We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
dublin ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Luxury!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2009

Had a lovely midweek 2 night stay. We thought we'd have the place to ourselves but it was the midterm break so the hotel appeared to be very full, noticeably so in the restaurants for dinner and breakfast. The staff in general remained very professional and on top of their game despite the pressure they were under.
We upgraded ourselves to an executive room which was well worth it, beautiful large spacious room with complimentary box of chocolates and wine and all the expected touches worthy of a 5* hotel.
Had an excellent meal in La Perla on the 1st night, faultless! The only restaurant available on the 2nd night was Yindees (Asian cuisine) which didnt appeal to either of us, would have been nice to have a wider choice. Another downside in this respect was that the min bar, X Bar was closed on both nights, Tuppers is very quiet and sedate and wasnt our cup of tea so we had to head into Kilkenny both nights. Since the hotel was so full Im sure it wouldnt have been any harm to have some live music playing to add a bit of atmosphere.
The spa was booked out so we just made use of the thermal suite fo 2 hours, as 5* hotels go the spa is disappointing, very small thermal suite.
Overall had an excellent stay and would highly recommend this for a great break away.

Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rcallagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,355
    498
    284
    110
    42
See reviews for
558
1,011
18
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford,Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2009

Just back from our second stay at Lyrath and already planning to stay there again.
It is just a shot drive from Kilkenny City but once your drive onto the estate you are transported back to a place that wouldnt be amiss in a period drama.
There is the walled garden,the pond with the resident ducks,view of the fields woodland and rolling hills.
I recommend booking treatments in Oasis spa as all the staff there are wonderful and Laura gave me the best facial ever.
Dinner in La Perla was enjoyable but Yindes is just a little more special.
All the staff were friendly and made our stay special.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FionnualaJBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, CO
Level Contributor
100 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2009

We went here on the basis of the great reviews from tripadvisor users, and were not disappointed. This is an absolutely beautiful old estate, with a very modern hotel added onto it. The view from our room was gorgeous, looking out over golf greens, ponds and fountains. I loved how they provided walking guides for not only around the estate grounds but also for several other walks in the area - Kilkenny, etc.

The bedrooms were spacious and very well supplied - with tea/coffee in the room, nice sized bathtubs with marble floors and walls in the bathrooms.

We ate at the Thai restaurant upstairs for dinner - it was nice and the food was very good, but just a bit pricey - dinner for two with only one of us drinking one glass of wine was 60EUR. Irish breakfast that was included the next morning, though, was absolutely fantastic - beautiful dining room and a nice full breakfast with a lovely view.

The welcoming committee at the front desk made us feel very well at home and took everything out of our hands at once. We literally felt our worries and carries just shoved out the door.

Thanks, Lyrath Estate!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank female_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2009

I found this to be a very friendly, comfortable place to visit and stay. From the moment of arrival the staff were most courteous and helpful. They really wanted us to enjoy our stay. As we were being taken to our room we were given a description of the various facilities and shown how to access them.
The room was very elegant with every comfort one would expect from this type of hotel. Bathroom was well appointed and well stocked. The window looked across part of the vast woodland on which the hotel is situated. Unfortunately the Spa was booked up during our visit but we made use of the swimming pool which was relatively small but comfortable.
The Thai restaurant provided an interesting menu which I hadn't expected to find in this 'old style' setting. I loved the huge and varied breakfast and, again, the service was unsurpassed.
Not much to complain about here except the extra charge to use the internet on the bedroom T.V. system. One of my pet hates!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Papamurfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2009

Lyrath Hotel is a great place to stay. The hotel is well finished, the rooms are well-sized and all the leisure amenities are clean and attractive. The only blight on our stay was the rudeness of a junior manager in Tuppers bar over two nights. He is curt to the point of rudeness and unpleasant in the extreme. English is not his first language, but even cultural differences aside, if he's working in a five star establishment he should know/be told that you don't treat guests that way.

Also La Perla have a great maitre'd but the food is poorly seasoned. We enjoyed the ambiance but 3 of our four dishes were bland. The breakfasts are good though.

  • Liked — The grounds and the spa
  • Disliked — the food
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mash3D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2009

stayed over valentine's weekend, which may have been a mistake anyway but got what i thought was a good deal.

hotel is very nice and our room was excellent (we received a complimentary up-grade to a suite). Reception and checkin were brilliant and very professional. Had dinner in the Asian restaurant and the food was very good, service was also good.

Breakfast the following day was ok and no more (why under-cook sausages?).

The real disaster came later that night. Dinner was booked for 9.15 in La Perla. the restaurant was busy which is fine and we were not seated until 9.35. We eventually received menus and tried to order drinks, water and wine. We asked a few times for water and after 30 minutes got one glass each. The menu was a supposed 7 courses (including coffee and petit fours). We received an amuse bouche that was overwhelmed by bread. The best thing about my starter was the red-currants that the Chef had not touched. We decided to skip two courses as it was now 10.30pm. We received our main course at 10.45pm which was very ordinary. Services was hopeless. Of the 6 tables around us, 4 were complaining. we would have complained if we could have found someone to complain to, but the staff just were not there! in the end we got up and just left.

the kitchen in this hotel is dire. We also had lunch and to charge €15 for club sandwich is totally unjustified but more so if it is badly made and tasteless.

If I were going I would say stay clear of La perla and Tupper's bar food. Yindee's the asian restaurant is very good. the facility itself is good. Overall the kitchen drops the standard to a bearable 3 star.

  • Liked — The facility itself
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonnylegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2009

Lyrath is the type of hotel where you can spend all weekend without leaving the estate. We were very kindly upgraded by reception on arrival, our car was parked on arrival and returned to us on departure. The bedroom is the best I have stayed in, modern & luxurious with separate dressing area and large bathroom with a great big bath & walk in wet room. We didn't get a turndown on the first night but did on the second. We had evening food & afternoon tea in Tuppers - food and service was excellent although a bit pricy for barfood, Yindees Thai restaurant was also excellent. Spa treatments are well worth it with lovely therapists & a lovely vitality area, I didn't find the relaxation area great though, it just has armchairs I was expecting beds with lush blankets. The vast & impressive grounds have both long & short walks with maps available from reception. Unfortunately I have one complaint - breakfast. Breakfast was very disappointing on both mornings, the cold buffet was great & had everything but the hot breakfast was not good at all with a bit of a grumpy chef who didn't even want to take orders for eggs!!! I really think a five star hotel should be cooking to order for hot breakfast. It's a great location for a relaxing break & a special thank you to the reception staff for our upgrade.

  • Liked — Great Bedroom
  • Disliked — Hot breakfast was very disappointing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rox09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
1.9 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa

Property: Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Address: Paulstown Road | Lyrath Estate, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 170 acres of parkland, Lyrath Estate Hotel is only 5 minutes from Kilkenny City. It offers luxurious air-conditioned rooms, an award winning spa, an outdoor infinity pool, and a selection of bars and restaurants. Guests can enjoy a peaceful night's sleep at Lyrath Estate Hotel as rooms are soundproofed with each having beautiful views overlooking the estate with not a car in sight. Each guest bedroom includes complimentary Wi-Fi and a 43 inch flat screen television. The Oasis Health Club boasts a gym, steam room, swimming pool and Jacuzzi. The Oasis Spa offers a thermal suite, sauna and steam room with a range of indulgent treatments, with advance booking recommended. Contemporary Irish cuisine is on the menu at La Perla restaurant using the finest local ingredients. Tupper's is a traditional Irish bar located at the heart of the hotel where you can enjoy a quiet drink & delicious bar food. Yindee's serves authentic oriental food whilst there is a range of beverages available at the sophisticated X Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa And Convention Centre
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel Convention Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing