We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lyrath does it again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lyrath does it again!”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

My wife and I got engaged in the Lyrath Estate Hotel in Oct 2008 and have been going back every year since then. Every time we go back they make us feel very welcome with the little touches you appreciate like comp upgrade, bottle of wine in the room etc. The Spa in the Hotel is one of the best I've ever used with an amazing Hydro-Therapy Pool overlooking the country side. Both restaurants are excellent, we particularly like the food is La Perla - it's always top quality food and service. Yindees is also very good if you prefer Thai food. One negative I could mention about the Hotel is the Lobby area - it's a bit cold and very open, not very comfortable to sit there and relax. It doesn't have a very cosy feel. We will definitely be going back again next year :)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,460
    526
    294
    113
    46
See reviews for
594
1,084
19
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Autriche
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Agree with "Siamsa" review. The estate is indeed beautiful, the park a real treat and the modern hotel hidden behind the old mansion so as not to obstruct the view, but it is not entirely what one can expect from a five star place. The rooms are ok but nothing special. The presence of two irons and an ironing board is a nice touch, less so the lack of space to hang clothes and a frig with nothing in it. Impossible to use a computer with Internet in the rooms. Difficult in other places. We had to wait a good half an hour for a hamburger in an empty bar. The swimmingpool is not open all day in a hotel that pretends to be a spa. Staff is nice but not too helpful. May be a good hotel for tourists who are not used to luxury spas, but I have seen far better elsewhere for the same price. For business it leaves to be desired despite the presence of a convention center.

Room Tip: A car is a must, as the hotel is far away from the village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viennoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We went for a weekend and had a fantastic time. The hotel grounds are beautiful. They even had 3 very friendly Labradors outside that you could bring for a walk down by the lakes.
The spa is amazing so relaxing loved the infinity pool.
This hotel is definitely one i'll be returning to.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co.Louth, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Lovely relaxing hotel, a visit to the spa is a must for the Jacuzzi alone, which is technically inside apart from one side of the room which is a an open window which looks out over the Lyratt Estate.
Staff are genuinely friendly & it is a great hotel

Room Tip: If you stay on the ground floor it is very close to the restaurant & spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouthLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

My fiance and i recently got engaged in the lyrath estate in the of August, i cannot recommend this hotel enough, every area of this hotel was perfect from the staff to the room. we ate in yindees restaurant, service was great and food was lovely. It was a total surprise to me getting engaged, the staff went above the call of duty to help my fiance organise everything and the shock on my face showed how well they did it. A special mention the the receptionist Debbie she is a credit to the hotel, this is why we will be back again and again. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanora79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Lyrath house is a beautiful old building. The hotel looks like a shopping centre tacked onto the side of it. The rooms are fine but nothing special. The breakfast was very good the food in the bar nit so good. There is no wireless broadband except for a slow connection near reception. I was there for a conference and when I went to move my bags from my room at 12.02 i was locked out. Happens automatically and the staff seemed to thing that was ok for a 5 star. I don't. I think that's a very shoddy way to treat guests. Ill find somewhere else to stay next time.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Siamsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Great hotel checked in this weekend, loved the amazing room, highly recommend a stay here. Great value for money! The standard is high with everything you need, staff friendly and helpful overall an amazing experience!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdnf11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,914 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,754 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,021 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#9 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa

Property: Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Address: Paulstown Road | Lyrath Estate, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 170 acres of parkland, Lyrath Estate Hotel is only 5 minutes from Kilkenny City. It offers luxurious air-conditioned rooms, an award winning spa, an outdoor infinity pool, and a selection of bars and restaurants. Guests can enjoy a peaceful night's sleep at Lyrath Estate Hotel as rooms are soundproofed with each having beautiful views overlooking the estate with not a car in sight. Each guest bedroom includes complimentary Wi-Fi and a 43 inch flat screen television. The Oasis Health Club boasts a gym, steam room, swimming pool and Jacuzzi. The Oasis Spa offers a thermal suite, sauna and steam room with a range of indulgent treatments, with advance booking recommended. Contemporary Irish cuisine is on the menu at La Perla restaurant using the finest local ingredients. Tupper's is a traditional Irish bar located at the heart of the hotel where you can enjoy a quiet drink & delicious bar food. Yindee's serves authentic oriental food whilst there is a range of beverages available at the sophisticated X Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa And Convention Centre
Lyrath Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel Convention Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing