We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing hotel - worth the trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Relaxing hotel - worth the trip”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a midweek break at the Lyrath Hotel over Christmas (two nights + 1 dinner). We recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a good quality hotel that is secluded but still within easy reach of Kilkenny City.

We liked the welcome and overall friendliness of the staff; the high-quality and spacious interiors; the very comfortable bed in our very comfortable room; the free wifi; the lovely shower; and the beautiful swimming pool. Those features make the Lyrath a very good hotel.

We were less impressed with the quality of the food (it's good...but not great) and the prices in the spa. We felt as well that the hotel could do more to make the grounds accessible to walkers and runners.

We would definitely stay at the Lyrath again. We recommend it for couples, small groups, families, and anyone who wants to relax in quiet surroundings. Do bear in mind, however, that Lyrath is a wedding reception venue...check to see if there's a wedding planned if you really want a quiet break.

Room Tip: Ask for the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gearoid9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Geroid 9

Thank you very Much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following a recent visit to Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities, food and service to be excellent throughout.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate again in the near future.

Best wishes

Iain Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,411
    511
    293
    111
    45
See reviews for
575
1,054
18
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Hi to Terry,

We returned and was such a difference. Room was fabulous in 414. Very warm and clean. Dined in the bar for lunch and dinner in the restaurant. Was delicious esp the beef x
Still have little issue with kids club but the reptile show was fantastic. The man hosting the show was top class.

Sorry we missed you Terry as would have loved a catch up. Left a message with girls on reception. Happy New Year and hope to see ye in Easter.

I will highly recommend you.

Lisa and Garrett

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tigerlee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Tigerlee 1

Thank you very Much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following a recent visit to Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities, food and service to be excellent throughout.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate again in the near future.

Best wishes

Iain Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel on the 28th of December and availed of the " get it all deal " which consisted of bed breakfast 2 x massages , 2 x 3 course meal and 2 x 15 euro lunch voucher for 380 euro.

From the minute you arrive it is very clear that the staff are very friendly and make you feel welcome. Tom the Concierge gives it that extra special touch.

The room was very spacious and comfortable and exceeded expectations.

the highlight however was the oasis health spa and the massages we got. You can only experience it to describe it. Recommend the Indian head massage

The meal in evening was good but the restaurant had no atmosphere , too big and too cold.

The only real negative I would say about our stay is what happened later in the night in the residents bar. We were enjoying a hot whiskey and then the about 100 people from a wedding party came in and totally took over the bar. We were pretty much forced to leave and our night was cut short. Most people in the bar were not even staying in the hotel. This put a downer on what was a very enjoyable night.

A hotel this size with as many rooms should keep wedding parties separate to other guest so everybody can enjoy their night.

If this hotel can sort and the restaurant and resident bar it is defiantly 5 star

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank samo077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Samo077

Thank you very Much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following a recent visit to Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities, food and service to be excellent throughout.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate again in the near future.

Best wishes

Iain Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Romantic getaway - very friendly staff, excellent facilities, amazing spa area - one of the best I'd ever experienced, excellent massage, good food! We got the €370 deal for 2 for one night - which included - a Treatment for 30 mins each, 4 Course Dinner each, one nights stay, breakfast and a €15 lunch voucher each. I had the afternoon tea for one which was very tasty. We got our room upgraded on arrival and had a very spacious room. And the day we were leaving we were allowed to use the swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna. Felt very refreshed leaving here. Would definately go back and would highly recommend to families as there were lots of activities for kids and they had an indoor cinema.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Karen C

Thank you very Much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following a recent visit to Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities, food and service to be excellent throughout.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate again in the near future.

Best wishes

Iain Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bondi, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I recently stayed at the Lyrath Estate for my best friends wedding! This hotel is truly picturesque... With excellent gardens surrounding the hotel, and a beautiful spa, this place optimises the word relaxation! I stayed at the Lyrath for 2 nights, and had an amazing time at the wedding! Lyrath were very accommodating for the entire stay and made sure the bride & groom were always catered too... I cannot fault this place for your wedding destination, and am seriously considering it as my choice (if I get married lol)! Thank you again Lyrath, I will definitely be back :-)

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the lake for an excellent view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eamon07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Eaomon07

Thank you very Much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following a recent visit to Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities, food and service to be excellent throughout.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate again in the near future.

Best wishes

Iain Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My Fiance and I treated ourselves to a trip to the Lyrath last weekend. We dined in La Perla Restaurant and took advantage of the set menu option. I had chicken for starter and we both enjoyed the fillet beef for main. The quality of beef was outstanding and the food was cooked to perfection. the hotel staff were so welcoming and we really enjoyed our visit. Would definitely recommend! Would recommend Mojito's in the X bar if you like to indulge!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelshiels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Rachelshields

Thank you very Much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following a recent visit to Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities, food and service to be excellent throughout.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate again in the near future.

Best wishes

Iain Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Pros: We very much enjoyed our stay. Our Executive room and bathroom were exactly as depicted in photos on their websites and were large by European standards and well appointed. Our room overlooked a stand of trees and a farm meadow and it felt very private. There was a family next door with an infant and we never heard a sound from their room. There was a good variety of breakfast choices and the staff was very accommodating even to guests who were late for breakfast. The negatives: While only about a 5-7 minute ride to town it was a 10 Euro ride each way so if you don't have a car add 20 Euros each day to the overall cost of your stay. We are fit and healthy but opted not to walk as the road to town was several lanes wide and very busy and there were no sidewalks most of the way. Internet was free but the signal was quite weak, even in the Tuppers Bar right off the lobby, probably due to the thick stone walls of the original building. Be mindful that unless you get one of the few rooms in the old house, your room will actually be in a very modern building and this hotel is pricey compared to others in the area so you are paying for old world charm that you experience very little of. The staff was friendly but most of them were not locals and couldn't really provide much useful information about the surrounding area. A hotel of this size and rating should have a concierge. While we truly had a lovely stay I think that on our next visit to Kilkenny we will stay somewhere a bit less expensive or closer to town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravelers003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear WorldTravelers

Thank you very Much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following a recent visit to Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities, food and service to be excellent throughout.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate again in the near future.

Best wishes

Iain Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,866 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.9 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,899 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,003 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa

Property: Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Address: Paulstown Road | Lyrath Estate, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 170 acres of parkland, Lyrath Estate Hotel is only 5 minutes from Kilkenny City. It offers luxurious air-conditioned rooms, an award winning spa, an outdoor infinity pool, and a selection of bars and restaurants. Guests can enjoy a peaceful night's sleep at Lyrath Estate Hotel as rooms are soundproofed with each having beautiful views overlooking the estate with not a car in sight. Each guest bedroom includes complimentary Wi-Fi and a 43 inch flat screen television. The Oasis Health Club boasts a gym, steam room, swimming pool and Jacuzzi. The Oasis Spa offers a thermal suite, sauna and steam room with a range of indulgent treatments, with advance booking recommended. Contemporary Irish cuisine is on the menu at La Perla restaurant using the finest local ingredients. Tupper's is a traditional Irish bar located at the heart of the hotel where you can enjoy a quiet drink & delicious bar food. Yindee's serves authentic oriental food whilst there is a range of beverages available at the sophisticated X Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa And Convention Centre
Lyrath Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel Convention Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing