We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay experience”
Review of Kilkenny Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kilkenny Inn Hotel
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Bronx, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Okay experience”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I was not blown away by this hotel. The staff were friendly enough, but not overly warm and welcoming. The location was not far out of town (three or four blocks from bars and restaurants) but as a woman, traveling with a female friend, we were consciously walking home quickly since there were some dark corners along the way. When we arrived back at the hotel around 12:00 or 1:00 the front doors were locked. We tried to get through the gate and couldn't. We were freaking out!

We saw someone in the lobby and they opened the door. Turns out it was the night security and he confirmed our names and rooms and let us in. We were not told earlier that the doors would be locked, so we did not enjoy our 5 minutes of worry. Alls well that ends well.

There was no wifi in the rooms, which would discourage me from returning. You can only get wifi in the lobby. The hallways were dark, but the rooms were nice and clean. The beds were average and I was able to have a good nights rest. This was an okay hotel, but I would probably not return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    126
    53
    16
    10
See reviews for
28
128
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

There's nothing flashy about this hotel. It's basic but absolutely fine. Carpet's a little dirty/worn, but truly, a good stay. Our room was one of the most spacious we had. The location is a short walk to town. Breakfast was good; there was help yourself to some items and then a menu to order off of, but all included. Good price for a decent hotel. Had to go to lobby for wifi.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bambam2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here just one night on our way from Cork to Dublin. Thank goodness it was only one night too. If you are in a stag or hen party then I am sure this place is just right. If you are not all out to get roaring drunk and keep everyone else awake or be so drunk that you cannot get to bed and so sleep in reception (one of the stag party laid out on the couch in reception in the morning ) then stay away.
Cleanliness was fine. Rooms small but adequate. Breakfast adequate but nothing to write home about .
WiFi is advertised but can only be accessed in the reception area and not very often as it is a very poor weak system.
Would I stay here again? No I wouldn't.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBtravellinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Bugue, France
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed 1 night & were welcomed even though arriving early. Position very convenient to centre of town, a little down at heels but clean & comfortable. The barman was chatty & informative. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolyn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed in Kilkenny inn on the June bank holiday weekend, room was great, the bed was the comfiest iv slept in, in a hotel, even the pillows were nice, pity there was no food served in bar during the day, only a short walk to the town centre. Would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our 2nd to the last night in Ireland and spent a little more than our average budget stay because it was our 1st anniversary. It was our fault for assuming that being near town center was also near the train station, so we walked about 20-25 minutes to get there! The room was very nice, though we were confused at first how to get any power in the room. When you figure it out, it's ingenious! We were able to walk to find an impromptu anniversary dinner. We had our first official full Irish breakfast in the morning and it was fantastic and filling! We walked to Kilkenny Castle right after. Unfortunately there was no time to try out the beautiful shower in the updated bathroom before we had to leave, but I'm sure it was prefect! The front desk was VERY helpful in suggesting a better walking route through town back to the train station that shaved at least 5 minutes off!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GermanyBound19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurles, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed in Kilkenny on weekend. I Couldn't ask any more of staff and management. The food and bar are both great. Our bedrooms were clean and spacious. I would gladly recommend this hotel to any of my friends and family. Will definitely consider this for my next stay in Kilkenny

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 98Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,954 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.6 mi away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#14 of 19 in Kilkenny
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,759 reviews
0.6 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,920 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 19 in Kilkenny
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkenny Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkenny Inn Hotel

Property: Kilkenny Inn Hotel
Address: 15-16 Vicar Street, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilkenny Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kilkenny Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilkenny Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing