We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is a gorgeous property with very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are very well decorated and spotless. Not far from "downtown" Kilkenny, a charming medieval village with impressive Castle to visit on the river. Many thanks to the general manager and especially senior manager, Terry Kirchbaum for finding our passports and sending onto Dublin - they went above and beyond to cause us as little stress as possible!!

Room Tip: Ask to look over gardens....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Surfbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Richmond67,

Thank you for your wonderful review following your recent stay with us.

It is very rewarding to know that your experience matched your expectation of the Lyrath Estate hotel and that you found it to be an Outstanding hotel.

I am very proud of the team here at Lyrath – they make all the difference to every guests stay offering a relaxed friendly and genuine hospitality.
Terry has has me to pass on his personal thanks. We believe that our service will ultimately determine whether our guests will return and your feedback is incredibly encouraging for me and my team and thank you for recognising them.

Best Wishes,

Iain Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,261 - 1,267 of 2,510 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Was down for a wedding weekend in mid-June and from the first (fateful)moment of Breakfast Manager Josephine "finding" us mislaid/lost in Kilkenny City (don't rely on the Sat Nav to find "Old Dublin Road"), to the last moments after checkout,this was simply a wonderful weekend break. The hotel is definitely a 5*, and probably the best example you will see of combining a beautiful period house with modern architecture(beautiful Reception area Atrium!). Everything about the place oozes class from the Driveway up,to the furnishings in the original house, to the main gardens, to the old style bar to the main Restaurant where the atmosphere at Breakfast was just brilliant(Thanks again Josephine for looking after our every need again!).Did not get to the Spa, but heard it was great. Even the size of the Conferencing facilities tells you that there is nothing that this place could not handle. We have left with great memories of a great weekend,great staff and a great hotel, and whilst this was my first time in Kilkenny, we will be back, and we will stay here! Would strongly recommend.

Room Tip: Had a nice quiet room which I would recommend, but be prepared for a walk to it. The floors in the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C0n0r_M2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear C0n0r_M2014,

Thank you for the time you have taken in sharing your feedback with us on Trip Advisor, following a recent visit to the Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

I cannot describe to you what a pleasure it was to read your review. Let me thank you sincerely for sharing your wonderful experiences with us.

I have always said that the staff are the greatest asset that the hotel has and they take great pride in the work that they do year in and out to welcome all our guests and sure they have a pleasant stay, and what an amazing asset is our Josephine Nolan. She really does go above and beyond for the guests and I'm thrilled she has made such a lasting impression on you.

I do hope that I will be able to meet with you personally the next time you come to visit us at the Lyrath Estate Hotel.

Best Wishes,

Iain Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Lyrath over the weekend. This hotel is absolutely beautiful. I could not fault this hotel in any way. The Oasis spa is stunning and ideal for a stress free break away. The staff were so helpful and could not help us enough. The food in Tuppers bar was lovely and the setting was so relaxing. I would visit this hotel and take the kids the next time as it is ideal for families.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nwhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear nwhelan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Trip Advisor, following a recent visit to Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities, food and service to be excellent throughout. The team are always pleased to be recognised for excellent service and have asked to be associated with my thanks for your kind comments.

I do hope we have the privilege of welcoming you back to the Lyrath Estate Hotel in the not so distance future.

Best Wishes,

Iain Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were in lyrath on Sat5th for family celebration. Could not praise this hotel enough. Food was to die for but more than that the staff are so nice and could not be more helpful. We will be back!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cupcakequeen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Cupcakequeen12,

Thank you for sharing such a lovely review following your recent stay here at the Lyrath Estate Hotel.

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities, food and service to be excellent throughout. The team are always pleased to be recognised for excellent service and have asked to be associated with my thanks for your kind comments.

I do hope I get to meet with you and your family personally upon your return visit.

Best Wishes,

Iain Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel to celebrate a family birthday so there was an age range from 3-62, and there was something to suit everyone! The swimming pool and spa were both brilliant! The hotel itself was of high standard! The rooms were cleaned twice daily and the entire hotel was spotless! The grounds surrounding the hotel were also amazing! It is situated just outside kilkenny about a 5 minute drive into the town. Breakfast was really good! The only downfall was our meal on both nights in the restaurants, service was slow but I think this was down to kitchen staff more so than the waiters as they couldn't do enough for us! Overall a brilliant stay!

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Michelle O,

Thank you for the time you have taken in sharing your feedback with us on Trip Advisor, following a recent visit to the Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities, food and service to be excellent throughout. The team are always pleased to be recognised for excellent service and have asked to be associated with my thanks for your kind comments.

I do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Lyrath Estate Hotel in the near future.

Best Wishes,

Iain Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Booked here for our first Anniversary, we had an executive room which was beautiful and very large, gorgeous views of the parklands, room service was great all the little extras topped up twice a day. Excellent breakfast with lots to choose
from, we booked a spa session with afternoon tea it was
amazing!! Afternoon tea was gorgeous then we did the hydrotherapy pool, sauna and went to relaxation rooms and had a lovely cold drink and some fruit We where then called by our therapists for our facial it was amazing came out feeling wonderful and so relaxed. All in all lyrath is an excellent hotel, we hope to be back again :)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrstorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Mrstorr,

Thank you for the time you have taken in sharing your feedback with us on Trip Advisor, following a recent visit to the Lyrath Estate Hotel Kilkenny.

The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the facilities, food and service to be excellent throughout. The team are always pleased to be recognised for excellent service and have asked to be associated with my thanks for your kind comments.

I do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future perhaps on your next anniversary celebration.

Best Wishes,

Iain Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here for two nights and we can honestly say we have never felt relaxation like it. The grounds are magnificent and lucky enough for us the weather didnt disappoint. The food in the thai restaurant is amazing and so was breakfast although the bar food did disappoint slightly as did the receptionist on check in, she didnt seem to be aware of the package we had booked and we did have to ask twice to have the wine we were to receive in the room on arrival to be delivered, it was, 3hrs after we checked in!! But they are only minor issues and this hotel is definately worth a visit if you feel like treating yourself to a couple of days of r&r!!!! Quick mention for the barman james, one of the friendliest guys you could meet despite being contstantly busy buzzing around the bar he still took the time to have a chat and a laugh, he is definately an asset to your gem of a hotel. We will most definately be back.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ffc4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain G, General Manager at Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear ffc4eva,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences following your recent stay.

All of the staff here take great pride in ensuring that all our guests enjoy their time with us and have restful and relaxing break away. It is with great joy that I read your special mention about James. He has asked me to pass on his thanks for your kind words.

I do hope we have the honour of welcoming you back to the Lyrath Estate Hotel.

Best Wishes,

Iain Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,978 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.9 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,034 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,052 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa

Address: Paulstown Road | Lyrath Estate, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £104 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 170 acres of parkland, Lyrath Estate Hotel is only 5 minutes from Kilkenny City. It offers luxurious air-conditioned rooms, an award winning spa, an outdoor infinity pool, and a selection of bars and restaurants. Guests can enjoy a peaceful night’s sleep at Lyrath Estate Hotel as rooms are soundproofed with each having beautiful views overlooking the estate with not a car in sight. Each guest bedroom includes complimentary Wi-Fi and a 43 inch flat screen television. The Oasis Health Club boasts a gym, steam room, swimming pool and Jacuzzi. The Oasis Spa offers a thermal suite, sauna and steam room with a range of indulgent treatments, with advance booking recommended. Contemporary Irish cuisine is on the menu at La Perla restaurant using the finest local ingredients. Tupper’s is a traditional Irish bar located at the heart of the hotel where you can enjoy a quiet drink & delicious bar food. Yindee’s serves authentic oriental food whilst there is a range of beverages available at the sophisticated X Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa And Convention Centre
Lyrath Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel Convention Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing