We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fit for Royalty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2008

From the minute we turned off the main road into the driveway of the Lyrath Estate, we know something special awaited us. The location is simply superb amid the rolling countryside, with so much open space making up the vast grounds of the hotel. And the building itself fits happy into this grand setting, where it seems no expense has been spared to ensure top notch interior design, with only luxury furnishings to be found throughout. Walking through the opulent foyer we truly did feel like royalty!

The standard of the rooms is very high, with the inoffensive décor adding a feel of timeless elegance to them. All the 5* touches are catered for, and we were particularly impressed by the turndown service which not only turned down the duvet, but left us slippers at each side of the bed, truffles on the pillows, a fresh bottle of water each & most impressively of all dimmed the lights and set some gentle music playing….all very romantic. The huge bathroom was the other highlight - a very contemporary affair with the most fantastic walk in shower.

The staff were great, from the doorman to the waitress at breakfast our every need was taken care of. The porter who brought our bags to the room provided an excellent run through of the room for us, which was a useful exercise. And we have to mention the receptionist who recommended her favourite Kilkenny restaurant to us. She booked us a cab and even drew us a small map to make sure we’d find it. We had a fantastic night there, and can’t thank her enough for telling us about the place.

Unfortunately during our visit to Oasis spa the infinity pool was closed for maintenance, which was a real shame. I found it peculiar that this wasn’t pointed out to us at the time of booking, but I’ll give them to benefit of the doubt and assume that it wasn’t a scheduled maintenance. Otherwise though it was a lovely experience and our massages were of a very high quality. We both found the spa staff to be well trained and very pleasant & conversational. I will say however that the thermal area of the spa was considerably smaller than those in other 5 star hotels we’ve stayed in, but as I didn’t get to use it I can’t comment as to whether it’s as effective or not.

The swimming pool in the Lyrath is a nice size, and due to the height of the glass windows at its end it almost seems you are going to end up swimming into the outdoors when heading in that direction, a nifty illusion. If that makes no sense I’m sorry, but you’ll see what I mean when you get there! Upon entering the pool area we received a Lyrath pool bag containing not just a towel, but also a swimming hat and shampoo & conditioner. Very convenient. One thing to note though is that the changing rooms are unusually small. There wouldn’t want to be more than 5 or 6 people in them at once. Excellent steam room & jacuzzi.

Tuppers bar is set in a section of the old estate house, which is an interesting traditional area to contrast the rest of the hotel with. Big comfy chairs, an open fire & stonework walls all add to the traditional homely feel. The food is unfaultable, and drinks menu extensive, if a bit on the pricy side.

During our time in the Lyrath we also took a small walk around some of the grounds, following a route advised by the porter. For those interested in something a little more intense there is a guide book available outlining some of the more adventurous routes available. The grounds really are that big that a guidebook would be a must have if one were to venture further afield! And a tip – if it’s any way wet outdoors make sure to wear boots that you’re not afraid to get muddy.

Overall then we felt that we definitely received the full 5* treatment during our time at the Lyrath, and in fact this is possibly the best hotel we’ve stayed in, in the republic. I have noticed a lot of criticism for La Perla restaurant in other reviews, but as we didn’t dine there I can’t speculate. The breakfast we ate in the restaurant was fantastic though, with a great variety of option available for ordering specially made items included in the standard B&B price, as well as the buffet of course. We happened to be there on a Tuesday night when both the X-bar and Yindees are closed, which was a disappointment, but the hotel was of such a high standard that we didn’t let this in any way set us back. One of our party happens to work in one of the most renowned 5* hotels in Killarney. She was equally as impressed as we were, and commented that it was easy to see that the owners were “not afraid to spend money” to make the Lyrath experience as good as it can be. To sum up we couldn’t recommend this hotel enough!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlfaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,474)
There are newer reviews for Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,330 - 2,336 of 2,474 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2008

My mum and I went to the Lyrath for a mid week break and both loved it. We had been initally placed in a smoking room which stunk of smoke and was horrible. The staff member who showed us to our room had us moved straight away and was very apologetic. Our second room was fantastic, 2 double beds, with lovely veiws and fab bathroom with lots of complimentary spa shampoos, body creams etc.
The food in the resturant was really good - the best i have eaten in a hotel and the breakfasts were really top. The selection was great and the food really delicious. Bar food very good too.

We were not overly impressed with the spa (didn't have treatments but had use of facilities) was not worth the money charged. It is because of the Spa that i am not giving the hotel 5 stars. Without the spa experience i would give 5 stars!
Overall a great hotel and are going back again next feb!

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBMCWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2008

Just back from a two night B & B with two evening meals stay in the Lyrath Estate Hotel. Had a lovely stay but was disappointed with some of the customer service. I found the staff on the Reception not very 'customer friendly'. While checking in and checking out I had no interaction from the staff what so ever. The doorman was extremely friendly and welcoming. I had dinner in each of the restaurants and the food was absolutely 5 star quality. The staff in the restaurants were very friendly and gave sound advise on the food. The breakfast both mornings was very good but the second morning of my stay the Irish Manager was not there and the friendly customer service was missing .
My stay was mid week and I found the hotel lacked atmosphere even though is was completely booked out..

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank bigIrishMAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2008

My wife and I stayed in the Lyrath in lates September on a romantic weekend package. The setting is not as spectacular as other 5 star hotels I've stayed in but the personal touches are where they excel. From the moment we reached the door we were greeted with friendliness and professionalism. From the porter to the hotel manager, customer satisfaction is the top priority. We had champagne and choclates waiting our arrival and a handwritten card from the events manager. We had a standard room but it was very spacious. The queen-size bed and walk in shower are definitely the highlights. The view is ok but nothing on a par with a ocean-facing hotel.

The first night we dined in Yindees oriental restaurant. The food was lovely but the setting is the high point. We were sat on the balcony above the lobby with a grand piano playing below. The next day we had a champagne breakfast via room service, top class. We both had treatments booked in the spa and again the attention to detail is exceptional. The hot tub is fantastic especially when the wall is rolled up to leave you in the open air. We had lunch in the bar and again the food was very good. There is a lot of space around the hotel but not much in the way of defined walkways except around the lake. We had breakfast downstairs the next day and it was quite a relaxed affair with a huge selection of food. There were plenty of staff around so nobody was waiting for tea or coffee. Overall I would say that Lyrath is far from cheap but the personal touches and dedication to customer satisfaction make it more than worthwhile.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2008

I have stayed in the lyrath twice with my boyfriend.I thought it was amazing.It deserves its 5 stars.The place is spacious and luxurious.The room was just a "regular" one but when we walked in i thought it was beautiful and very modern.The bathroom was one i could only dream of owning forever.The double shower was on the floor giving it a real spacious and spa like quality.I loved the little freebies in the bathroom(hand cream etc) they were of really high quality.The beds,everything was so comfortable.I felt like a queen.We went and done the thermal suite experience in the spa.E35 for 2hrs.Outdoor hydrotherepy pool and relaxation room.You can't go to the lyrath and not do this at least.Its soooo relaxing and really makes the night perfect.Finished off with dinner in Tuppers bar.Nice but didnt get a lot of food was starving later and room service is very pricey indeed. I satyed during the week for one night and it was only E70 each with breakfast which i thought was great value seeing as 3 stars charge far more with no reason to.Breakfast was nice but i found the setting a bit intimidating everyone was facing the all you can eat area and there was a lot of staff standing watching your every move which i hate so i hurried my breakfast and got out feeling suffocated.The rest of my experience was just heavenly though.I would honestly recommend it to couples or anyone just looking for relaxation.
Thanks for listening!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lady-escape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2008

We had a great time in Lyrath Estate recently. Arrived before the usual check in time & registered, they looked after our luggage until the room was ready & parked the car for us.
The accommodation was well worth waiting for, a lovely room. We had a spa treatment each & dinner in LaPerla restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Thank ledpjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2008

We were traveling with 4 of our friends. We just happened to find this Hotel on a website and booked it. It turned out to be one of our best finds in Ireland. The staff was more than friendly and quite eager to help. The Estate is absolutely beautiful and the rooms are very modern. There is absolutely nothing that they did not provide. The surrounding countryside takes your breath away with its beauty. We were able to book reservations in their dining room and it met all our expectations. The food was prepared and presented beautifully. On top of that it tasted good! They had an extensive wine list which complimented our meal. In the morning, the breakfast was just as satisfying as the dinner, the night before. Hated to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shalynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,949 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,783 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,030 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa

Address: Paulstown Road | Lyrath Estate, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £114 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 170 acres of parkland, Lyrath Estate Hotel is only 5 minutes from Kilkenny City. It offers luxurious air-conditioned rooms, an award winning spa, an outdoor infinity pool, and a selection of bars and restaurants. Guests can enjoy a peaceful night's sleep at Lyrath Estate Hotel as rooms are soundproofed with each having beautiful views overlooking the estate with not a car in sight. Each guest bedroom includes complimentary Wi-Fi and a 43 inch flat screen television. The Oasis Health Club boasts a gym, steam room, swimming pool and Jacuzzi. The Oasis Spa offers a thermal suite, sauna and steam room with a range of indulgent treatments, with advance booking recommended. Contemporary Irish cuisine is on the menu at La Perla restaurant using the finest local ingredients. Tupper's is a traditional Irish bar located at the heart of the hotel where you can enjoy a quiet drink & delicious bar food. Yindee's serves authentic oriental food whilst there is a range of beverages available at the sophisticated X Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa And Convention Centre
Lyrath Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel Convention Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing