We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FANTASTIC HOTEL AND SPA” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
northern ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC HOTEL AND SPA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

really loved this hotel the staff the rooms the whole atmosphere was just so peaceful and quite.
I got a few treatments at the spa and it was so relaxing.
The evening meal was just perfect.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,355
    498
    284
    110
    42
See reviews for
558
1,011
18
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

As a treat I booked my husband and I in for a two night midweek break. We arrived on a sunny Sunday afternoon and were checked in by extremely efficient and friendly staff. We were in a fabulous room which had doors to the garden, with a table for two outside the door, perfect for sitting outside with a glass of wine. First night we had bar food on the Terrace, delicious! On the second evening we had Dinner in the restaurant which was lovely, please ensure you reserve your table though! The pool area is quite small but it is clean, the sauna and steam room were fine, not overly impressive but do the job. We loved the comfy bathrobes in the room, turndown service, the Snooker Room and staff that are eager to ensure you enjoy your stay! We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: We were in room 212 which had lovely access to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank belle2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kildare
Level Contributor
112 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Just back from a 2 night stay at Lyrath.Very impressed and so much better than our stay a few years back. They have really upped the ante!!!!.
Check in was very busy, as we arrived the same time as a wedding party, however it was very efficient, if a little impersonal, but I suppose that depends on who checks you in.
Our room was in the old house, and was lovely with an amazing bathroom we were delighted with it, and felt we were in the hotel by ourselves as there are only 3 rooms in the old house.
Unfortunatly this impression changed when we were woken up at 4am to really really loud music coming from the room next door.
We called reception and they apologised and said they would sort it out, however half an hour later the disco was still in full swing, so we had to call reception again, eventually the music stopped, however our nights sleep was ruined.
Next day we got a lovely note from the Manager apologising to us for the incident and he called to our room in person. I felt this was a really nice touch, and showed that guest relations is a priority here, he also adjusted our room rate so many thanks for that.
Food is good and service excellent, you get all you would expect from a 5 star hotel, and we have been to many.
Would really recommend and we will return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KildareCian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Myself and my husband went to the Lyrath for 1 night 2 weeks ago and it was fantastic. Our meal was all inclusive, which normally means a limited menu. Not here, we got a large menu with lots of choices. The food was definitely 5* as was the breakfast. The swimming area was a bit disappointing and very small but the rest of the hotel definitely made up for it. The staff couldnt do enough for you and lots of after care.The athmosphere was fantastic too. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Lyrath to anyone.

Room Tip: We were in room 244 that didnt have a great view but it was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aishling G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

I spent 2 nights in Lyrath with my husband and 9 month old baby. Staff were very helpful and accomodating throughout the stay especially with the baby. They don't have a dedicated baby room but are in the process of opening one up. There is an un-supervised play area which could do with some tidying up and it would be great if a member of staff could be allocated to work there,
Room was able to accomodate the 3 of us without any problems and fresh water was dropped in every evening. We used a baby-sitter for an additional charge every night and she was great.
Only quibble would be the food in the hotel. We ate in Tuppers bar - menu was not extensive and the quality of the food was poor for the prices being charged and I could not recommend it.
Yindees the other restaurant was better but this was not open every night.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMDublinIrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

Stayed here with my husband for wknd away from the children. Ate dinner in both restaurants on our 2 night stay.Food was great, especially in Yindees-WOW! Spa is very nice too and the bar has a lovely conservatory which overlooks the gardens-so relaxing. Will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireGalway30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

I had booked this hotel as a treat for me and three of my friends, unfortunately, however, the service was poor and the luxurious experience was lacking! I complained and the hotel offered me a free night's accommodation and meal which was most generous. They also ensured that I would have a much better time and that we would be greeted on arrival and would experience no shortcomings this time around. We were not met on arrival, only one of the rooms had a complimentary bottle of wine, there was a problem with the television, we had to wait 35 minutes for glasses to be delivered to the room which meant we were late for dinner and the spa failed to refil the water and to replace refreshments. Having been promised such great things, it was extremely disappointing to be let down a second time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridmc56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
1.9 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa

Property: Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Address: Paulstown Road | Lyrath Estate, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 170 acres of parkland, Lyrath Estate Hotel is only 5 minutes from Kilkenny City. It offers luxurious air-conditioned rooms, an award winning spa, an outdoor infinity pool, and a selection of bars and restaurants. Guests can enjoy a peaceful night's sleep at Lyrath Estate Hotel as rooms are soundproofed with each having beautiful views overlooking the estate with not a car in sight. Each guest bedroom includes complimentary Wi-Fi and a 43 inch flat screen television. The Oasis Health Club boasts a gym, steam room, swimming pool and Jacuzzi. The Oasis Spa offers a thermal suite, sauna and steam room with a range of indulgent treatments, with advance booking recommended. Contemporary Irish cuisine is on the menu at La Perla restaurant using the finest local ingredients. Tupper's is a traditional Irish bar located at the heart of the hotel where you can enjoy a quiet drink & delicious bar food. Yindee's serves authentic oriental food whilst there is a range of beverages available at the sophisticated X Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa And Convention Centre
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel Convention Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing