We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific time at Lyrath”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific time at Lyrath”
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Recently, I had the pleasure of staying for two nights at the Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa and Convention Centre. I travelled from the US with my wife and son to join my family for a birthday celebration. Adults and kids all had a wonderful stay and a memorable family occasion was enjoyed in no small part due to the facilities and services provided. The kids enjoyed the cinema, games room and swimming pool while the ladies were treated to exceptional spa treatments. Some enjoyed the beautiful scenery while strolling the grounds while others made the very short trip to Kilkenny. The staff were at all times extremely attentive, courteous, helpful and all our needs were seen to without fuss or delay. The quality of food was first rate and the rooms were extremely comfortable. All in all, the Lyrath experience made for a very memorable family celebration.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colmeile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,372
    501
    287
    111
    42
See reviews for
564
1,024
18
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2011

my wife and myself stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in january ,the rooms are very nice and the service was great ,even the owners beautiful golden labradors give you a great welcome .certainly one of the better hotels we have stayed in in ireland .we will be back during the summer so we cant explore the extensive gardens and grounds

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aishling05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2011

We spent a weekend with family to celebrate a 70th birthday & had a brilliant weekend. Bedrooms were very spacious (especially the bathroom), clean, lovely views from all our bedrooms, interconnecting rooms for the larger families worked out brilliant. A special mention to the restaurant & bar staff - there were 18 of us so they had great patience! Paul in the restaurant couldn't have been nicer & used to try & seat us as near to each other in the mornings at breakfast. Service & food was excellent. Alot for the kids to do even in the off-peak season (age ranges from 4 to 16 yrs). They had a ball in the cinema room & games room & we all enjoyed the walk around the property to see the horses John & Edward & the resident dogs (can't remember their names!).
A very enjoyable weekend & would definately recommdent Lyrath.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arlw308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Myself and my 3 girlfriends were celebrating one of their 50th birthday. Looking at the website and the hotel brochure you would get the impression the actual entrance to the hotel is through the old part of the building but instead it is through what I can only describe as more of an entrance to a terminal building in an airport. Rooms were fine. Use of swimming pool was free but if you want to use the Hydrotherapy pool it is an extra €30 pp. Dinner in La Perla second night we were seated at a table under the air conditioning vents which had a cool breeze. We asked for the air con to be turned down three times to no avail. When we asked to be moved to another table we were told they could not move us as they were fully booked - we saw at least fifteen empty tables and decided we would just move ourselves - having being served our main course the Manager came over and asked us if we still wanted to be moved - "Yes" we replied and had to carry our main courses over to our new table. Food was o.k. Queued for 20 minutes next morning to get table for breakfast. Returned to our rooms to collect our luggage at 11.50 hrs only to discover we were locked out - none of our swipe cards worked. Had to wait around 10 minutes for staff member to come with new swipe to allow us to gain access. Had to queue another 20 minutes to pay for our bill. Whilst waiting for one of the girls to get the car I noticed one of the large flower planters had vomit in it (this is directly outside the entrance to the reception). Don't know how it got 5 stars - think it should only rate 3 myself. Will never return.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLCOOLJ32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

We stayed here a few weeks ago on a family weekend away and all I can say is that the service here is terrible!! On arrvial staff at reception were courteous but provided us no information about the hotel and its facilites.Our room was perfect very clean but nothing out of the ordinary, have stayed in better rooms in 4 star hotels in Ireland. On arrival we ordered a bottle of white wine and its was warm at room temperature when requested to have a chilled bottle of wine we were given an ice bucket. Anytime we ordered white wine over the weekend it was warm and asked the reason for this were told that the staff didnt like going down to the cellar to get the chilled bottles! Also in therestaraunt La Perla service was painfully slow with many of the dinners arriving out cold and had to be sent back to be heated up.....5 star hotel and asking for a reheat on your dinner which you are paying good money for! On checkout we were asked did we have a good stay and when we said that the service left a lot to be desired the girl at reception continued as if we had said nothing and just conitnued checking us out.
The setting and gardens of this hotel are fantastic and it has the potential to be a fantastic hotel but unfortunately the service lets this place down.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank le1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremorris mayo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Very bad service, everyone was under too much pressure, tea was always cold. Food was ok. Pool was small and walks could be better signed. 3star only.....would love to return to
Kilkenny, but won't stay here.....

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Livelife060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Visited Lyrath for weekend stay with my husband. It's a lovely looking hotel with some really nice touches but it definitely isn't 5 star standard. Some of the service we received wasn't up to scratch even for a 2-3 star. Both mornings at breakfast we weren't served tea or coffee, we had to ask for it several times and even after speaking with a manager it didn't arrive promptly. We were finished our breakfast both mornings before it arrived 20 - 30 minutes later.
On the plus side, the bar food was really nice, service was good there. Yindees restaurant was also lovely
I would go back again but only if I got a very good deal / price on it. Having stayed in other 5 stars in Ireland it's hard not to compare Lyrath to them.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatiemacDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.4 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,811 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,667 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
977 reviews
1.9 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa

Property: Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Address: Paulstown Road | Lyrath Estate, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Spa Hotel in Kilkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 170 acres of parkland, Lyrath Estate Hotel is only 5 minutes from Kilkenny City. It offers luxurious air-conditioned rooms, an award winning spa, an outdoor infinity pool, and a selection of bars and restaurants. Guests can enjoy a peaceful night's sleep at Lyrath Estate Hotel as rooms are soundproofed with each having beautiful views overlooking the estate with not a car in sight. Each guest bedroom includes complimentary Wi-Fi and a 43 inch flat screen television. The Oasis Health Club boasts a gym, steam room, swimming pool and Jacuzzi. The Oasis Spa offers a thermal suite, sauna and steam room with a range of indulgent treatments, with advance booking recommended. Contemporary Irish cuisine is on the menu at La Perla restaurant using the finest local ingredients. Tupper's is a traditional Irish bar located at the heart of the hotel where you can enjoy a quiet drink & delicious bar food. Yindee's serves authentic oriental food whilst there is a range of beverages available at the sophisticated X Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa And Convention Centre
Lyrath Estate Hotel, Spa & Convention Centre Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Hotel Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Kilkenny
Lyrath Estate Hotel Convention Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing