We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend with the girls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Kildare, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend with the girls”
Reviewed 31 March 2011

I stayed in Lyrath for 2 nights over a Friday and Saturday night and all 6 of us enjoyed our stay. The location is just outside Kilkenny city but taxi ride was about €10 into the town. Rooms are clean, comfortable and have small terraces if you are lucky enough to get the ground floor. The room we had was equipped with 2 single beds, could have been a bit bigger but we did get 2 bathrooms so no rows over the shower!. One of the bathrooms looked like it was equipped for a disabled person as it was more of a wet room. Service was excellent throughout our stay. From the personal parking of your car to the checking in and being brought to your room was all handled seamlessly. Dinner in the Asian restaurant is to be highly recommended as we had an excellent meal which was included in the weekend package. Spa was excellent also, mudwrap and facial were really good and staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is completely buffet and always well stocked. Try the brown bread and look for the recipe as it is top notch. Very good stay and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ground Floor with terrace recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dermotswoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,460
    526
    294
    113
    46
See reviews for
594
1,084
19
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Recently stayed with a group of friends. The hotel was absolutely fab, the staff were very welcoming , and the rooms were pure luxury. we ate in La perla resturant, food was fantastic.Very good service. Lovely entertainment in the bar on saturday evening and very nice atmosphere. Breakfast the next morning was excellent and again staff very friendly. On checking out we realised there was a slight mistake in our bill, staff couldnt have been nicer about it and sorted it straight away.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniek1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

This hotel sits its own estate grounds which entails a short drive into the city. Stayed in room 240, big room, best fitout of a hugh bathroom I have ever seen, separate bath, and big shower, and toilet witha door to close off. Immaculately clean The hotel has two restaurants. We ate in the Yindees (asian), lovely food, fair price. The weather was lovely when we were there so we sat in the seated area outside the comfy bar and had afternoon tea for two..aah wonderful. The leisure centre is on the small side but adequate. did not try the spa. Overall a great experience, I'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kats1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Got a lovely arrival beautiful scenery on way into the Lyrath, there was an escort to our room thats when it went downhill from there got room nothing special very ordinary have stayed in three star hotels which have better rooms also no signal for your mobile in the bedroom, went for a swim in the hotel which had missing bathroom tiles in it so be careful,

Had lunch in the lyrath very small portions for the price they charge, the food in the lyrath was tasteless and so so bland, wasnt great at all, that evening we were looking at the breakfast menu, and in the smallest print it had a service charge of ten euro per breakfast tray which is an absolute disgrace, Went down for the breakfast instead great layout thats about it!!! Very disappointed with the hot buffet breakfast. there are a lot of hidden costs so be careful what you order.

The stay has actually turned me off staying in hotels !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank 186609Sophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Had a great time at this hotel. Bedrooms were very clean, staff were very friendly, location was great - less than 10 minute drive to the city centre. we got a great deal on our stay and really enjoyed our time there...

The pool was very nice and the walks around the grounds were pleasant. The only problems I had were in the restaurant, there was a slight delay in being seated. For dinner it wasn't a busy time so there should have been no reason for this but breakfast was slightly busier. Food was to a great standard but food tasted too salty at times.

All staff were very pleasant however and had no problem helping with anything. There was a wedding on while we were there but unlike other hotels there was no disruption caused by noise levels.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScealtaSaoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

This is not a 5 star hotel or a 5 star experience. The hotel trades on its name and its reputation which is no longer deserved as the service was a major disappointment. The woman at reservatations was extremely rude. We ate in the restaurant and the service was poor. The rooms are very ordinary - not luxurious. Overall, I would say that the hotel was a big let-down. If you want to stay in Kilkenny, stay in Kilkenny city - there are lots of nice hotels and b&b's there. If you want a great spa, go to Monart.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BizTraveller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Was here for a conference, the hotel is very elegant and the staff are generally very helpful. I must say, however, the bar seems very under-staffed. There were often long waits. Rooms very spacious and the leisure facilities are also very good.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dubsthcentralboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,915 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,756 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,024 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#9 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa

Property: Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Address: Paulstown Road | Lyrath Estate, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 170 acres of parkland, Lyrath Estate Hotel is only 5 minutes from Kilkenny City. It offers luxurious air-conditioned rooms, an award winning spa, an outdoor infinity pool, and a selection of bars and restaurants. Guests can enjoy a peaceful night's sleep at Lyrath Estate Hotel as rooms are soundproofed with each having beautiful views overlooking the estate with not a car in sight. Each guest bedroom includes complimentary Wi-Fi and a 43 inch flat screen television. The Oasis Health Club boasts a gym, steam room, swimming pool and Jacuzzi. The Oasis Spa offers a thermal suite, sauna and steam room with a range of indulgent treatments, with advance booking recommended. Contemporary Irish cuisine is on the menu at La Perla restaurant using the finest local ingredients. Tupper's is a traditional Irish bar located at the heart of the hotel where you can enjoy a quiet drink & delicious bar food. Yindee's serves authentic oriental food whilst there is a range of beverages available at the sophisticated X Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa And Convention Centre
Lyrath Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel Convention Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing