We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything for a restful break.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Everything for a restful break.”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The drive up to the hotel showed the amazing old manor house with it's manicured gardens.
Everyone here did everything to assist and help us with directions for local sightseeing in Killkenny. A couple of very nights with weddings but our room was very quiet and the restaurants were not crowded.
The buffet breakfast was very good with a very good selection.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icehouse45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,441
    519
    293
    112
    46
See reviews for
586
1,075
19
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

we have stayed in the Lyrath several times..we just keep going back!! the hotel itself is beautiful, the staff are very friendly and efficient. what we really like about the Lyrath is the fact that you can stay there for a weekend and not have to leave the hotel . there are two bars and two restaurants. each offering quite a different experience. the bar and reataurant downstairs offer a more traditional ambiance (the steak is excellent) while those upstairs are more modern (cocktail bar and asian restaurant). would definately recommend.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank g p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed twice at Lyrath Estate for girlie weekends, on both occasions we received excellent attention. The rooms are beautiful, great that in the bathrooms there is a separate "toilet". The breakfast was amazing.....great scones! We had the packages with the champagne & movie, afternoon tea and dinner in Yindees...the food in Lyrath is very good. We will return again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainbowtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

My daughter's wedding reception was recently held at the Lyrath. It was superb. It is a beautiful setting for a wedding and the combination of the lovely period rooms (plus garden if the wedding is favourable) for the reception and the purpose built conference section for the dinner and dancing afterwards works really well. All the staff were excellent - so helpful and so professional in making everything run really smoothly. Dinner and canapes were delicious. Everyone seemed to enjoy themselves and lots of the guests commented to us on how lovely the hotel was, what a great meal it was and so on. Altogether the sort of wedding one dreams of.

Those staying in the hotel thoroughly enjoyed that too. It really is a beautiful hotel (we stayed there once before as well as for the wedding) with very comfortable rooms and great service. Both restaurants are very good and breakfast has a wonderful choice of food.

I should also mention that the hotel arranged two excellent babysitters for our grandchildren during the wedding.

Definitely value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowan60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This is an absolutely fantastic hotel, located a few miles outside Kilkenny. Beautiful Tree lined drive (with horses and a donkey in the fields) up to the house/hotel. This is a hotel that really understands 5* Star service but is not intrusive or overbearing. Our experience (2 couples) from start to finish was superb. Vallet parking if required, help with our luggage, very pleasant reception staff. Our room was tastefully decorated in creams and browns - bathroom is fab, with bath, separate "wet" shower, loo in its own little space- mini bar (which is stocked on request) tea and coffee facilities. When staff called to do turn down service we requested our pillows to be changed from feather to foam, which was promptly dealt with. There are a couple of different restaurants and 2 bars, all of which are lovely. Nice walks around the grounds, which also containts a walled garden, which is great for kids, as its has swings, goalposts etc and somewhere for the parents to sit and watch. Didnt get to use all the amenities, but will definitely be heading back with the girls for a pampering weekend. Fantastic hotel for couples, familiy, business.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloud090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, PA
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Stayed here only 1 night due to our whirlwind tour of Ireland. We arrived at Lyrath in late afternoon after calling hotel to get directions. (AVIS GPS's...are not reliable/updated with current road changes.) Hotel and staff couldn't have been better...front desk even gave me an ipod clock so I could charge my ipod/listen to music. We had a wonderful dinner in the bar - in the 'sunroom' - included in our room price. The kids had cookies brought to them in the evening...for free. Breakfast was also included and was yummy...again, the staff went out of there way to be helpful. If I could have - I would have stayed there longer! Just beautiful furnishings/decor - grounds were lovely for picture taking!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kendrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We held our wedding reception in June 2012 in the Lyrath Estate Hotel. This is a fantastic venue and has the benefit of being an old house for a drinks reception and more modern conference centre for the main reception. The old house has been beautifully restored. The main reception room was built as a conference centre - so with some touches in terms of draping the room and bringing the mobile bar into the main reception room, we were really delighted with it.

The drinks and canapes reception in the old house was really class. In terms of the canapes that we had upon arrival, these were delicious - the mini burgers went down a treat with my friends. Also, we bought in our own champagne (of which the corkage was steep) and was a really wonderful reception for our guests. The service staff were magnificent and indeed all our guests commented that the drinks were regularly topped up.

Our wedding reception meal was absolutely fantastic. We did a starter choice of which one was scallops and it was truly impressive that the hotel could provide such top class cooking to such a large number of people. The quality of the ingredients used is excellent and the fillet steak was so tender. Also portion size is excellent - this is not food decorating a plate but good sized portions. What was truly impressive re dinner is the service - it was also so quickly turned around course after course!

For the night time we did the thai buffet which is prepared by the chefs from the Thai restaurant, Yindees in the hotel. This food was amazing and freshly cooked at the reception based on each individual guest request with guests receiving their own thai freshly cooked food.

You get the jist.......the food here is absolutely excellent and worth every penny. As I said before corkage is expensive for the wine and champagne that we bought in.

In terms of service, all the staff that we met and engaged with through the whole planning of the wedding were fantastic, really helpful and professional and at all times we were confident in their ability to deliver. The events team (Dervla & Gillian) work with you and document everything right up to the big day and are so responsive in terms of reverting on questions/queries/changes etc and really organised. The banqueting managers and staff including Ian and Devon who looked after us so well on the day are brilliant. There is no skimping on staff here and lots of waiting staff for drinks and food.

Overall we had a fantastic day..............the venue, staff, food was truly wonderful. Our guests really enjoyed the wedding and were so impressed with the hotel itself, the food and the service. One minor point - it would have been nice if the lawn just outside the conservatory had been mowed as it was a little long after all the rain earlier in the week.

Well done to all the team in the Lyrath!! Thank you for making our wedding day so special - fond memories for a lifetime.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuzC76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,888 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,740 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,017 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa

Property: Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Address: Paulstown Road | Lyrath Estate, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 170 acres of parkland, Lyrath Estate Hotel is only 5 minutes from Kilkenny City. It offers luxurious air-conditioned rooms, an award winning spa, an outdoor infinity pool, and a selection of bars and restaurants. Guests can enjoy a peaceful night's sleep at Lyrath Estate Hotel as rooms are soundproofed with each having beautiful views overlooking the estate with not a car in sight. Each guest bedroom includes complimentary Wi-Fi and a 43 inch flat screen television. The Oasis Health Club boasts a gym, steam room, swimming pool and Jacuzzi. The Oasis Spa offers a thermal suite, sauna and steam room with a range of indulgent treatments, with advance booking recommended. Contemporary Irish cuisine is on the menu at La Perla restaurant using the finest local ingredients. Tupper's is a traditional Irish bar located at the heart of the hotel where you can enjoy a quiet drink & delicious bar food. Yindee's serves authentic oriental food whilst there is a range of beverages available at the sophisticated X Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa And Convention Centre
Lyrath Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel Convention Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing