We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK. Wouldn't rush back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Hotel was nice and clean, wouldn't rate it as a 5 star. Staff were nice, rooms fine...just a bog standard hotel room. Only stayed one night and unfortunately we decided to eat in the thai restaurant, yindees, although our waiter was efficient and friendly the food there is AWFUL, i had the chicken satay to start and beef schezwan for main, without a doubt it was definitely a frozen beef dinner from lidl re-heated. It was the worst meal ever and really over priced. I am easily pleased when it comes to dining out but this was appalling.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cotton29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,474)
There are newer reviews for Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,120 - 2,126 of 2,475 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2011

Stayed here over Easter weekend with my wife and was distinctly underwhelmed by the whole experience. There were a lot of families given that it was Easter weekend and the sheer volume of kids playing in lifts, in the lobby, in the breakfast area means that I definitely would not recommend for couples wanting a romantic getaway.
So, the best things about the hotel:
1. The rooms are large and well appointed with nice showers and baths.
2. The hotel lobby is nice and the staff are friendly and helpful.
3. The breakfast was superb with plenty of variety and among the best i've had anywhere.

The bad:
1. Couldn't get an appointment in the spa. Perhaps not unexpected given that it was Easter weekend, but other spa hotels we have stayed at rang to advise us if the slots were booking up.
2. In addition, it costs €30 to use the spa if not booking in for a treatment - bit pricey in these recessional times. Factor it into the price of your stay.
3. The pool which is free to use was full of children. This was fine but it's meant to be for adults only for 6pm. Needless to say this wasn't enforced which means the €30 a pop spa is the only place to escape being divebombed for an afternoon.
4. Dinner in the hotel was poor value for money. We had dinner included as part of our €190 package but it wasn't worth €50 pp for a three course meal. The food wasn't bad, just not very good.
5. We also ate in Tuppers bar. Again, overpriced and not particularly memorable.

In general, this hotel has pretensions to be a spa hotel but visit and you will see that this is illusory. There are better places around and we've decided that we won't be going back.

Room Tip: Suitable for families
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cacksio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Went here for Easter Sunday night with my wife and overall we were both very underwhelmed with the experience. The original house is not a functioning part of the hotel and the rest of the buildings are quite ugly. Our package was a lunch,dinner spa treatment, B&B package.The food at lunch was very bland fish and chips and a burger that could only be cooked well done due to health and safety. Mountains of pre-cut chips are not what you expect in a supposedly 5 star hotel. Dinner at €50 per head for 3 courses should really be a culinary experience, this was just ordinary.Wines are overpriced.I drink many of the same ones in Dublin at about 30% cheaper than the list prices here. The staff were generally very polite and efficient and service was good. This hotel is simply not 5 star, perhaps the recession has caused them to cut costs and therefore drop standards to widen the appeal but anyone looking for a proper 5 star experience should go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baileywick35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Stayed in hotel over Easter weekend, I have to say I was surprised with the volume of families but it was Easter weekend so my mistake.
Staff throughout were friendly and most helpful.
The hotel is a beauttiful modern hotel attached to the Old Estate House. We were in a Deluxe Room and it was a very spacious room with a beautiful double bathroom.
Breakfast was good, but not 5 star, catering more to the masses of children there for the Easter weekend,
La Pearla restraunt was lovely but I have to say the wine prices were a little expensive. Sancerre €50!!!
Tuppers had a lovely lunch menu . Service was slow and clearing of tables was slow but in fairness staff were under pressure with volume of people and have to say they were always courteous and friendly under pressure. There seemed to be nobody in charge or directing the staff.
Spa was wonderful.
Grounds are beautiful.
Will I be back...........................possibly at a quieter time.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gcsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

this is officially the best hotel in the world. it is so fantastically amazing that i cannot describe it. maybe if you have a really good sense of smell, the you would be able to sense the aura of amazingness from a mile away. the gardens, which seem to stretch for miles and miles, are absolutely breathtaking and you could spend a whole day simply walking around there. it's just so relaxing. the restaurant there is also very good, and the staff are so friendly! overall, this is a simply impeccable place!! 10 on 10 to these guys!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FormulaF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

The Lyrath Estate Hotel is located in picturesque Kilkenny. The hotel and ground are beautiful. I highly recommend anyone going to Ireland to stay there and to use Sceptre Tours as well. The staff was so nice and helpful and the Irish breakfast was fantastic.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heathermcilhenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

I spent 3 full days here and 2 nights with 5 friends. We arrived before 11am and fortunately for us we were allowed into our room. The rooms are gorgeous as is the spacious bathroom. The views are fab and the beds are extremely comforatble. I could not believe how quiet the hotel was too. The whole hotel echoes the peaceful feel of the Spa! Now, the Spa. I had an Indian Head Massage and a Deep Tissue Massage over the 3 days. They were amazing, especially the deep tissue massage which is a proper massage and not just a money wasting 'Body Rub' as so many spas lead us to believe is a massage. The Thermal suite is 2nd to none and the Hydro pool opens out into the grounds providing fresh air while in the heated pool and lovely views. The relaxation areas are also great. The staff at the hotel are better than any I have ever encountered here or anywhere in the world. They are friendly, efficient and cannot be more helpful. At the end of the 3 days, even though the hotel is vast, we felt like we knew the staff, especially the door man Ray Murphy who was great. We also played and walked with the resident golden retrievers Oscar and Ringoon the fabulous grounds, which was a nice and different touch. While at the hotel we also used their private cinema which was a fantastic end to one of the days and I would recommend it. The whole experience was absolutely fantastic and I am already looking to book again to return asap! Oh and dont forget to eat there. Their Thai restaurant 'Yindees' is amazing as is their bar food and a special mentions goes to the scones with clotted cream and jam!! This hotel and spa is a must for quality, luxury seekers who want the best for their money. Best spa I have ever been to. Book now! It's heaven on earth.

Room Tip: Book a package, its saves money!
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elleor126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,949 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,784 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,031 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa

Address: Paulstown Road | Lyrath Estate, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £113 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 170 acres of parkland, Lyrath Estate Hotel is only 5 minutes from Kilkenny City. It offers luxurious air-conditioned rooms, an award winning spa, an outdoor infinity pool, and a selection of bars and restaurants. Guests can enjoy a peaceful night's sleep at Lyrath Estate Hotel as rooms are soundproofed with each having beautiful views overlooking the estate with not a car in sight. Each guest bedroom includes complimentary Wi-Fi and a 43 inch flat screen television. The Oasis Health Club boasts a gym, steam room, swimming pool and Jacuzzi. The Oasis Spa offers a thermal suite, sauna and steam room with a range of indulgent treatments, with advance booking recommended. Contemporary Irish cuisine is on the menu at La Perla restaurant using the finest local ingredients. Tupper's is a traditional Irish bar located at the heart of the hotel where you can enjoy a quiet drink & delicious bar food. Yindee's serves authentic oriental food whilst there is a range of beverages available at the sophisticated X Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa And Convention Centre
Lyrath Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel Convention Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing