We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Kids Loved It”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed in the Lyrath hotel at the start of the Easter break, I must say the hotel was just great and all staff are friendly and so helpful. Food was quick and loads in it. Breakfast is the best we ever had.

Kids really enjoyed the Hotel and Id like to say well done to all the kids club staff. Katie took part in the Lifesaving with Dave and she really enjoyed it, She is still taking about it. Sue and Dave have great buzz and fun about them in the kids club and they really made the break for our kids and we got some time to go to the Spa when the kids were out playing. Couldnt have asked for more.

Overall we will be back in the summer. Top Class hotel with Top class staff.

Mick

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Mick C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your recent stay with us here at Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities, food and service to be excellent throughout.
I have passed on your kind comments to the Kids Club team who have asked to be associated with my thanks for your kind words, especially Dave & Sue. It was fantastic to hear that Katie enjoyed her time in the Kids Club.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back to Lyrath Estate again in the near future.

Best Wishes,

Iain Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,366 - 1,372 of 2,535 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

We spent two nights at this hotel over the easter weekend. We have two children aged 10 and 7 and we were so happy with our accomodation, kids clubs and all the facilities this hotel has to offer. The staff were amazing, any queries we had were answered straight away.

Our kids loved the kids club in the morning and the evening, then we went swimming or took the bikes out for a spin during the day. We also attended the spa on one morning when the kids were in kids club and the outdoor pool was amazing with hydro jets. Really relaxing.

We dined in Yindees the first night and La Perla on the second night, both were completely different and I would highly recommend either. The kids club did a high tea at 5 on each evening and then straight into the kids club so we could have our dinner on our own. The high tea had a great variety of food for the kids, 3 different types of pasta with different sauces, burgers, sausages, chicken goujons, chips, beans, vegetables, potatoes, onion rings, garlic bread. Then desserts. This was at a price of 8 euro per child, great value as they could pick what they wanted.

We had our lunch in Tuppers Bar everyday and it was lovely. Breakfast was served in la Perla each day and if you wanted something specific the staff just asked the chef and it was made within 5 minutes, now thats what I call a great service. Nothing was too much to ask for.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone as it has something for everyone. One of the best hotels we have ever stayed at. We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lneary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Ineary

Much thanks for taking the time to share your kind review; we truly appreciate every bit of feedback we receive from all our guests. Our service is something we pride ourselves on and I’m delighted to hear you were happy with your stay and our facilities including our fantastic Kids Club.

I have passed on your kind words to all the team and to our breakfast chefs who in turn pass on their thanks.
It gives me great joy to hear that you deem our hotel “one of the best hotels” that you have ever stayed at.

I do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back to the Lyrath Estate Hotel in the near future. (for more relaxing time while the children play at Kids Club).

Best Wishes,

Iain Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The Lyrath hotel is a gem of a hotel nestled in the green acres of Kilkenny.
The receptionist that greeted us on arrival was very pleasant and helpful, As were all the staff that we came into contact with.
The breakfast room is very big and airy and the selection of food is extremely good.
Food in Tuppers bar was very fresh and nicely presented.
We are a family of four and stayed in room 137 and enjoyed every minute of it.
The room we had was spacious and very well laid out.
The children loved staying here because of the activities that the hotel had put on for the Easter break.The hotel provides push bikes to explore the landscaped grounds.
The attention to the smallest of detail is what makes the hotel different
I would highly recommend this hotel for a break especially if you like to go for a walk, the grounds of Lyrath Estate are well maintained and lovely to observe as you stroll around.
We well be going back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetom133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear thetom133,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your recent stay with us here at Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities, food and service to be excellent throughout. I have passed on your kind comments to the team who have asked to be associated with my thanks for your kind words.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate again in the near future.

Best wishes

Iain Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Today we had spa treatment and afternoon tea package. Very reasonably priced and loved loved the spa. There was a group of 5 people and every treatment was highly praised. Would recommend the deluxe package to anyone.
My only problem was when we went for our afternoon tea. The service was extremely slow. We gave the voucher to staff and where shown to our seats table for 5. Our tea/coffee orders taken and delivered. By the time the afternoon tea arrived all our drinks where finished it took way to long and then afternoon tea for 3 people was delivered but there was clearly 5 at the table so we waited a while and in the end had to ask where the rest of afternoon tea was. By the time it was brought to our table the first 3 people had finished there's!!! This was unacceptable and very very poor service. I have had this package before and service was also very poor but I said would give it another try.
I will again be returning in a few weeks time for this package and I hope this issue will be resolved and more attention paid to the afternoon tea.
The spa staff are amazing and it is for this reason alone that I am returning . Lyrath you need to work on your afternoon tea experience.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank OVau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear OVau,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us following your visit for Afternoon Tea & Spa at the Lyrath Estate Hotel.

It was a pleasure to read you found our Oasis Spa staff friendly and professional.
As regards the Afternoon Tea services; I would like to assure you that this is not indicative of the standard of our service at Lyrath Estate Hotel, and I do apologise sincerely for the inconvenience caused.

I do hope you return to us in the near future so you can enjoy our professional service.

Best Wishes,

Iain Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We had our wedding at the Lyrath Estate & Spa hotel last Friday. We had a wonderful wedding there - a civil cermony in the hotel's beautiful country estate rooms. The staff were superb - very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable on how to give great service. Many of our guests stayed for two nights at the hotel and we received many compliments from our guests on their stay. The food was really tasty, especially the breakfast. Great choice of tasty food. The hotel is beautifully designed with many different rooms, each with their own character. This really added atmosphere to our day. The bridal lounge was luxurious and so too were the rooms and suites that our guests stayed in. We would both recommend the hotel as a super venue for weddings. Thanks to all of the staff for treating us so well!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Claire G,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your recent wedding here at Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your wedding and stay with with us and found the facilities and service to be excellent throughout. I have passed on your kind comments to the team who have asked to be associated with my thanks for your kind words. A wedding day can be the most important event in any couples life and it was a honour for us to be able to share in your special day.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate again in the near future.

Best wishes

Iain Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I recently visited the Lyrath for a spa day as a gift for Mother's day with my 2 daughters. First of all we arrived at the Oasis Spa where we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist, then we were brought downstairs to the thermal suite where we had full use of the hydrotherapy pool(which was amazing) sauna, steam room and relaxation areas. There was also a very generous refreshment station. We were then called for our treatments, I had the best massage and facial of my life from my therapist Denise, every aspect of both mine and my daughters treatments were perfect and nothing was too much to ask for. After our time in the spa we then went up for afternoon tea which was lovely, the only thing I could fault is that some homemade brown bread would have been nice. We got both treatments and afternoon tea as a package which was brilliant value. This was my first time in the hotel and I would definately recommend this to my family and friends. I cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancdun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear nancdun,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your recent visit to us here at Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your recent spa day with us and found the facilities and service to be excellent throughout. I have passed on your kind comments to the team who have asked to be associated with my thanks for your kind words. Denise was delighted to hear your kind words and has also asked me to personally thank you.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate again in the near future.

Best wishes

Iain Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Myself and three of my girlfriends were there for a 30th trip. The hotel is lovely, the staff were friendly and accommodating, the spa treatments were top notch and the rooms and food were top quality. They even brought a muffin with a candle to the room during breakfast which was a lovely touch.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sinéad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Sinéad N,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your recent stay with us here at Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities, food and service to be excellent throughout. I have passed on your kind comments to the team who have asked to be associated with my thanks for your kind words.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lyrath Estate again in the near future.

Best wishes

Iain Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,032 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
8.1 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,831 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,042 reviews
2 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa

Address: Paulstown Road | Lyrath Estate, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £103 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 170 acres of parkland, Lyrath Estate Hotel is only 5 minutes from Kilkenny City. It offers luxurious air-conditioned rooms, an award winning spa, an outdoor infinity pool, and a selection of bars and restaurants. Guests can enjoy a peaceful night’s sleep at Lyrath Estate Hotel as rooms are soundproofed with each having beautiful views overlooking the estate with not a car in sight. Each guest bedroom includes complimentary Wi-Fi and a 43 inch flat screen television. The Oasis Health Club boasts a gym, steam room, swimming pool and Jacuzzi. The Oasis Spa offers a thermal suite, sauna and steam room with a range of indulgent treatments, with advance booking recommended. Contemporary Irish cuisine is on the menu at La Perla restaurant using the finest local ingredients. Tupper’s is a traditional Irish bar located at the heart of the hotel where you can enjoy a quiet drink & delicious bar food. Yindee’s serves authentic oriental food whilst there is a range of beverages available at the sophisticated X Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa And Convention Centre
Lyrath Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel Convention Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing