We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST WE HAVE EVER BEEN TOO” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“BEST WE HAVE EVER BEEN TOO”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

We stayed at Lyrath Estate to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary recently, it is an amazing hotel with amazing staff, first impressions last and when we drove up the avenue to see this beautiful old building nestled in the trees it will stay in our minds for a long time, when we went to check in the porter too our luggage and parked our car, what a service. I couldn't praise this hotel and their staff enough I know the prices may be a little bit more expensive but for the personal touch and the extra treat it was worth every cent and more. The housekeeping staff were the best we ever came across very nice and chatty and so good at their job. Whoever owns this hotel should really appreciate the staft that they have as they are excellent. We took the bikes and went for a cycle so enjoyable and weather was crip, dry and sunny so like our stay just perfect. We will definitely be going back at some stage when save a few more euro but for anyone looking for luxury and total chill out please visit this hotel. Sorry nearly forgot the food was fab we ate in the Thai restaurant which was gorgeous and the entertainment in the X Bar on both Friday & Saturday night was excellent, there were weddings taking place on both days of our weekend away but didn't affect anything as they were celebrating in a different area, beds were very comfy and not a sound at night when looking for some good sleep. Overall the best hotel ever cannot wait to go back

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shanemaeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,355
    497
    284
    110
    42
See reviews for
558
1,010
18
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CORK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

Attended a wedding at this hotel and everything was fantastic.
Will be sure to return for a leisure break in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EIMEARCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
227 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

Stayed here 3 nights on arrival in Eire. The room was one of their best and was a good size with door out to the garden with a table and two chairs.
Had their deal of 3 nights with 2 dinners included, one was in their Asian restaurant and the other in their main dining room and we ate the third night in the bar. Couldn't fault the food though the main dining room staff were more working on a conveyor belt type of attitude than the Asian restaurant which was more intimate and friendlier staff. Bar food and staff were brilliant.
The hotel implied you could walk into town but you couldn't really and they had run out of copies of their local walks "waiting for it from the printers" and couldn't even print off a sheet for us so this was a minor annoyance.
There was a wedding on on our last day/night there and they managed this very well as the guests were kept mostly away from the main hotel.
Swimming pool was lovely though check the times as only open 4 hours in the morning and 4 hours early evening. Would have liked it to open earlier than 8.00 a.m. as normally like a swim before breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freddielola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

LOVE this hotel.
-Lovely comfortable rooms - large with a fab view, amazingly comfortable bed, bath and shower, large tv etc.
-Complimentary paper outside room in morning
-Thai restaurant is very nice
-Both bars lovely with friendly staff - great singers in X Bar Friday and Sat night.
-Nice breakfast (only negative is that u can't leave it until last minute as there will be queues and certain foods may be gone/in short supply)
-Lovely spa
-Cinema with selection of dvds - didn't attend but seems like a nice idea for kids
-Amazing drive up to the hotel and lovely grounds for a stroll
-Short spin to the town, 9euro for a taxi
-Nice bars and restaurants in town - particularly The Grapevine tapas bar, Tynans bar, Langtons, the left bank.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IrishLaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

The negatives of the hotel were:
Check in was not till 4pm and when we arrived after 4, the room was not ready.
We went for breakfast half hour before it stopped serving. There was limited eggs, no mushrooms, we were given mouldy toast and surrounded by the waiters clearing up tables very loudly.
The bikes which were advertised were not in great condition for adults- the gears and / or brakes wouldn't work and we checked them all!

The positive
The room was lovely, the bed was extremely comfy with lovely rural views of the estate. The upgraded us to a room with a balcony.

We stayed there for one night and I think you would really need to stay for there two to get your money's worth. It is a €10 taxi ride to the city centre and the bars and general public areas throughout the hotel didn't seem very personalised. It appeared to be aimed more at families than romantic get aways!

Kilkenny is a lovely city and I would recommend the Lyrath estate for families and weddings as that seemed to be the main theme when we were there but ultimately for the expensive price you pay- its not worth it for a one night stay for a couple. There is just as nice and cheaper hotels closer to the city itself

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djruthie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

We had a nice stay. There was a group of approx 20 with 3 per room for one night and the package included dinner. Dinner in the Thai restaurant was lovely. My treatment in the Spa was really nice. The hotel lobby was impressive. However it was the Deluxe rooms (which are their standard rooms) that left the place down I thought. Quite basic, no frills and the bathroom layout was awful, with the floor flooding every time you used the shower. My major issue was that the bedroom was a SEVEN minute walk from the bar/lobby area. This was really annoying, and so if I do return I will be requesting a room closer to the centre of the hotel. Breakfast was very average, no menu to order from which I would expect from a 5 Star hotel and the room price we were charged. The food was excellent apart from breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller201031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2010

We are just back today from our trip to the Lyrath and we loved it. It lived up to our expectations and went beyond them.
The staff were so helpful and curteous, nothing was too much trouble.
The room we were in was so clean and quiet-we didnt hear a sound at nightime which was such a change for us when staying in a hotel
We felt the package was great value and we will definitly be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishairyfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
1.9 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa

Property: Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Address: Paulstown Road | Lyrath Estate, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 170 acres of parkland, Lyrath Estate Hotel is only 5 minutes from Kilkenny City. It offers luxurious air-conditioned rooms, an award winning spa, an outdoor infinity pool, and a selection of bars and restaurants. Guests can enjoy a peaceful night's sleep at Lyrath Estate Hotel as rooms are soundproofed with each having beautiful views overlooking the estate with not a car in sight. Each guest bedroom includes complimentary Wi-Fi and a 43 inch flat screen television. The Oasis Health Club boasts a gym, steam room, swimming pool and Jacuzzi. The Oasis Spa offers a thermal suite, sauna and steam room with a range of indulgent treatments, with advance booking recommended. Contemporary Irish cuisine is on the menu at La Perla restaurant using the finest local ingredients. Tupper's is a traditional Irish bar located at the heart of the hotel where you can enjoy a quiet drink & delicious bar food. Yindee's serves authentic oriental food whilst there is a range of beverages available at the sophisticated X Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa And Convention Centre
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel Convention Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing