We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We visited the Lyrath this weekend for the 2nd time, although it was 2 years since our last visit. Unfortunately due to the bad weather, the grounds were not in great condition, which limited the outside walks, but this did not impact greatly on our stay.
What made it for us this visit, was the excellent staff. Service was outstanding and to my mind that is a huge bonus and makes a difference on the quality of the stay. From the concierge who greeted us as we passed, the exceptional receptionist (I didn't get her name - but she has long blonde hair - her customer service skills were fantastic) to the cleaning staff; all were friendly and welcoming without being over the top.
Our room was clean and comfortable, although there was no fridge which I seemed to remember we had the last time. Food was excellent and there was a young man waiting on us for breakfast who made a point of introducing himself to our young son (again can't remember his name!), but these details really make a difference.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngeldaisyLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear AngeldaisyLimerick,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your recent stay with us here at Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities, food and service to be excellent throughout. I have passed on your kind comments to the team who have asked to be associated with my thanks for your kind words.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate again in the near future.

Best wishes

Iain Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,402 - 1,408 of 2,536 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

I stayed in the hotel with my husband for 1 night and i have to say this was the most relaxing time we had for a long time.We have a one year old baby so this was the first time away only two of us.We arrived early and very helpful receptionist checked us in.
We got an upgrade to executive room with balcony which made us feel special :-)
Room itself was very spacious and clean.
After check in we went for lunch.We both had a cesar salad with spiced chicken which was delicious. Then we had massages in the spa.I have to say Cora was great and we left very relaxed.
For dinner we went to Yindees.Food was really tasty.We both love Thai food so we really enjoyed it.
There is a cinema room in the hotel so we decided to go there to watch some movie.They have a good selection of movies as well.
I have to say that staff was really friendly, helpful and smiling all the time.
We would love to come back there for our anniversary next year with our baby because they have facilities to suit children of all ages.
ill definitely be reccommending this hotel to our family and friends

Room Tip: Executive rooms are beautiful and spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear venus810530,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your recent stay with us here at Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities, food and service to be excellent throughout. I have passed on your kind comments to the team who have asked to be associated with my thanks for your kind words. Cora is a huge asset to our Oasis Spa team and she was delighted to hear such positive feedback.

I am also delighted to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate again in the near future.

Best wishes

Iain Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed here Thursday 6th March for a 1 night break. While the hotel is very plush the price of a glass of wine is outrageous!!!! We were having lunch as the room wasn't ready and decided to have a glass of wine each which lead to a second glass each. With 3 starters off the lunch menu in the bar it cost €68 with 4 glasses of wine. I can get a bottle of Pinot Grigio for €8.30 which is what it cost for 1 glass!!!!!!!!!! . The bed also was not very comfortable considering it is supposed to be a 5 star hotel you would think you'd get a comfortable bed. While the staff were all pleasant I asked when checking in about using the spa and was told that I'd have to ask the spa direct which is fair enough but again it being a 5 star I'd expect a little bit more friendliness from the check in desk. The food was really really good but again €8.30 for a glass of wine is disgraceful !!!!! Won't be back

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CGriffin73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear CGRIFFIN73,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Trip Advisor


I am sorry that certain aspects of your visit were not entirely to your satisfaction. We are grateful for your candid and detailed feedback and in my capacity as general manager I would welcome the opportunity of discussing all aspects of your feedback in more detail.

We are all comitted to focussing on areas where standards are percieved to have been weak and you have my strongest personal assurance that we react positively an decisively in this aim.

Please could you share your contact details with me, gm@lyrath.com.

I look forward to being in touch with you in the near future.

Best Wishes

Iain Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights with my husband and young daughter.

Room was very spacious and I loved the bathroom with separate toilet and walk in shower. Lovely views from rooms. All mod cons and a touch of luxury.

All staff were helpful and courteous and friendly, reception staff all seemed very happy!

We ate in both the bar and the La Perla restaurant. Due to my daughter being 3 we had to have an early dinner which was OK however the restaurant was completely empty at 6.30 and therefore lacking in atmosphere.

The food was really excellent quality no complaints at all. Restaurant also serves a separate children's menu which is a nice touch.

Breakfast the next morning was also of excellent quality , missing some touches perhaps in comparison to other 5 star's I have stayed in, e.g pancakes omlettes made fresh, soy milk etc... however it was of a very good standard.

We explored the grounds and lake areas which are beautiful and well maintained. Plenty of walking to be done here. Walled garden is beautiful and lovely little kids playground.

Turn down service at night which is a lovely touch, milk and cookies for kids too.
I didn't use the spa so cannot comment on it.

My only gripe was the fact that it was more expensive in the bar for a non alcoholic beer than it was for an alcoholic beverage a real bugbear of mine, otherwise it was a great stay and we would return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twinklesplodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Twinklesplodge,

Thank you very Much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your recent stay with us here at Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities, food and service to be excellent throughout. I have passed on your kind comments to the team who have asked to be assocaited with my thanks for your kind words.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate again in the near future.

Best wishes

Iain Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed here for one night foe an anniversary.
Upgraded to an Executive double on the fourth floor.
Would not hesitate to return.
Just FYI a taxi from hotel to Kilkenny is 8-10 euros each way.
Stupid minimum characters rule !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Trip

Thank you very Much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your recent stay with us here at Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities, food and service to be excellent throughout. I have passed on your kind comments to the team who have asked to be assocaited with my thanks for your kind words.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate again in the near future.

Best wishes

Iain Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

stayed here last night and as always I left feeling rested and relaxed. The spa is just to die for and breakfast this morning was sublime. Can't wait to come back again for another visit. Keep up the great work guys

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank sleepti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Sleepti

Thank you very Much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your recent stay with us here at Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities, food and service to be excellent throughout. I have passed on your kind comments to the team who have asked to be assocaited with my thanks for your kind words.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate again in the near future.

Best wishes

Iain Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Despite having scaffolding outside the window, and the weather being cold, wet and windy, I had a most enjoyable weekend attending an Irish wedding at this hotel. The service was excellent and the staff smiley and obliging, particularly as I had been driven there by an Irish friend following having my flight cancelled and needing a lift to the hotel. They arranged a good room for her eventhough they were very full at the last time. The food was delicious both at the wedding reception and in the dining room. The wedding venue worked well and the staff were attentive and unobtrusive.

Room Tip: If you like a quiet room ask for it. I had no problem with noise eventhough the rest of my family pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 333GK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear 333GK10

Thank you very Much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your recent stay with us here at Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities, food and service to be excellent throughout. I have passed on your kind comments to the team who have asked to be associated with my thanks for your kind words.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate again in the near future.

Best wishes

Iain Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,032 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
8.1 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,831 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,042 reviews
2 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa

Address: Paulstown Road | Lyrath Estate, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £103 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 170 acres of parkland, Lyrath Estate Hotel is only 5 minutes from Kilkenny City. It offers luxurious air-conditioned rooms, an award winning spa, an outdoor infinity pool, and a selection of bars and restaurants. Guests can enjoy a peaceful night’s sleep at Lyrath Estate Hotel as rooms are soundproofed with each having beautiful views overlooking the estate with not a car in sight. Each guest bedroom includes complimentary Wi-Fi and a 43 inch flat screen television. The Oasis Health Club boasts a gym, steam room, swimming pool and Jacuzzi. The Oasis Spa offers a thermal suite, sauna and steam room with a range of indulgent treatments, with advance booking recommended. Contemporary Irish cuisine is on the menu at La Perla restaurant using the finest local ingredients. Tupper’s is a traditional Irish bar located at the heart of the hotel where you can enjoy a quiet drink & delicious bar food. Yindee’s serves authentic oriental food whilst there is a range of beverages available at the sophisticated X Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa And Convention Centre
Lyrath Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel Convention Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing