We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surprise in Kilkenny”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great surprise in Kilkenny”
Reviewed 10 September 2008

We were traveling with 4 of our friends. We just happened to find this Hotel on a website and booked it. It turned out to be one of our best finds in Ireland. The staff was more than friendly and quite eager to help. The Estate is absolutely beautiful and the rooms are very modern. There is absolutely nothing that they did not provide. The surrounding countryside takes your breath away with its beauty. We were able to book reservations in their dining room and it met all our expectations. The food was prepared and presented beautifully. On top of that it tasted good! They had an extensive wine list which complimented our meal. In the morning, the breakfast was just as satisfying as the dinner, the night before. Hated to leave.

  • Liked — Beautiful setting with all the luxury!
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shalynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,436
    517
    293
    111
    46
See reviews for
583
1,072
18
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2008

A group of us went to this hotel recently for a 2 night break. Hotel looks fab when we arrived and the staff at the front desk were very nice and helpful. The bedroom was just average no view just the side of the swimming pool. bathroom very nice.
we went to the bar for a meal the first night, and were waiting close to an hour for our meal to come, not acceptable for a 5 star hotel. The prices of drinks in the bar are outrageous and should not be allowed.
all in all i would say it should be classed as a4 star, could not see why it was rated 5 star except for the 5 star prices

  • Liked — Gardens
  • Disliked — Prices in the bar
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StaceyCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2008

This was the most fantastic hotel that we stayed in during our two weeks in Ireland. Fantastic 5 star plus ! Great breakfast, rooms, staff and total facility. Even the dogs were grand! I would highly recommend this hotel to you.

  • Liked — Service and the beauty of the accommodations, lovely and up scale.
  • Disliked — Our room could have had a better view
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaOSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2008

While the reception, bar, restaurant staff were wonderful and made us feels very pampered, the restaurant at the Lyrath was such a disappointment as to spoil our whole stay. The menu was very limited and we had to wait 45 minutes before getting our starters, a further 15 minutes after finishing that the soup arrived and was cold. Veg and potatoes with Mains were not hot and the coffee (luke warm) arrived 15 minutes before the dessert. Maybe it was just a bad night but a 5 star can't afford to have bad nights. We ate in the bar the next 2 nights and it was excellent. Better selection, better service, hotter food, and well priced. The drinks at the bar were a little more expensive than usual but not massively so. The hotel was lovely and rooms adequate. A good 4 star maybe ( if the restaurant was sorted out) but it is not a 5 star. It gives the window-dressing trappings of 5 star with the annoying doorman and overly eager porters but it is just a good 4 star.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PBMLouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2008

I recently enjoyed the mid week "Pamper Me" package with my boyfriend in the Lyrath Estate. We spent 2 nights and over all it was a lovely stay. I would say however that it is more a 4 than a 5 star hotel.
The Staff were very helpful, polite and professional. The rooms were lovely and comfortable and the bathroom was great with a large walk in shower. One point to note is they don't provide much on the Shampoo and Shower Gel side of things. I would recommend bringing your own. Also on the second day, after our room was cleaned, the key card we had in for the lights disappeared.
Both restaurants were excellent, food was great and wait staff were very professional. Tubbers bar was a bit expensive. We ate lunch there both days and felt the prices were too high for food/ drink (a class of Pinot Giorgio was €8.50!) However we had no plans to leave the hotel and go into the town so we made do.
The spa was very nice but not 5 star. When I went down for my first treatment it was very quiet, so I had the relaxation room to myself, which lovely however I noticed that a lot of the white covers on the seats were stained with what seemed to be make-up etc. Not really what you'd expect for a 5 star. I had 1 hour facial booked @ 1pm as part of the package. The treatment was lovely and relaxing, however it started 15 mins late and still finished at 2pm. When it was finished I had a soak the heated infinity pool which was amazing. The sauna and steam were standard, however the women's tropical shower's were not working so I had to use the men's. When I went to treat myself to some tea (facilities located outside the relaxation room) there was no hot water left, I thought this strange as there was not many people about. It seemed like it had never been filled that day. Also the hand moisturiser in the bathrooms was empty. I had a 30 minute back neck and shoulder later that afternoon and it definitely wasn't the best I've ever had. There was no rhythm to it and again it was 25 mins not the full 30. I guess I should have complained about all this while I was there, but I was on a "Pamper Me" package and I didn't want to stress myself! :)
My boyfriend on the other hand had amazing massage and had no real complaints about the spa.
I would recommend this hotel but not as a 5 star. The spa could do with a bit more attention, but overall I had a very relaxing stay!

  • Liked — The bedroom!
  • Disliked — The Spa could have been better.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GrettaIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2008

Stayed in this hotel for one night to attend a function. Service from reception onwards was shoddy and certainly not befitting a supposed 5 star hotel. Unable to understand many of the staff as they were from Eastern Europe with very limited english, reception staff couldn't understand me and I could not understand them. Spa grossly over priced. Bar prices very high. Returned to room at one stage during the evening the find that towels had been removed and not replaced, no idea why, they had not been used. Bring your own shower gel, shampoo and soap as these are in very very short supply.

Overall would not recommend this hotel at the price or level of service.

  • Liked — wooden floors in bedrooms
  • Disliked — price and lack of good quality service
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fossy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2008

I stayed with my girlfriend at the Lyrath Estate for a one night midweek break in April 07. The hotel may be many things but it certainly is not 5 star.

We found the staff to be disinterested to the point of being surly. We had been looking forward to enjoying the spa failities but were disappointed to find ourselves sitting in the hot tub looking out on the conference centre where there were a bunch of Diageo sales people smoking and talking on their mobile phones...we felt like we were in a business park...which is exactly what we were trying to take a break from.

The problem with this place is that it sets unrealistic expectations and charges accordingly. I do not know who awards 5 stars to hotels like this, but whoever is responsible sets the bar very low indeed. If the hotel had been sold to us as a 3 star conference center hotel on a roundabout beyond walking distance from the city we would not have been disappointed because we would have known what to expect.

Overall very disappointing and not to be recommended. Maybe they have sharpened up since we stayed and if so good luck to them. This does not change the fact that the place is primarily a conference centre.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank IgnacioMontoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,880 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.9 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,919 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,016 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa

Property: Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Address: Paulstown Road | Lyrath Estate, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 170 acres of parkland, Lyrath Estate Hotel is only 5 minutes from Kilkenny City. It offers luxurious air-conditioned rooms, an award winning spa, an outdoor infinity pool, and a selection of bars and restaurants. Guests can enjoy a peaceful night's sleep at Lyrath Estate Hotel as rooms are soundproofed with each having beautiful views overlooking the estate with not a car in sight. Each guest bedroom includes complimentary Wi-Fi and a 43 inch flat screen television. The Oasis Health Club boasts a gym, steam room, swimming pool and Jacuzzi. The Oasis Spa offers a thermal suite, sauna and steam room with a range of indulgent treatments, with advance booking recommended. Contemporary Irish cuisine is on the menu at La Perla restaurant using the finest local ingredients. Tupper's is a traditional Irish bar located at the heart of the hotel where you can enjoy a quiet drink & delicious bar food. Yindee's serves authentic oriental food whilst there is a range of beverages available at the sophisticated X Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa And Convention Centre
Lyrath Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel Convention Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing