We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gentle Giant at the Entrance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The Gentle Giant at the Entrance”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed here on a short family visit in early August 2011. Had a really relaxing time and enjoyed the down time. Staff were very friendly and the atmosphere is relaxed. Kids loved the hot chocolate and cookies on offer every evening. The paddle boats and free cycling was a big hit too. Food was very good. The most memorable aspect of our visit was the kindness and courtsey shown to us by the hotels porter (Ray). He is a big gentle Irish giant and always had a kind word for us and the kids and always had plenty of sound advice about where to go, what to see and what to try out. He is a credit to the hotel and the one who gets a stay off to the right start as he entertains while unloading the car. Well done Ray

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teanalach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,410
    509
    293
    111
    45
See reviews for
574
1,053
18
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bossier City, Louisiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Staying at the Lyrath is a treat to the senses -- you can imagine yourself as royalty and stroll the grounds in the evenings. The foyer is a beautiful, modern addition which is somewhat at odds with the original house. Don't be put off by the fuschia colored wall because what lies beyond is a grand estate home with fabulous freize work and a magnificent staircase. The original house is not to be missed! When you return from your tour of the original home, you are immediately transported to the modern creature comforts we've come to expect.

My daughter forgot her stuffed dog (who was also touring Ireland making regular photo stops). We returned and her beloved dog was delivered to her on a silver platter. All was right with the world thereafter! What service!
t

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Sent my mum and granny to the Lyrath for a break and they looked after them like no end. Very friendly staff, especially Terry who made sure they had everything they needed. As usual, food was fantastic, and they enjoyed the lovely walks etc. They had meals in both restaurants and also lunch in the Conservatory, which again is so worth it. Will continue to recommend this to all my friends and keep it as a great treat venue for that special occasion.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff12324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clonmel
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Myself & my other half had a wonderful weekend at the Lyrath. I loved every second there from the arrival up the avenue to checkout. The grounds are amazing and the dogs running about make it have the extra special touch.
I could sit here all day writing about how much I love this place so Ill try keep it simple. I love everything, the rooms, the thai restaurant, the staff etc etc etc but best of all was the spa. Ive been to a few spas but this one was my favourite over all. It is well laid out, relaxing and best of all at the girls working there. If considering a romantic weekend away this is the location. It is pricey but at the end of the day you get what you pay for and its well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyCoyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Kilkenny Ireland is an amazing little town and this estate makes it even better. From the moment we arrived to the minute we left we had the best experience ever. The concierge was fantastic and helped guide us to all the great spots in town. The walking trails and scenic views are breathtaking. The golden retrievers on site were one of my favorite parts of the stay. They would follow you everywhere and it made me not miss my own pets as much. The accommodations are great and the full Irish breakfast is great too! My husband and I can wait to go back to Ireland and we will definitely return here. A small gem waiting to be found:)

Room Tip: Use Kevin at Dancing Moon Travel he is the best travel agent ever!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkpredator26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmacanogue
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed here 3 nights my sister in law got married on 19th march.Could not have faulted any of the staff for their friendliness & capibility to lend a helping hand.Paul in the restauarant was especially kind & generous.He organised for a takeout from your sister hotel on the sunday evening as the resident restaurant was closed.The ballroom was stunning & would highly recommend this venue to any of my friends or family.

All the best for the future in business especially in these hard time.

Kind Regards
Emma Dixon

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaKilmacanogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

If you don't want a hotel with children don't go during the summer holidays. It is a very child friendly hotel. The food is excellent (possibly a little expensive if your child doesn't eat) Breakfast buffet is excellent. Pancackes were a big hit. The children did everything from cycling, swimming (daily), face painting, pottery painting and paddle boats. The room was huge and the milk and cookies for the kids at night were great. All in all a great holiday break for 3 nights, and only a stones throw from the city.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IRLWX1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,864 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.9 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,897 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,003 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa

Property: Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Address: Paulstown Road | Lyrath Estate, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 170 acres of parkland, Lyrath Estate Hotel is only 5 minutes from Kilkenny City. It offers luxurious air-conditioned rooms, an award winning spa, an outdoor infinity pool, and a selection of bars and restaurants. Guests can enjoy a peaceful night's sleep at Lyrath Estate Hotel as rooms are soundproofed with each having beautiful views overlooking the estate with not a car in sight. Each guest bedroom includes complimentary Wi-Fi and a 43 inch flat screen television. The Oasis Health Club boasts a gym, steam room, swimming pool and Jacuzzi. The Oasis Spa offers a thermal suite, sauna and steam room with a range of indulgent treatments, with advance booking recommended. Contemporary Irish cuisine is on the menu at La Perla restaurant using the finest local ingredients. Tupper's is a traditional Irish bar located at the heart of the hotel where you can enjoy a quiet drink & delicious bar food. Yindee's serves authentic oriental food whilst there is a range of beverages available at the sophisticated X Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa And Convention Centre
Lyrath Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel Convention Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing