We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few negatives”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2011

The Lyrath is a pretty good hotel but I don't know about the five start rating it ascertains to.

The staff are excellent and attentive. The accommodation is good in this hotel with well proportioned rooms as well as spacious ensuites.

The hotel would have a few negatives and maybe there should be a little more attention to detail. When we stayed there the digital clock on the old fashioned tube tv was not adjusted to winter time and we were unable to correct this ourselves. The handle on the curtain rail in our room was broken, different size lightbulbs were used in the vanity lights in the bathroom, fridge was not working properly but rectified when we asked to have it replaced. Small things like this suggest that hotels these days are cutting back on inhouse maintenance given the current economic climate.

In the bar area there were battery operated nightlights used at the tables, this seems to be a bit tacky for an Estate House Hotel and given it was November it would be a nice touch to have open lit fires.

Breakfast was good but I would prefer fresh tea/coffee was served fresh rather than tea/coffee stored in insulated pots.

Prices in the bar were very pricey and given that the hotel is a taxi ride from Kilkenny City centre there is no alternative close by.

The spa and pool facilities/ changing rooms are very small and this is disappointing for what is a large hotel.

This hotel would appear to be primarily a conference/ wedding facility but there are certainly good offers if you want a break away from the cities.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,475)
There are newer reviews for Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,984 - 1,990 of 2,475 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

I have stayed twice at the Lyrath Estate Hotel in recent months. There were many positive points that have been highlighted in other reviews (nice setting, good rooms, attentive staff, etc) but I would like to concentrate on a serious weakness: the indifferent quality of the food in the main La Perla restaurant. Between my visits in July and November, the range of starters and main courses hardly changed with the same tedious vegetable selection served with every main course (boiled “new” potatoes, pureed carrots & green beans or a variation on same). Also, there is a definite feeling of corners being cut. The so-called tiger prawns were definitely tiger cubs judging by the four tiny specimens served as my starter on our first evening, while the vegetable soup on the second evening tasted like it came from a (commercial size) tin. Also, it is pot luck with the sirloin steak whether or not you get a decent piece of meat. Finally, the orange squash offered with the children’s menu must cost the hotel no more than a couple of cent per serving. Sorry to sound so harsh but, for a so-called five star hotel, it was just not up to standard.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciaran D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

stayed a few weeks ago had a very nice stay. inital welcome was friendly and we were offered all the services expected of a five star, even though we only paid four star prices!
the room was very comfortable and was spotlessly clean. did not eat dinner at the hotel but the breakfast was fantastic. the hot buffet was not the usual half cold offering left sitting there for 2 hours, it was hot, fresh and presented well. i would highly recommend this hotel. i have stayed in kilkenny many times and even though this one is outside the town (only 5 mins in a taxi) i would definately make this my number one choice for any return visit.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen.db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We had a great few days here and felt very comfortable, depsite having small children with us. We did not feel as though the children were disruptive to other guests and found the staff to be extremely tolerant and helpful.
The were polite in the extreme and ensured we had a great stay. The kid's cineam was a great touch for mid-term week!
The leisure centre was great fun (although I would have preferred a bigger changing area) and the food was fantastic in both restaurants and in the bar.
In in ideal world there would be a clothes line in the bathroom to hang wet clothes but if that's the most nagetive comment I have they're alright by me! We will definitley be back. The rate was very reasonable too!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I stayed at Lyrath last month with my daughter whilst visiting family. What an amazing hotel. When you drive in you go up a beautiful drive, the grounds are fantastic. Although the weather wasn't great we were able to take a few walks in the grounds with the three lovely golden retrievers that sit outside hoping you will walk with them. My daughter fell in love with them. The inside of the hotel is fantstic. Its a mixture of old and new. Our room was lovely, we had a double and single bed and plenty of room. Breakfast was lovely but you have to be down on time. We also ate in the bar, the scones are fab but expensive. Its about a five minute drive into Kilkenny from the hotel, so you need a car. Overall we had a wonderful stay. A little expensive, but worth it for the setting.

Room Tip: Ask for a nice view. Also ask to be in a room far away from people at weddings or conferences as it...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Geraldine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Will stay there again , staff brill and fast when helping guests. Kilkenny town was great fun

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainydaysinireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed here for two nights for a wedding. I was best man, so I got a good insight into the running of the day and I have to say it was top class. The food was top class and the banquetting staff were superb.

The morning after the wedding, a few of us were late to arise so we missed the allotted time for breakfast. We went to one of the restaurant/bar areas and asked for some tea/coffee and toast. They asked had we missed breakfast and when we told them we had, they would not let us pay. That was a nice touch.

I saw another instance of this when a guest was a while waiting on their meal due to a malfunction with a machine in the kitchen. When their meal arrived, they got a complimentary round of drinks.

I felt the rooms were a good size and bathroom facilities were top notch. The cleaning staff were very friendly.

To balance the review out fairly, I did find some of the bar staff in the function room on the night of the wedding to be very slow and again in the Xbar on the second night.

The spa and pool facilities are a little on the small side, but overall the hotel is excellent quality and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.

Room Tip: The lower down the number the closer you are to the elevator. Eg, 401 is right beside the lift, some...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hally1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,949 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,784 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,031 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa

Address: Paulstown Road | Lyrath Estate, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £113 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 170 acres of parkland, Lyrath Estate Hotel is only 5 minutes from Kilkenny City. It offers luxurious air-conditioned rooms, an award winning spa, an outdoor infinity pool, and a selection of bars and restaurants. Guests can enjoy a peaceful night's sleep at Lyrath Estate Hotel as rooms are soundproofed with each having beautiful views overlooking the estate with not a car in sight. Each guest bedroom includes complimentary Wi-Fi and a 43 inch flat screen television. The Oasis Health Club boasts a gym, steam room, swimming pool and Jacuzzi. The Oasis Spa offers a thermal suite, sauna and steam room with a range of indulgent treatments, with advance booking recommended. Contemporary Irish cuisine is on the menu at La Perla restaurant using the finest local ingredients. Tupper's is a traditional Irish bar located at the heart of the hotel where you can enjoy a quiet drink & delicious bar food. Yindee's serves authentic oriental food whilst there is a range of beverages available at the sophisticated X Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa And Convention Centre
Lyrath Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel Convention Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing