We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

Was here for a conference, the hotel is very elegant and the staff are generally very helpful. I must say, however, the bar seems very under-staffed. There were often long waits. Rooms very spacious and the leisure facilities are also very good.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dubsthcentralboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,355
    498
    284
    110
    42
See reviews for
558
1,011
18
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

Just back from a lovely stay with friends at Lyrath. I would highly recommend anyone to stay here.

From the moment we arrived driving up the driveway to the front door of the hotel until we left - the setting, welcome, service, staff, quality, cleanliness, luxury, atmosphere, comfort, food, bar, value for money etc etc ... every single aspect of our stay was really great.

The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful - there were six in our party and we all felt like we knew the staff for years (when we were leaving the very nice doorman said 'we'll miss ye now .. come back again' which we thought was really lovely). We had planned to check into our rooms and then go into the city for a couple of hours but plans were changed the moment we arrived to the hotel ... we checked in and did not leave at all until we were going home.

We enjoyed a really lovely lunch (and glass of vino of course) in Tuppers bar when we arrived and after relaxing for a few hours in X Bar we had a most fantastic meal in Yindees - WOW is all I can say. The food and the service was just amazing.

The rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean with fabulous shower/bathroom/restroom area. Bathrobes and slippers made us feel right at home with many guests feeling so comfortable that they wandered about the corridors in theirs.

I did not visit the pool or spa area myself but some of my friends went for a dip before breakfast. The pool is small and was quite busy initially but once some of the guests left they really enjoyed their swim.

Breakfast was really well organised considering the hotel was so busy and there was plenty of tip quality choice so that no guest could say they were unsatisified. The choice of fresh juices and breads left us in a very difficult situation ... we did not know what to have!

Lastly, I have to mention the three beautiful dogs who are so lucky to have this place as their home.

I would definately recommend that you stay here and I cannot wait to go back myself.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PlanesTrainsAutos09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

I stayed in the Lyrath last year on a package which appeared to be very good value and it all began very well! Afternoon tea was superb but we booked a treatment in the afternoon and were charged 4* prices for a 2* treatment- both of us. We had dinner booked that evening in the Thai restaurant but the service was extremely slow and this led to us being late for our movie etc...
On checking out we did mention these incidents and subsequently wrote to the Lyrath but were amazed to not even receive an acknowledgement from them

Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jeanoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

I have had the pleasure of staying in this hotel for the second time last weekend. And will be returning in 4 weeks again. I cannot compliment the staff enough for my experience there. We ate in both restraurants, and both were equally as nice. La Perla is a bit more plush, but its nice to have the choice when there for two nights. Afternoon tea is only half the price it is in Adare Manor or other high class hotels. A must have in the conservatory over looking the gardens. We had spa treatments, and as a past beautician myself, i can highly recommend this spa, the pool out overlooking the garden is fab and myself and my hubbie just lounged in the thermal suite in our robes afterwards. Had cocktails in the bar on both nights, and felt like we were abroad. One thing i must point out, and perhaps othes have noticed this also. The owner of this hotel is often to be seen around and it is lovely to see how he salutes his staff and has a smile for each and everyone of them when they pass. I noticed this on several occasions, and actually ended up saying it to him when i got a chance. Your business is only as good as your staff who run it, and this one sure doesn have the perfect recipe.

We were in a suite, so as a couple who dont get away much, we were in the lap of luxury and it was like an apartment. Have to mention Terry, the senior manager who couldnt have done enough for us and again was a very visual presence in this hotel at all times, so nothing left unoticed here.


If you, like us, dont get away often but want to put a few bob away to have one of the most romantic weekends with your loved one, without flying abroad, i can tell you, you wont go far wrong here.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff12324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

We had a very enjoyable stay here. The late check in is a pain if you have booked spa treatments. We had a couples experience & it was fab, very relaxing. The room was lovely & very clean. I loved the hydra pool that overlooked the gardens.
If I had a couple of critisisms it would be the service in the bar, however we were there to relax so luckily not in a hurry!! The other thing was we booked a reservation in one of the restaurants & we didn't find out until we were goin down for dinner that the restaurant wasn't open on that particular nite. We ate in La Perla then whch was nice.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susedunne_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

Stayed on an overnight in this hotel. The surroundings are beautiful. The room was one of the nicest I have stayed in. Bathroom was especially luxurious. Dinner in the restaurant was nice but overall the service in the hotel was not great. We had to wait ages for a lunch table and when we were eventually seated we were left until we had to call a waitress to take order. We were seated in the conservatory area of the bar and all agreed there was an unpleasant smell there . Also left waiting forever to order at the bar with staff avoiding eye contact while we stood there. This was on a saturday afternoon and the bar was not packed. I would expect a higher standard of service from such luxurious surroundings.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

I have to say this hotel is a real 5 star. I have stayed here a few times and most recently to do best man at my friends wedding. We could not fault the place. The food was excellent, the service brilliant and the staff very attentive. The venue itself is also perfect for a wedding and overall i couldnt reccomend The Lyrath highly enough both for a wedding or lesuire break .

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burkied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
1.9 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa

Property: Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Address: Paulstown Road | Lyrath Estate, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 170 acres of parkland, Lyrath Estate Hotel is only 5 minutes from Kilkenny City. It offers luxurious air-conditioned rooms, an award winning spa, an outdoor infinity pool, and a selection of bars and restaurants. Guests can enjoy a peaceful night's sleep at Lyrath Estate Hotel as rooms are soundproofed with each having beautiful views overlooking the estate with not a car in sight. Each guest bedroom includes complimentary Wi-Fi and a 43 inch flat screen television. The Oasis Health Club boasts a gym, steam room, swimming pool and Jacuzzi. The Oasis Spa offers a thermal suite, sauna and steam room with a range of indulgent treatments, with advance booking recommended. Contemporary Irish cuisine is on the menu at La Perla restaurant using the finest local ingredients. Tupper's is a traditional Irish bar located at the heart of the hotel where you can enjoy a quiet drink & delicious bar food. Yindee's serves authentic oriental food whilst there is a range of beverages available at the sophisticated X Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa And Convention Centre
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel Convention Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing