We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel in ok location. Breakfast was nice. Staff were efficient. More of a business mans hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AceyGracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Thank you for your recent review very much appreciate you taking time to offer you feedback. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you enjoyed your breakfast. Thank you for your mention of the Team being efficient, I will pass on your comments. I am a little confused by your comment about the Hotel been for 'Business Man', perhaps it is an interputation error on my behalf if so I apologise, but we do get in excess of 50% of our business from the Leisure Market.
Please do continue to spread to good word for us here, we would love to welcome you back again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    284
    164
    61
    27
See reviews for
112
356
23
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clonmel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Stayed here on a Sat night and place was bustling with parties. Initial reaction was oh no there will be noise, but nothing all night. The check in was quick and pleasant and the rooms are nice size with comfortable beds. We had a dinner and bottle of wine included which was delicious and breakfast was amazing with the sausages and mushrooms being highlights. It is also self service so you can work away to your hearts content. For the price of this hotel it is excellent value. It is the same and in the majority less than the city centre hotels which will only offer bed only and not the breakfast dinner and bottle of wine offered at the Aspect. The hotel will get you a taxi for €8 which is excellent value and overall very pleasant and enjoyable stay with excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delaminco77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Thank you for taking time to offer your comments on your recent stay with us at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny. I am delighted to hear that you really enjoyed your stay, we do try to offer all of our guests the same experience. I am delighted to read that you feared that there may be noise due to a number of groups, but the noise failed to materialise. We do take group security deposits and we are only too happy to return the deposit when we have no disturbance. We are delighted with this security deposit as it does eliminate noise from groups.
Our rooms are very well equipped and the beds are very comfortable. Our food is extremely well known locally for its quality and value. We do cook your food to order.......its FRESH.
Glad you availed of the discounted taxi service on offer it is excellent value.
Thank you for recognising our overall value, it is a promise that we make we will always be the best value in the City where service and quality will not be comprimised.
Thanks again for your very kind comments I have passed them onto the Team here, Please spread the word for us as we would love to welcome some of your friends and family in the future. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Kilkenny was probably my favorite stop in Ireland, so I really did want to enjoy my stay at the Aspect. The staff is very friendly (other than the very impatient woman who answered the phone when we called for help with directions) and they try very hard, but the building itself needs some work. It still feels like a Days Hotel. The bedroom was quite large and clean (though the window didn’t close all of the way after we opened it), but the bathroom was pretty bad. The paint was peeling, there was mildew in the shower and toilet only flushed half of the time (and steadily ran the other half). And this was in the second room that we requested. I don’t mind paying for wi-fi in the sleeping rooms, but I would expect the connection to be better than minimal. Breakfast was decent, but cold. I will say that anytime issues or suggestions are brought to the staff, they do their very best to rectify whatever the situation is and they seem to really care about providing great service. Admittedly, I chose the hotel because it is less expensive than some of the options closer into town. Though, technically, I suppose it is within walking distance of town centre, it’s not an easy walk. Next time I will probably pay a little more and stay closer in.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for your recent review. I am happy to hear that you found our Team to be very friendly and trying to please. It is one of a number of core elements that we pride ourselves on..

I am disappointed to hear that you had difficulty when closing the bedroom window, we do have a tilt and turn window and operating instructions are on each window. I can assure you it was not an actual mechanical fault. The Toilets work off a vauum flush system and if one does not push the flush correctly you will end up with only a half flush and the water may trickle thereafter. It is a pity you did not mention this to any of the Team as it could have been resolved instantly. I am some what confused about the paint peeling off the bathroom ceiling as we have gone around to all the rooms and can not see any paint peeling. We have over the winter months invested significantly in the decor of the Hotel and this included painting of the Guest rooms.
As you mentioned we are walking distance to town and we do offer a discounted taxi fare also for our guests. We do offer the best value in Kilkenny and let me assure you we do value our clients and the Team are well aware of the value of a guestand winning them over to be a repeat guest of which we have so many of. I do hope you wil return again and perhaps be able to experience your stay in a different light.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed for one night on Saturday, the rooms was very spacious and comfortable, I liked the fact they use mugs instead of cups in the room, it a simple but effective touch. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had dinner in the hotel, it was gorgeous and excellent value too. They offer a 3 course meal and bottle of wine for two for €49. The hotel is a small bit out of the city centre but not too far, so a taxi wouldnt cost you more than €10. Its a great value hotel for groups, such as hens or stags, as i know the city centre hotels can be a bit pricey.

Room Tip: If you dont want to be disturbed, perhaps ask for a second floor room, there was a few stag parties...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMK85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for your recent review, really appreciate your honest feedback. Delighted to hear that our Team looked after you well during your time spent with us. Our accommodation as you mentioned is spacious and very comfortable. We do have a very good reputation locally for the quality of our food and its value. Location wise while we are a small bit outside of city centre we do offer discounted taxi fares and it is a nice walk into the city centre, footpath the whole way. Please do tell your friends about us as we would love not just to welcome you back but to welcome your friends also in the near future.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night, the room was large, clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included in the price of the room which made it very good value, breakfast ran until 10.30 which was convienent. Expected less for the price, pleasently suprised.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for your recent review, why are you surprised!!! We try to be the hidden Gem in Kilkenny and we do offer the best value everyday. Our accommodation is clean and very comfortable and we continually invest in the propert to maintain its standards. I will pass on your kind comments on the Team, we do value our customers and we do want all of our customers to come back time and time again. Delighted that you found our Breakfast to be very enjoyable. Please spread the good word for us as we would welcome your friends to stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

used this hotel to go to a function in kilkenny city.Good service,car park safe,taxi into town centre €8 each way.Hotel priced nicely room clean ,spacious and bed comfortable.Breakfast self service .Would use this hotel again .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddytulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Thank you for your recent feedback, very much appreciated. I am delighted that you are happy to return again to Aspect Hotel Kilkenny in the future. Good to see you acknowledge the standard of cleaniness and the good service, these are two key elements that we pride ourselves on. Please do tell your friends about us as we would love to be able to welcome them again in the future.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

This was extra good value for a 3 star Hotel. The staff were friendly, the beds were good and there was a comfortable lounge and bar. The Irish buffet breakfast was excellent and the evening meal in the Restaurant was ok for the price.
You need a car to access this Hotel or you would need to take a taxi from the City. It is situated on the ring road and access is only available traveling from the north. Turning can be dificult if there is heavy traffic. There is ample free parking.
A draw back in this day and age is that the free wi fi did not extend to the bedrooms. There was however good wi fi in the public areas.
Recommended for a short stay, especially for the quality bed, breakfast and the price

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatsAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Thank you for your feedback, very much appreciated. I am delighted to hear that you found the Team here very friendly, something we pride ourselves on. The Wi-fi is excellent in the public areas but we are in the process of extending wi-fi through the entire building, but we do offer at present FREE wired broadband in all guest rooms. I am slightly confused by your comments with regards to enrty from the North, But I think it has some thing to do with no right turn on one of the entrances to the Hotel but this is not on all entrances to the Hotel thankfully.
Glad to read that you would be happy to return to the Hotel again to enjoy our hospitality.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,897 reviews
2.1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,864 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,718 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#11 of 18 in Kilkenny
731 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspect Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspect Hotel Kilkenny

Property: Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Address: Smithsland South | Springhill, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspect Hotel Kilkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny is a great value hotel in the wonderful medieval city. Here, you will find contemporary style accommodation, with a warm friendly Irish welcome. The guest rooms offer spacious accommodation with ultra comfortable hypnos beds. The rooms contain everything you would want such as ironing board, tea & coffee stations, high standard of decor, safe and more. Rueben's restaurant serves a selection of tasty snacks and meals locally renowned and you can enjoy a full bar service. The hotel has FREE car parking and FREE wireless internet access. Centrally located just 15 minutes walk the city centre yet away from the street noise by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Aspect Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Kilkenny
Days Hotel Kilkenny
Kilkenny Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing