We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should not have 5 star rating”
Review of Lyrath Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lyrath Estate
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2008

Stayed in this hotel for one night to attend a function. Service from reception onwards was shoddy and certainly not befitting a supposed 5 star hotel. Unable to understand many of the staff as they were from Eastern Europe with very limited english, reception staff couldn't understand me and I could not understand them. Spa grossly over priced. Bar prices very high. Returned to room at one stage during the evening the find that towels had been removed and not replaced, no idea why, they had not been used. Bring your own shower gel, shampoo and soap as these are in very very short supply.

Overall would not recommend this hotel at the price or level of service.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fossy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,418 - 2,424 of 2,552 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2008

I stayed with my girlfriend at the Lyrath Estate for a one night midweek break in April 07. The hotel may be many things but it certainly is not 5 star.

We found the staff to be disinterested to the point of being surly. We had been looking forward to enjoying the spa failities but were disappointed to find ourselves sitting in the hot tub looking out on the conference centre where there were a bunch of Diageo sales people smoking and talking on their mobile phones...we felt like we were in a business park...which is exactly what we were trying to take a break from.

The problem with this place is that it sets unrealistic expectations and charges accordingly. I do not know who awards 5 stars to hotels like this, but whoever is responsible sets the bar very low indeed. If the hotel had been sold to us as a 3 star conference center hotel on a roundabout beyond walking distance from the city we would not have been disappointed because we would have known what to expect.

Overall very disappointing and not to be recommended. Maybe they have sharpened up since we stayed and if so good luck to them. This does not change the fact that the place is primarily a conference centre.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank IgnacioMontoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2008

Just returned from a fabulous stay in Lyrath Hotel. I cannot emphasise enough how great this hotel is. From the moment we arrived until our checkout 2 days later, we were made to feel like we were the most important guests staying in the hotel.

The staff could not have been more helpful, in particular, Emma Jayne and Ben both went above and beyond anything that was expected from them to make our stay special.

My wife and I were celebrating our first wedding anniversary and decided to book Lyrath having heard good reviews from family that had previously stayed there. Having stayed in many 5* hotels around the country, we were expecting to be treated well but were not expecting the excellent level of care and attention we received.

I could not find any item to knock the hotel points for. The staff were friendly, helpful and offered excellent advice on things to do. The food was fantastic, a large choice for breakfast, nice lunch menu and Yindees Thai resteraunt was delicious (I recommend the Pork). The spa was extremely relaxing and the treatments very professional. The grounds were perfectly maintained and the lovely walks helped with the burning off of Yindees Pork.

Overall, a real 5* experience and would strongly recommend Lyrath to anyone looking for that special break.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Munsterboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2008

No matter what it says this is definitely not a five star hotel. It's a clean, comfortable hotel but it falls down on the extras that you come to expect from a five star hotel. Staff are very pleasant and helpful but could do with more traning. This was apparent everywhere, the bars, the reception and the SPA. Even though we had got a good deal with the package we were on there were too many shortfalls with our stay and these took the edge of our enjoyment. If it's the full five-star treatment you're after this is not the hotel to choose.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank relaxoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2008

My wife and I stayed in Lyrath on June 5, 2008, with mixed results, see previous review from Snoodles. The management did finally contact and agreed that on our experience they were not up to standard.

My wife and her friend took Lyrath up on an advertised special offer, mid-week €165 pps for 2 BB and 1 D. They found it excellent value. The service in the dining room was far improved from the previous visit. It was attentive and organised and my wife felt the previous visit may have been one of their off days which should not happen in a hotel of this standard. She doesn't think it quite merits five stars, four is more applicable. For some dishes in the restaurant the pricing is five star but what you get is four star.

Without a special offer she feels their price structure is very expensive particularly for these times. Judging b y the number of people there she was no way alone in taking up the offer.

Lyrath has a lovely ambience of relaxation and restfulness which is hard to beat.

Snoodles

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2008

Look, I'm not saying that this is a bad hotel. The staff are friendly. The rooms are excellent. The food is fine.........just fine (not 5 star dining though). I just can't knock this feeling that it should only have a 4 Star rating. It no doubt ticks all the technical boxes to gain the 5 stars but they will have to up their game on etiquette. In a 5 star you should wear a jacket to dinner. No short skirts, low tops, etc. No runners. If you want to splash around the new money, that's fine but guests need to buy into the etiquette that should come with staying in a 5 star.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Westerntraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2008

Staying two nights, this was a girlie break for some golf and spa use. The new buildings blend in very well with the old house and the staff were extremely helpful and everywhere so you did not have to wait to catch someone's attention.
The pool is slightly on the small side but that was OK because it was no busy.
Food in the Thai restaurant was excellent and all in all the price for our stay was very good value for money.
Very good breakfast though it has to be said that at it's peak it was very busy and they stuggle to cope with all the guests.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheilaontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
8.1 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,065 reviews
2.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,044 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,844 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,058 reviews
2.1 mi away
Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyrath Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrath Estate

Address: Paulstown Road | Lyrath Estate, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £103 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyrath Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 170 acres of parkland, Lyrath Estate Hotel is only 5 minutes from Kilkenny City. It offers luxurious air-conditioned rooms, an award winning spa, an outdoor infinity pool, and a selection of bars and restaurants. Guests can enjoy a peaceful night’s sleep at Lyrath Estate Hotel as rooms are soundproofed with each having beautiful views overlooking the estate with not a car in sight. Each guest bedroom includes complimentary Wi-Fi and a 43 inch flat screen television. The Oasis Health Club boasts a gym, steam room, swimming pool and Jacuzzi. The Oasis Spa offers a thermal suite, sauna and steam room with a range of indulgent treatments, with advance booking recommended. Contemporary Irish cuisine is on the menu at Yew Restaurant using the finest local ingredients. Tupper’s is a traditional Irish bar located at the heart of the hotel where you can enjoy a quiet drink & delicious bar food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Lyrath Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa And Convention Centre
Lyrath Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel Convention Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing