We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Great for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not Great for one night”
Reviewed 6 September 2010

The negatives of the hotel were:
Check in was not till 4pm and when we arrived after 4, the room was not ready.
We went for breakfast half hour before it stopped serving. There was limited eggs, no mushrooms, we were given mouldy toast and surrounded by the waiters clearing up tables very loudly.
The bikes which were advertised were not in great condition for adults- the gears and / or brakes wouldn't work and we checked them all!

The positive
The room was lovely, the bed was extremely comfy with lovely rural views of the estate. The upgraded us to a room with a balcony.

We stayed there for one night and I think you would really need to stay for there two to get your money's worth. It is a €10 taxi ride to the city centre and the bars and general public areas throughout the hotel didn't seem very personalised. It appeared to be aimed more at families than romantic get aways!

Kilkenny is a lovely city and I would recommend the Lyrath estate for families and weddings as that seemed to be the main theme when we were there but ultimately for the expensive price you pay- its not worth it for a one night stay for a couple. There is just as nice and cheaper hotels closer to the city itself

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djruthie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,460
    526
    294
    113
    46
See reviews for
594
1,084
19
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We had a nice stay. There was a group of approx 20 with 3 per room for one night and the package included dinner. Dinner in the Thai restaurant was lovely. My treatment in the Spa was really nice. The hotel lobby was impressive. However it was the Deluxe rooms (which are their standard rooms) that left the place down I thought. Quite basic, no frills and the bathroom layout was awful, with the floor flooding every time you used the shower. My major issue was that the bedroom was a SEVEN minute walk from the bar/lobby area. This was really annoying, and so if I do return I will be requesting a room closer to the centre of the hotel. Breakfast was very average, no menu to order from which I would expect from a 5 Star hotel and the room price we were charged. The food was excellent apart from breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller201031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

We are just back today from our trip to the Lyrath and we loved it. It lived up to our expectations and went beyond them.
The staff were so helpful and curteous, nothing was too much trouble.
The room we were in was so clean and quiet-we didnt hear a sound at nightime which was such a change for us when staying in a hotel
We felt the package was great value and we will definitly be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishairyfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We had to attend a family wedding here and we really had to stay because we had small children. My wife booked it and I was shocked at the cost (€220 family room) but by the end of the stay I happily paid the price.
The location, food, rooms and facilities are all excellent. The staff were particularly good and the service at the wedding was fantastic with everybody being severed at the same time as the top table.
The leisure centre was a little bit small, but they also have a separate Spa area which we didn't get to see on our one night visit.
TIP: The kids get free milk and cookies, but you have to ring down for them. We only found out the next morning!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusinessTraveller345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We stayed for a mid week break with our 9 year old son and found the hotel perfect for families. The staff were friendly and courteous and happy to help at all times. Can't wait to go back :-)

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bentleyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

I think I had overhyped this hotel before I went with the result that I was left disappointed in certain regards There were both pros and cons to our stay and this was my experience ....
Pros: Beautiful setting, superb staff, exceptionally clean, very close to Kilkenny but removed enough to be in the countryside, well organised walking brochures for guests, excellent therapists in the Spa.
Cons: Overrun with children and over child friendly, I appreciate it was the last week of August but I never came across so many children (in a 5 star resort!!!) Breakfast was just chaotic - children running everywhere. The pool was a similar experience. If you wanted adult time in the pool you were confined to one hour in the evening (6 pm to 7 pm). If you were there on a romantic break - you have my sympathies. An overrated spa - nothing wow - just a hydropool, sauna and jacuzzi which if you are not getting a treatment you have to part with €30 to enjoy! Whilst the food was excellent, I felt €8.50 for desert (3 scoops of icecream) was a bit rich. I found our room disappointing - I have stayed in better rooms in 3 and 4 star hotels - cramped and stuffy - had to have air conditioning on just to breathe.
I have stayed in similiar style resorts and have never left disappointed but the Lyrath did leave me disappointed and I would only be recommending it to friends with children as it seems to be marketing itself that direction.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scorpio55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

When driving up to this hotel, it appears to be a country house but appearances are deceptive. There is a very large modern extension which houses most of the hotel. It is a busy hotel and somewhat impersonal.
The reception was friendly and efficient but there was a smell of bar food emanating from the bar off the lobby.
The bedroom was very spacious, modern and very comfortable and clean. The bathroom was also excellent, very modern and spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was fine, a good buffet selection. As the hotel was very busy, some guests had to wait for a few minutes for a table to become available.
There was also a nice swimming pool in the hotel.
The hotel is located about 5kms outside of the centre of Kilkenny. However, reception was very efficient in organising taxis into town.
Our overall impression of the hotel was that it was a bit impersonal but was a nice place to stay. It offered excellent value for money as we took advantage of the mid-week deals.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bear54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,914 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,754 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,021 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#9 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa

Property: Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Address: Paulstown Road | Lyrath Estate, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#2 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 170 acres of parkland, Lyrath Estate Hotel is only 5 minutes from Kilkenny City. It offers luxurious air-conditioned rooms, an award winning spa, an outdoor infinity pool, and a selection of bars and restaurants. Guests can enjoy a peaceful night's sleep at Lyrath Estate Hotel as rooms are soundproofed with each having beautiful views overlooking the estate with not a car in sight. Each guest bedroom includes complimentary Wi-Fi and a 43 inch flat screen television. The Oasis Health Club boasts a gym, steam room, swimming pool and Jacuzzi. The Oasis Spa offers a thermal suite, sauna and steam room with a range of indulgent treatments, with advance booking recommended. Contemporary Irish cuisine is on the menu at La Perla restaurant using the finest local ingredients. Tupper's is a traditional Irish bar located at the heart of the hotel where you can enjoy a quiet drink & delicious bar food. Yindee's serves authentic oriental food whilst there is a range of beverages available at the sophisticated X Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa And Convention Centre
Lyrath Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel Convention Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing