We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Stayed in Lyrath at the week-end (15th to 17thJuly). What a fabulous place - from the moment we arrived the staff were incredibly friendly. Beautiful surroundings. Rooms really top quality with plenty of space. As it was a special anniversary, I had ordered flowers to be left in the room - and when we arrived, the hotel had left a complimentary bottle of champagne! - excellent touch. Speaking of friendliness, Paul in La Perla restaurant is a gem - very welcoming, informative and charming - take a bow Paul! Hotel facilities were excellent - spa, swimming pool etc - top quality. Food excellent - two restaurants - oriental & Italian - the nasi goreng was superb! Two nights B&B and one dinner cost €215 - fantastic value for the quality of the hotel. Will definitely be back. Only one complaint - a glass of Pino Grigio was €8.20 in the bar - a little expensive - however, will not stop us returning. Take a bow Mr Joyce (General Manager) and your team

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony - worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YoungAckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,103 - 2,109 of 2,488 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2011

Just spent the weekend in Lyrath with my wife for our wedding anniversary and we couldn't have asked for a better place to spend the weekend. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful, no false smiles here ! Food was very good, especially in the Thai restaurant. Even though there were weddings on in the hotel on 2 of the 3 days, they did not in any way overpower the normal guests like ourselves and the wedding receptions were away from the main hotel so no late-night party noise either. We also went on the 2 suggested walks on the grounds - very peaceful and full of nature !

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarMax101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Just back from a 1 night stay at the Lyrath Estate where we were attending a family wedding , I have to say from the check in at the reception to the conceriege who took our bags to our rooms service was fantastic and was always with a smile , The food at the wedding was fantasic as was the service and attention to detail ,would have no problem in recommending this hotel to anyone for business or pleasure , and I honestly cant wait to return for a weekend ,

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaretcowexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Really lovely hotel. Beautiful grounds and fantastic foyer. Bedrooms were really comfortable. The suites are gorgeous. Food fab. It is a quieter place, away from the road. Nice if you want a romantic break.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cormacuaghwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

In short, this hotel can have a few problems like all others. Check in can be too slow to get your room, well after 3 pm in my case, food can be average in Thai restaurant, but the quality of service that this lady brings to the hotel is unmatched. She makes these small problems so small with her professionalism. I would strongly advise anybody to experience the top hotel in the country. If you ever have the pleasure to deal with Elaine Scott , your stay will be the best you ever experienced. Great hotel with a great asset

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheQuietMan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stayed here for two nights on a midweek package i booked for my girlfriend birthday on arrival we were upgraded to a suite with a box of chocolates and a birthday card there for her very personal touch which went down very well the room was beautiful the staff were very helpful and friendly the food in yindees is amazing also the food in the bar is really nice too. We do not have one fault about this hotel we were blown away will definatley be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonzy681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

It was lovely and hot last Sunday and we decided to treat ourselves to something nice to eat in the Lyrath. We live close by and had visitors over. What a great choice. The restraunt menu is quite expensive. They also have a chineese restraunt, which we have eaten in and is o.k.
It's the bar food menu to go for. It is served up to 9.00p.m. There is somethink to suit all.
The fish and chips came sizzling in there own little neat fryers. I've never seen fish and chips, so well presented. From the light crispy batter to the meaty pieces of cod and thick cut home made chips. This dish was served with little pots, one with mayonaise and the other with tasty minted mushy peas. It came huge homemade onion rings. Yum !
The mushroom tagatellie arrived in a large white dish and came with pots as well. Pesto in one and freshly grated parmasen in the other.
The green thia curry came with plenty of chicken, fresh vegtables and rice. This was served with prawn crackers.
We sat outside on the terrace and looked at the wonderful garden below us and with the sun beating on our backs and spent a wonderful couple of hours here. The staff are wonderful. We couldn't manage desert as we were so full. But saw some wonderful tasty looking concoctions going past us on trays, also frothy hot chocolates.
On a warm evening there is no better place to eat in Kikenny.
My only small negative would be, It is pricey for bar food. But then i suppose your paying for the location. All I can say is well done chefs and staff, you deserve 100 out of 100.
Must mention, you can go for a walk on the grounds after your meal. That's if you can move !

Room Tip: Get a table on the terrace. The afternoon tea is a memorable experience. Bar food excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kilkenny1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,960 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,803 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,045 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa

Address: Paulstown Road | Lyrath Estate, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £111 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 170 acres of parkland, Lyrath Estate Hotel is only 5 minutes from Kilkenny City. It offers luxurious air-conditioned rooms, an award winning spa, an outdoor infinity pool, and a selection of bars and restaurants. Guests can enjoy a peaceful night’s sleep at Lyrath Estate Hotel as rooms are soundproofed with each having beautiful views overlooking the estate with not a car in sight. Each guest bedroom includes complimentary Wi-Fi and a 43 inch flat screen television. The Oasis Health Club boasts a gym, steam room, swimming pool and Jacuzzi. The Oasis Spa offers a thermal suite, sauna and steam room with a range of indulgent treatments, with advance booking recommended. Contemporary Irish cuisine is on the menu at La Perla restaurant using the finest local ingredients. Tupper’s is a traditional Irish bar located at the heart of the hotel where you can enjoy a quiet drink & delicious bar food. Yindee’s serves authentic oriental food whilst there is a range of beverages available at the sophisticated X Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa And Convention Centre
Lyrath Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel Convention Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing