too long to reach the town centre. I would definitely not pick this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarisiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    126
    53
    16
    10
See reviews for
28
128
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Traveling salesman. Stayed here for the 3rd or 4th time. Very clean and modern family run hotel. Breakfast was top notch. Lots of happy foreign tourists there which tells you it's ratings are genuinely all things good. Would def stay time and time again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnbhoy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Iv been to kilkenny 7 times in the last 5 years and have paid ALOT of money for hotels, this place is a gem and i will be back. The hotel is in a great location just at the top of the town, the rooms are clean, spacious. The staff are very friendly and helpful at all times, the bar is also a great place and very good prices. To sum up i will be back, i will recommend to friends

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatsDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
algarve
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Very easy to locate on the left as you enter the town centre. The receptionist Gary helped us with our luggage from the spacious secure car park to the well stocked comfortable peacefull bar, as we were early sandwiches and a pint of the black stuff were served. A shining modern lift took us to a well equipped comrortable room.
The staff were very helpfull , telling us were to eat ,find Irish music,solve the toll road payment and even booked us on line for our luggage at the airport.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dustyAlgarve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012 via mobile

12 of us stayed here. Nice hotel.l staff friendly. Good breakfast. Good value

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annasdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

5 mins walk from the main streets of kilkenny but a pleasant walk. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Had a few drinks in the Bar the owners were very friendly and we enjoyed their hospitality. Good variety for breakfast and you got what you asked for.
I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babs59000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

My husband & I stayed at the hotel in May while on a visit/trip around Ireland. This family owned hotel has that little extra where the staff/family go out of there way to be helpful. The reception area was a beautiful place with classy decor. The receptionist was very helpful, make phone calls for us and helped with finding routes to our next destination. The bar man pointed us in the direction of a first class restaurant. Rooms were fine and clean. Only problems we came across was missing bulb in the wall lamp and the breakfast sausages were not up to usual high Irish standard we have come to expect.

Room Tip: Very good value. Our room was at the front and was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,954 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.6 mi away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#14 of 19 in Kilkenny
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,759 reviews
0.6 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,920 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 19 in Kilkenny
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Inn Hotel

Property: Kilkenny Inn Hotel
Address: 15-16 Vicar Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilkenny Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kilkenny Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilkenny Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing