We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed my stay”
Review of Kilkenny Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kilkenny Inn Hotel
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
County Galway, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed my stay”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Room was a good distance from the road so really quiet and easy to sleep in, it was clean and cosy, not huge but plenty big enough for one person! I was advised where is good to eat locally by the owner and was delighted with honest and local knowledge. I went for a drink in the bar after my meal and was entertained by the owner and her son for a while. I really appreciated the company as I was travelling for work and was alone, they were both so lovely. Breakfast the next morning was ok, I'm not a fry person so choices were limited to cereal or fruit, I'd have loved pancakes as something warm to start the day but otherwise no complaints! I really would stay there again, they were all so lovely and made my stay super!

Room Tip: Quiet room out the back over looking the carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    126
    53
    16
    10
See reviews for
28
128
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlow
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

My mother in law as a guest of the hotel invited me to meet her there for coffee this morning. Unfortunately I didnt even get inside the hotel as some pompous little git came out and immediately told me I wasnt allowed to park there. I was in the middle of helping two other guests to jump start their car as their car battery had gone flat over night. He didnt even thank me for helping them- just told me to get out. I had a baby with me and had to load everything back up and go park somewhere else. So needless to say I wont be back if this is how they treat customers. Cead Mile Failte- yeah right!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank zebeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Spotless clean hotel. although the outside is a bit dated looking. nice comfortable room. free parking. Friendly staff were able to advise about the city attractions. Great value! 2 minute walk to bars. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenMat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ansonia, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My husband and I just recently came back from a trip around Ireland (we are from Connecticut). This was our second stop. The staff at the Kilkenny Inn was very nice and informative, and the parking area in the back was a definite plus. As with most other places, the hotel was very amenable to us checking in early. The hotel room was pretty standard, nothing too special but certainly a nice place to stay for the night. It was in a great location...just down the street from a Spar so we could pick up waters and snacks, and a short walk into town and to the castle. However, it was far enough away that it was very quiet at nighttime. The price was very reasonable and we got a full breakfast the next morning. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Triptaker811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Needed somewhere reasonably priced and conveniently located to Kilkenny city. This was just on the edge so ok, room was on the top floor so banged my head on the eaves a couple if times, but for €59 including a nice breakfast I would have no problem staying there again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Kilkenny inn hotel for three nights with my 85-year-old father. Staff were very friendly it's a 10 minute walk into town. Definitely stay there again I am already looking into a trip back in May

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank martinb57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and we had a lovely time. It's our second visit. The hotel is within walking distance of the town and the Kilkenny Castle. The hotel is very well run. The food in both the Pure Bar and the Taste Resturant is very good and the staff are very friendly and efficient,
especially Philip. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mar47mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,954 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.6 mi away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#14 of 19 in Kilkenny
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,759 reviews
0.6 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,920 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 19 in Kilkenny
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Inn Hotel

Property: Kilkenny Inn Hotel
Address: 15-16 Vicar Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilkenny Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kilkenny Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilkenny Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing