We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of best hotels in Ireland and totally child and baby friendly. Amazing Hotel and Staff. A must stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Have to recommend this hotel for anyone with kids from 0 years to 10 years+

We stayed for three nights this week, and they couldn't have been more nicer and accommodating for everything.

We were upgraded for free for our wedding anniversary to a fantastic family room and they left a free bottle of wine and a message from the manager.

They really couldn't have done any more for us ! .

They have kids activities daily for older kids. They also have swimming pool , cinema, games rooms , outdoor activities like football, basketball etc.

They also have walks and bike trails for adults all around the estate.

Fantastic food, staff , accommodation etc and only one hour from Dublin.

We will defiantly be back.


Highley Recommend !!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,473)
There are newer reviews for Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,174 - 1,180 of 2,473 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

We are just back from a 2 night stay in the Lyrath Hotel, staying with our 2 boys (aged 6 & 3 yrs). The staff couldn't have been better - they were always pleasant and efficient. We stayed in an Executive room which opened out onto the central garden courtyard area which was handy when the 3 yr old wanted to run about outside for a min or 2.
The room was clean and spacious, in good condition.
The room service offer free milk and biscuits for kids at night time which was very much appreciated.
At breakfast time it was quite busy but we didn't have to wait for a table, and there was no queuing for food either.
We used the pool a couple of times - as the changing room at the pool is a little small they suggest guests change in their rooms, which I thought was a great idea, especially suitable for us as our room was very close to the pool. The pool is free to use and also has a jacuzzi, steam room and gym.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This hotel is beautiful - location is beautiful! every area of this hotel was immaculately clean with attentive professional staff.
Our room was beautiful and as I had mentioned it was my partners birthday - there was a card, bottle of wine & chocolates left in the room.
Ate in La Perla restaurant which was excellent. Breakfast is also served here & is fabulous - so much choice - something for everyone!
We also had lunch in the bar area which was by far the best 'bar food' I've ever had!
I will definately be returning to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Solarsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I've never provided a reveiw on trip adviser before and have said if I ever do it, it will be for Lyrath Estate. So here it goes!! I've been to the hotel close to a dozen times now and both my partner and I love our visit and each time we are not disappointed. We stayed again at the weekend (9th Aug) and again we were very happy with our stay.

The rooms are very well appointed, beds are so comfortable and the room and bathroom are always spotlessly clean. We've stayed in standard rooms and executive rooms and we also treated ourselves once to a stay in a suite and it was fantastic, the egg shaped bath was amazing.

The staff are and have always been very friendly and accomodating from the time of arrival until check out.

We always come on a one night stay including dinner and opt for the La Perla for our meal as we find the food to be great and again this visit was excellent. We'd never stayed during the summer months, we've always gone in the winter time and it was great this time to see the place was jammed. Great buzz in the restaurant and in the Bar upstairs afterward for cocktails. We had the fillet for mains, medium and it was cooked perfectly and the sides were just right. I didnt have a sweet but my partner had the oreo cheesecake whcih had toffee popcorn and a dulce de leche (i think!!) sauce, it was sooooo delicious!!!!

We will definitely continue to visit the place, we love it :-)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BobbyDazzler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have stayed at the Lyrath on several occassions, our little girl ahd her first night away from home at the Lyrath in 2012. We had the pleasure of staying again this summer with our 2 and a half year old, it was the best break away from home we've had the room was spotless, the staff friendly and helpful, the breakfast was a feast!, the grounds are great for exploring. The head chef on the morning we left was a big hit with our little girl as she dragged her trunki along the corridor to check out, he brought her out a cookie, she has not stopped repeating the story to everyone we meet, she also tells everyone how great the swimming pool was. We cannot wait till next years visit!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had the good fortune to spend two nights here recently.
The package of two nights bed and breakfast and two dinners was a real bargain, especially when you have three restaurants to choose from.
Firstly, let me say that the hotel itself is a really nice space, built around the original estate house. There are some rooms in the old house, but it seems that these are often reserved for wedding parties.
Other rooms are very spacious, comfortable and well appointed.
I suspect that due to the time of year and also recent promotions, there are lots of families staying with small children. The hotel run a club with activities for the children and the hotel have curfew times for children in the bars, restaurants and pool area. Good thinking!
The food quality is excellent......for breakfast, lunches and dinners. We sampled La Perla, the main restaurant and also zy indexes, an Asian restaurant. We also had lunch in the bar/conservatory area, where they have outdoor patio seating, for nice fine days....
In reality, the hotel is a very good four-star standard.....however, it is the quality of the staff that give it the extra edge. All staff are warm and friendly and nothing is too much trouble.
I'm sure that the staff will not mind if I single out Lucas in the breakfast restaurant for a special mention. My goodness, a real gem. He works so hard but always has a smile on his face. He made our stay!
On the first morning, the hotel was completely full, almost 390 guests for breakfast. Yet everything ran smoothly.
There is a fantastic buffet breakfast and also a menu with items cooked freshly by the chefs in the kitchen.
I must also mention here that on the menus in the hotel, there are 'healthy' options......including an egg white omelette with spinach and sundried tomato on the breakfast menu. Most unusual for large hotels.
So, to sum up......phone the hotel and ask about special deals.......enjoy the comfort and the food.....and be sure to introduce yourself to Lucas in the breakfast room.

Room Tip: When you are making enquiries, ask if there are room upgrades available.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JABDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a one night break in the hotel and it felt like a mini holiday.Everything was fantastic.The staff were extremely helpful, courteous and efficient.The spa experience was super and the health club was great.We had a meal in La Perl a restaurant which was delicious.The hotel s location is beautiful and we had a lovely walk on the grounds.The Lyrath is one of the best hotels I 've ever stayed in .I will definitely be making a return visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,946 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,779 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,030 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa

Address: Paulstown Road | Lyrath Estate, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range: £115 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 170 acres of parkland, Lyrath Estate Hotel is only 5 minutes from Kilkenny City. It offers luxurious air-conditioned rooms, an award winning spa, an outdoor infinity pool, and a selection of bars and restaurants. Guests can enjoy a peaceful night's sleep at Lyrath Estate Hotel as rooms are soundproofed with each having beautiful views overlooking the estate with not a car in sight. Each guest bedroom includes complimentary Wi-Fi and a 43 inch flat screen television. The Oasis Health Club boasts a gym, steam room, swimming pool and Jacuzzi. The Oasis Spa offers a thermal suite, sauna and steam room with a range of indulgent treatments, with advance booking recommended. Contemporary Irish cuisine is on the menu at La Perla restaurant using the finest local ingredients. Tupper's is a traditional Irish bar located at the heart of the hotel where you can enjoy a quiet drink & delicious bar food. Yindee's serves authentic oriental food whilst there is a range of beverages available at the sophisticated X Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa And Convention Centre
Lyrath Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel Convention Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing