We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Treatment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“5 Star Treatment”
Reviewed 11 October 2010

I stayed here in June with my wife and 3 year old daughter. We had a extremely enjoyable stay in the Hotel. The pool was excellent and the staff were amazing. The room we were given was quite large and more than adequate for the three of us. We used the cinema in the evening with our daughter and she really enjoyed the whole experience. We also used the play area outside which she also enjoyed. We were a bit worried that the Hotel might not be suitable for children (how wrong we were!). It is the best staycation we have had and would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends. We can't express how good the staff were as they went above the call of duty for our particular circumstances. Our little girl had a great time and especially enjoyed the free milk and cookies at bedtime. Great place for exploring nearby Kilkenny city.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller247365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,389
    506
    291
    111
    45
See reviews for
566
1,041
18
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Stayed in the Lyrath Estate Hotel on one of their excellent midweek break deals (for 3 nights B&B + 1 dinner). Excellent spotless room (upgraded to an Executive room as apart of the deal) with loads of room and an excellent layout with a huge en-suite, walk in shower, bath, wc and twin sinks, also had internet access but network cable has to be collected from reception. Would liked to have booked some spa treatments but these are very expensive at around 100 Euro for a single treatment - I know its a 5* but not sure how they justify that pricing as we would have gone if it had been more reasonable but didn't go at all at those prices. Food in the main restaurant was excellent but not much wine available under 40 Euro per bottle, Thai restaurant also first class but again drinks expensive. Used the new gym which needs more equipment although existing gear is new and in good condition. During our stay, gym/pool closed between 12 and 4pm which seems strange as we would have used it in the afternoon. Only other comments would be there are a lot of foreign staff working there such as waiters, housekeeping, on reception etc so don't go if you want to meet Irish people and the lovely grounds don't seem to have any dedicated or signed walks which seems crazy as the location is beautiful. Overall, excellent and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilVerlig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Booked a one night spa package with Dinner, B&B.

My wife and I have been itching to get back there ever since. The hotel looked immaculate with a huge hallway once you enter. Bellboy was amazing as well. We were travelling with an 11 mth old and had plenty of baggage. He took it in the trolley out to the car park, filled the boot and drove the car to the front door.
The food for all meals looked great and tasted better. Also, when our little girl started acting up, they suggested bringing her to bed and they could send down our desserts or would wait until we came back into the restaurant.
The Spa was excellent too with an outdoor heated pool to look over the grounds from.

All in all, a very positive experience that we can't wait to repeat.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meisce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Just back from an amazing third stay at The Lyrath Estate with my boyfriend.
To say it exceeded expections is an understatement. As a former hotel
employee I¹m prone to finding faults, big and small, whenever I go away.
But this place is so hard to fault. The hotel is everything that a five star
hotel should beŠgood enough that you shouldn¹t need to or want to leave.

We stayed for three nights in The Clare Suite, which was amazing. It had a
huge king size bed with large windows looking out over the lake, a separate
living area with two couches, a dining area and separate guest bathroom. On
the first night we had food in Tuppers Bar and on the second night we dined
at La Perla. Service was excellent in both. Breakfast every morning was one
of the highlights of our stay and is not to be missed.

We chilled out every day in the pool area, which also has a jacuzzi and
sauna and we took leisurely walks around the grounds. We stayed before in an
executive room, which had it¹s own balcony. On a fine day it was the most
perfect place to sit and enjoy the view.

The hotel is peaceful during the week but really comes to life at the
weekend as a popular wedding venue. It¹s not hard to see why. Both the
exterior and interior of the hotel are, in a word, beautiful. The lobby is
great for people-watching and I camped out there and took in the style at
both weddings during my stay.

As a young couple we felt truly at home throughout our stay and on departure
the porter had the final word by saying Œwe¹ll miss you¹. When you stay at
the Lyrath you become part of the family. It¹s a five star experience
without the superiority and all guests are treated equal, whether you¹re a
penthouse superstar or a family who scooped a great special rate on the
internet. No matter who you are you will feel like a special guest.

If you do venture outside the hotel, be wary of taxi drivers who we found
tried to take advantage and overcharged due to where we were staying.
Kilkenny is just down the road and has a vibrant nightlife with excellent
restaurants and places to visit.

There is no doubt I will be back and for those who haven¹t, I strongly
encourage you to make your first visit sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whimag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We stayed at Lyrath Estate to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary recently, it is an amazing hotel with amazing staff, first impressions last and when we drove up the avenue to see this beautiful old building nestled in the trees it will stay in our minds for a long time, when we went to check in the porter too our luggage and parked our car, what a service. I couldn't praise this hotel and their staff enough I know the prices may be a little bit more expensive but for the personal touch and the extra treat it was worth every cent and more. The housekeeping staff were the best we ever came across very nice and chatty and so good at their job. Whoever owns this hotel should really appreciate the staft that they have as they are excellent. We took the bikes and went for a cycle so enjoyable and weather was crip, dry and sunny so like our stay just perfect. We will definitely be going back at some stage when save a few more euro but for anyone looking for luxury and total chill out please visit this hotel. Sorry nearly forgot the food was fab we ate in the Thai restaurant which was gorgeous and the entertainment in the X Bar on both Friday & Saturday night was excellent, there were weddings taking place on both days of our weekend away but didn't affect anything as they were celebrating in a different area, beds were very comfy and not a sound at night when looking for some good sleep. Overall the best hotel ever cannot wait to go back

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanemaeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CORK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Attended a wedding at this hotel and everything was fantastic.
Will be sure to return for a leisure break in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EIMEARCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
242 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Stayed here 3 nights on arrival in Eire. The room was one of their best and was a good size with door out to the garden with a table and two chairs.
Had their deal of 3 nights with 2 dinners included, one was in their Asian restaurant and the other in their main dining room and we ate the third night in the bar. Couldn't fault the food though the main dining room staff were more working on a conveyor belt type of attitude than the Asian restaurant which was more intimate and friendlier staff. Bar food and staff were brilliant.
The hotel implied you could walk into town but you couldn't really and they had run out of copies of their local walks "waiting for it from the printers" and couldn't even print off a sheet for us so this was a minor annoyance.
There was a wedding on on our last day/night there and they managed this very well as the guests were kept mostly away from the main hotel.
Swimming pool was lovely though check the times as only open 4 hours in the morning and 4 hours early evening. Would have liked it to open earlier than 8.00 a.m. as normally like a swim before breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freddielola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
1.9 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,864 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
1.9 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa

Property: Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Address: Paulstown Road | Lyrath Estate, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 170 acres of parkland, Lyrath Estate Hotel is only 5 minutes from Kilkenny City. It offers luxurious air-conditioned rooms, an award winning spa, an outdoor infinity pool, and a selection of bars and restaurants. Guests can enjoy a peaceful night's sleep at Lyrath Estate Hotel as rooms are soundproofed with each having beautiful views overlooking the estate with not a car in sight. Each guest bedroom includes complimentary Wi-Fi and a 43 inch flat screen television. The Oasis Health Club boasts a gym, steam room, swimming pool and Jacuzzi. The Oasis Spa offers a thermal suite, sauna and steam room with a range of indulgent treatments, with advance booking recommended. Contemporary Irish cuisine is on the menu at La Perla restaurant using the finest local ingredients. Tupper's is a traditional Irish bar located at the heart of the hotel where you can enjoy a quiet drink & delicious bar food. Yindee's serves authentic oriental food whilst there is a range of beverages available at the sophisticated X Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa And Convention Centre
Lyrath Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel Convention Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing