We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

The Lyrath is a very impressive hotel. We were greeted by a very helpful and cheery doorman. The reception staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. Our room was very well equipped. Excellent beds and linen, very clean and modern bathroom. When we arrived, a wedding had just taken place and the bar was absolutely filled with revellers. It was impossible to find a space. We found another quiet area in the hotel which was just finishing serving afternoon tea. My wife asked the young lady on duty there if this area served drinks. She replied no but gave us a table to sit at, took an order then went out to organise some drinks for us and brought them back. Excellent service, with a smile! The restaurant was very comfortable with a great menu. The breakfast provided was also much better than the standard hotel fare. A great stay. We wish we had more than one night here!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Ken 554

Thank you very Much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following a recent visit to Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities, food and service to be excellent throughout.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate again in the near future.

Best wishes

Iain Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,372
    501
    287
    111
    42
See reviews for
564
1,024
18
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

I recently stayed at the Lyrath for a wedding. I am a bit confused by this hotel to be honest. It felt a bit all over the place both in terms of decor and it's target market. The hotel is designed around and incorporates the beautiful 17th c Lyrath House. The service was good and the bedroom was modern, extremely large and well equipped. However the Hotel also comprises a Convention Centre, a Yindees Thai/Oriental Restaurant, a trendy X-Bar, a Spa ....... a strange mish mash of too many styles/themes. Also, the place was thronged with people and there were an awful lot of children on the loose. Breakfast was a slight rugby scrum. I know that this is not the fault of the hotel, but I would have to say that I would not recommend it for a quiet/romantic weekend away.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veniredenovo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear veniredenovo

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Trip Advisor, following a recent Visit to Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.


I am sorry that certain aspects of your stay were not entirely to your satisfaction and I would appreciate the opportunity of discussing your feedback in more detail.

Please could you share your contact details with me, gm@lyrath.com.

I look forward to hearing from you in due course.

Best Wishes

Iain Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

My husband and I stayed in Lyrath for a weekend before christmas.the atmosphere on arrival was very festive.there was a great buzz in the foyer and a pianist playing xmas music.the staff at reception were friendly and professional.The room was superb with beautiful views.Dinner very enjoyable staff excellant in the dining room. will definiiatly be back

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brid66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Brid 66

Thank you very Much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following a recent visit to Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities, food and service to be excellent throughout.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate again in the near future.

Best wishes

Iain Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We spent a weekend recently in Lyrath and I must say that I was impressed from the first minute we entered the hotel. We were given an upgrade (for some reason) and our room was beautiful. The bed was so comfortable. The food was very good and the staff were wonderful. I really enjoyed the few days there and I would recommend it as a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We got an upgrade and our room was very quiet although there ws a wedding on each day
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Anne B

Thank you very Much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following a recent visit to Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities, food and service to be excellent throughout.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate again in the near future.

Best wishes

Iain Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stayed here over the Xmas period for a night. I must say some of the features of the hotel are exceptional! The rooms are great, the staff are great. The spa was a little bit of a let down. The bar upstairs closed way to early. No tv or entertainment in the late bar downstairs. The big let down was the amount of screaming kids around with no order on them. It was like being in a crèche, not a relaxing break away. Overall I don't feel you get value for the very high price you pay. However I would like to finish on a positive note and say that the Irish restaurant in the hotel was fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Daniel M

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Trip Advisor, following a recent Visit to Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.


I am sorry that certain aspects of your stay were not entirely to your satisfaction and I would appreciate the opportunity of discussing your feedback in more detail.

Please could you share your contact details with me, gm@lyrath.com.

I look forward to hearing from you in due course.

Best Wishes

Iain Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

My friends and I enjoyed a 1 night spa break including afternoon tea. Our massages were wonderful. The spa area is very relaxing, especially the semi outdoor pool. The staff are friendly and helpful. Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an excellent place to stay not far from Kilkenny!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niamhsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear NiabhHL

Thank you very Much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following a recent visit to Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities, food and service to be excellent throughout.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate again in the near future.

Best wishes

Iain Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Just back home after a wonderful stay in this superb hotel. As guests at a wedding on New Years Day, we were so impressed with the staff, the beautiful room and the amazing food. My 3 year old son loved the complimentary cookie & milk at bedtime. We will return.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Steve W

Thank you very Much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following a recent visit to Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities, food and service to be excellent throughout.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate again in the near future.

Best wishes

Iain Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.4 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.9 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
1.9 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa

Property: Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Address: Paulstown Road | Lyrath Estate, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 170 acres of parkland, Lyrath Estate Hotel is only 5 minutes from Kilkenny City. It offers luxurious air-conditioned rooms, an award winning spa, an outdoor infinity pool, and a selection of bars and restaurants. Guests can enjoy a peaceful night's sleep at Lyrath Estate Hotel as rooms are soundproofed with each having beautiful views overlooking the estate with not a car in sight. Each guest bedroom includes complimentary Wi-Fi and a 43 inch flat screen television. The Oasis Health Club boasts a gym, steam room, swimming pool and Jacuzzi. The Oasis Spa offers a thermal suite, sauna and steam room with a range of indulgent treatments, with advance booking recommended. Contemporary Irish cuisine is on the menu at La Perla restaurant using the finest local ingredients. Tupper's is a traditional Irish bar located at the heart of the hotel where you can enjoy a quiet drink & delicious bar food. Yindee's serves authentic oriental food whilst there is a range of beverages available at the sophisticated X Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa And Convention Centre
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel Convention Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing