We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“little gem as always”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Reviewed 20 February 2012

asaI have stayed here year after year for the last few years , and it never lets me down the staff are second to none .nothing to much for them ,food very good and papers everyday free for every one a very warm welcome on arrival ,check in dealt with very quickly,you can spend big money on other so called 4 star hotels if you want as i have in kilkenny but you won,t find anything coming near to the aspect hotel so just stay the little gem you all are , good luck

Room Tip: if you have disabilty or walking difficulty a disabled room is available it has all you need with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tibbsdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Thank you for taking time to post your recent review. I am delighted with your positive comments. We believe our Team do deliver geniune hospitality and care for you while you are in our company. Good to hear that you enjoyed our food, locally we do have a very good reputation for good quality freshly cooked food. Our specially adapted rooms do deserve mention and the IWA do recommend us as a wheelchair friendly hotel and that we do actually tick all the boxes for people with lesser mobility. Please do tell al of our friends and we would love the opportunity to welcome them to stay with us in the near future. Thanks again for your business it is appreciated.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

593 - 599 of 785 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2012

first impressions definately off putting as this hotel is based in a retail park and looks like another shop building but once in reception i was pleasently suprised greeted by lovely receptionist where we were shown our room and booked in for dinner, as we got a deal we had set menu food was lovely but service a bit slow live music in bar which seemed too create good atmosphere but we were looking for something more lively, all in all we would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puddypie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Thank you for taking time to review Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, your comments are very much appreciated. We do pride ourselves on our genuine hospitiality and that make us stand out from many other Hotel. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your food but we do cook our food to order so our food is not fast but very fresh. Please do tell your friends and family about us as we would love to be able to welcome them in the near future. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future as generally people do not just stay once with us they come back time and time again.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

just arrived back from a fantastic weekend away in Kilkenny! We choose the Aspect hotel after getting a promotional fax at work!

finding the hotel was no problem! the directions provided by the hotels website led us straight to them! on arrival at the hotel we were met by extremely pleasant and helpful staff who took time to chat with us! the foyer is an extremely open planned space having the reception desk, breakfast area, dinner/lunch area, and bar all in the one space!

We had a room on the second floor at the side of the hotel, on entering the room it was your bog standard room, two single beds properly pushed together, tv, tea/coffee making facilities and an Iron and Ironing Board! my only peeve against the room was the overwhelming smell of cigarettes in the bathroom, especially when we came back later on in the night when the room was hot, you open the bathroom door only to be met with this gastly smell!

We had a few drinks in the bar before heading into town, the bar man was delightful! a really pleasant young man, i asked him exactly how long it would take us to walk into the town/city and he was up front and honest! 20 minutes give or take!! 20mins if we climbed over the fence, walked across the road and stayed on the footpath! 30 mins if we went out the front and walked like civilised people and didnt climb the fence!! well with the shoes i was wearing we opted to jsut get a cab! but the following day we took his advice and hoped the fence and it took us approx 15 mins to walk in! i would defo say that if we had walked around the civilised way it would have taken us the 30 mins, i would have been moaning, himself wouldnt be talking to me, and we would have had a crap day! so thanks Kevin (i think his name was that) big thumbs up! and by the way if you are reading this kevin i was the one with the guiness milkshake!

sooo the taxi driver was very informative, we asked him to drop us to the nearest central pub and he did! dropped us right outside the Hibernian with the Left bank accross the way from it! few pints in each and sure we were laughing! the hibernian was extremely busy and the constant que waiting for a table proved in time that this was the busiest bar in Kilkenny on a friday night, we went accross to the Left Bank and if there were 10 people in there it was a lot! a very quite bar! and a stiff walk up the stairs to the loo! i felt as if i was walking for ever!!

others bars visited on the night were rafter dempseys, matt the miller and one other pub just a few doors down from matt the millers but for the life of me i cant recall its name!

taxi back to the hotel €8.65! not too bad i suppose, a few more beers in the bar! and off to the bedroom, NOW!! i will swear on a stack of Bibles!! the DARKEST curtains in Ireland! usually there is a stream of light that you just cant cover up! but in the Aspect Hotel WOW, we woke at 9am and thought it was still nighttime, NO light whatsoever coming through the curtains! WHERE OH WHERE can i get a pair!

breakfast was a great experience! self service! no one waiting on you at the table you could come and go as you please! you had a choice of a full irish hot breakfast or your continental breakfast! we didnt have lunch or dinner in the hotel but if the breakfast was anything to judge by i'd imagine that the lunch and dinner were excellant as well!

One thing i woudl suggest to anyone staying here is that if you have a meal booked in a restaurant in town and you are getting there by taxi that you BOOK your taxi in advance, we booked into Runcianis (spelt very badly) and there was a que for taxis when we ordered one in reception, so pre booking is a must!

Check out was a late one, with the offer it was 2pm checkout normally 12! no delays all over and dusted within 5 mins, I had joined the loyalty programme in advance but no number was provided so im not sure whether I was given the points for staying this weekend! the receptionist advised that she would check it out and get back to me..........

I would recommend this hotel to a friend as long as they didnt mind a walk to town, i couldnt fault it!! i did bring it to the receptionist attention re the smell of smoke in the bathrooms and she apologised for this. OH!!! one last thing! there are other posters on here who mentioned the boy racers, i think that this was taken in hand by the local council in that they closed off the road by night that was being used! we heard no boy racers at all!! the only thing that woke us in the wee small hours of the morning was a VERY over enthuastic (again spelling woeful) young lady in what can only be described as a Jubilant mating ritual in the middle of the grass area to the side of the hotel! LOUD is not the word for her! not that we were complaining! we actually found it hysterical! (",)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsCullenthe3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My main complaint with this hotel was it's distance from the center of the city. I was advised that that the hotel was within walking distance....possibly prior to eating dinner and drinking a few pints, but definatly not after. The good thing was that they had a deal with taxi drivers, so the price in and out of town was really good. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the bar and restaurant were okay. The accomodations were fine, normal standard hotel. No wi-fi available in rooms and my mother and husband were unable to get internet access on their laptops in the lobby, I could however on my Iphone. Probably would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank southernx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Thank you for your recent feedback. We are located just over 1 KM from city centre and with a footpath the whole way to town and I can assure you that many of our guests do enjoy the walk to town even after dinner, but i am sorry that you felt it was too far to walk. I am delighted that you availed of our discounted rates for the taxi to town which is real value from only €6 for four people. With regard to the internet we do offer wi-fi in all of our public areas and via a cable in the rooms. As you were able to access the internet via your phone our internet did work but as we made you aware we do not interfere with your computer settings and that is what prevented you from accessing the internet.
I am delighted that you found our Team to be very friendly and helpful as that is one of the many things that we pride ourselves on.
Thanks again for your feedback, as they are all valued.
Clement Gleeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Myself and few friends stayed in this hotel recently and all I can describe it as is Faulty Towers!! We were very disappointed with our night there. The bath rail was falling off the wall, There was no shower gel/shampoo. This didnt matter too much as we had our own but you dont expect the dispenser to be totally e,pty when you pay for your stay. At one stage one of the girls opened the room door and the door frame came off the wall with the door and hit her on the head. She called reception and a young man came up to have a look. After telling him what had happened, he more or less 'you dont say'!!! This is outragious, really not good enough, Hence, I would NOT recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chanel791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Thank you for your recent feedback and we do value all of our genuine comments. Your experience is not in keeping with any of our othre guests feedback and no member of the Team are aware of a door frame coming away. We value your comments as ask you to make yourself know to us and to make contact directly with us as I would personally like to speak to you about your feedback.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I have stayed in this hotel on several occasions and as I said on the tital its always spot on. The staff are all very friendly and always willing to help sort out issues. Clement always has time to speak to you which i find enjoyable. I have stayed in many hotels accross Ireland and there will always be issues, its how there dealt with that makes the differance. Yes there are boy racers and some noisy people but you can get that in any and all hotels on the wrong night. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, the food is very good and overall its value for money paid. Some one mentioned wifi in the rooms, the reception can give you a lead that allows internet connection if required. This is what I would call a no nonsence hotel..

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ColinHutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2011

Thank you for your positive review, it is very much appreciated. I am very happy that you found your stay enjoyalbe and that you enjoyed our hospitality. We do take pride on offering a very good quality, clean bedroom, excellent food, fantastic value on any date and we encourage genuine hospitality an offering that can sometimes below par in many a hospitality venue!

Please do let all of your friends and family know about your positive experience while visiting Aspect Hotel Kilkenny. Looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. In the mean time Happy Christmas and make your NEW YEARS Relolution to visit Kilkenny more often as Kilkenny is waiting to welcome you.

Kind regards,

Clement Gleeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We stayed here for two nights in October before returning to Dublin to catch our flight home. I had booked the reservations based on reviews I read on this site and the price. I knew the hotel was a bit out of the center of town but I became a little concerned when we had difficulty finding the hotel which is tucked in the corner of a service type mall. However, the hotel proved to be a gem of a find. From check-in to check-out the staff went out of their way to make us feel wlcome. I asked for quiet rooms and we were given rooms that overlooked a green belt in the back of the hotel. The breakfast is buffet style and has a nice selection of items to choose from. We were told we could walk to town but we chose to drive instead and were given a map and directions for easy access into Kilkenny. Unless being in the center of town is a priority, I would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back overlooking the green belt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danish07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Thank you for your valued review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location as you say is a little out of town but this allows for a comfortable nights sleep away from the hustle and bustle of a busy center but yet only minutes from the centre. Delighted to hear that the Team at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny made you feel welcome and went out of their way to assist you. We do have a great reputation locally for the quality, value and the level of service that we offer and our believes are if we continually deliver on these core elements we will continue to build a loyal clientelle. Please do tell all of your friends as we promise to wow them for a very good value break.
kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,831 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,039 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#11 of 19 in Kilkenny
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
2.1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,029 reviews
0.2 mi away
Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspect Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspect Hotel Kilkenny

Address: Smithsland South | Springhill, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range: £43 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspect Hotel Kilkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny is a great value hotel in the wonderful medieval city. Here, you will find contemporary style accommodation, with a warm friendly Irish welcome. The guest rooms offer spacious accommodation with ultra comfortable hypnos beds. The rooms contain everything you would want such as ironing board, tea & coffee stations, high standard of decor, safe and more. Rueben's restaurant serves a selection of tasty snacks and meals locally renowned and you can enjoy a full bar service. The hotel has FREE car parking and FREE wireless internet access. Centrally located just 15 minutes walk the city centre yet away from the street noise by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aspect Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Kilkenny
Days Hotel Kilkenny
Kilkenny Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing