We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel.”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We got Groupon deal for the hotel. Great stay, nice, tidy room, good wine. Good hotel if you plan stay in Kilkenny. Not long drive to town centre and castle. Breakfast was delicious and stuff very friendly. Highly recommended! Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katarzyna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback it is very much appreciated. Glad you had a 'Great Stay' as you called it yourself and that you would highly recommend us, so please do that as we love been busy and we value our guests business.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    284
    164
    62
    27
See reviews for
113
356
23
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

We got a groupon deal for the aspect hotel and it really was great value for money. Along with a free bottle of wine we also had late checkout which was good. The city is only a two min drive away so its handy to drive into or get a taxi. Hotel is very clean, bit basic but for one night away its perfect and the breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rossie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Thank you for your feedback it is very much appreciated. Delighted you observed that the Hotel is clean, so many people mention that the Hotel is clean and the team is very friendly, I know it is not the norm that you receive everywhere but that is a basic requirement here, we are in the hospitality industry so we should be friendly and clean....well no excuse for dirt. Please continue to spead the positive word for us as we love to offer exceptional value and remain busy.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Stayed here for one night, price was good. The hotel is not in central kilkenny - its actually just off the ring road. Also note that it is in an industrial park with a kfc, woodies etc. But if you are looking for a quiet hotel dont be put off by this.

Room was clean and fresh, old type tv but was working fine. Bathroom clean, no shower cap or complimentary toiletries.

Dinner in the restaurant was tasty with good sized portions and helpful staff.

The bar area would be my biggest niggle as its just a few tables and chairs outside a bar counter but its basically part of the lobby and not separate in any way so anyone coming or going can see you.

Breakfast is self service and was fine.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Thank you for your genuine feedback it is very much appreciate, glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This hotel is a few kilometres out of the city but that's no problem if you have a car. Parking was free and lots of it and even though we had a car, we chose to leave it at the hotel and get a taxi into the city as it was only about 7 euros each way.
Rooms were quite big and clean and the breakfast good. Very friendly reception staff and helpful with my wifi access. Unfortunately free wifi was only available in the lobby - it would be more convenient if it was throughout the hotel rooms as well.
The hotel needs redecorating as it was undoubtedly very trendy when it was built but trends go out of date very quickly.
However, overall, a good hotel for a stay in Kilkenny.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funtimes0652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback it is very much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed our accommodation and that you found the Team to be very friendly. As you say we are located outside of the town centre but yet it is very easily accessible. Unfortunately we only have wifi in the Lobby and Restaurant but we do hope to have wifi in all room within the next two months as we are investing almost €20,000 in offering free wifi in all of our guest rooms. Please continue to spead the positive word on Aspect Hotel Kilkenny it is very much appreciated.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dungarvan, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Great price midweek, my husband and i stayed here on Tuesday, we havnt stayed since it was a Days Hotel a few years ago.
Nice room, great heating, very small bathroom!
Two course meal was included in our package and the main course was fab, breakfast is all self service, including the tea, coffee and toast, but for the price we paid this was fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrianne_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Thank you for offering your positive feedback, very much appreciated. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed our food in the restaurant and our nice accommodation. Please continue to spread the positive news for us, it is appreciated.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Great hotel in the fabulous Kilkenny. Stayed here for one night and I have to say it’s a great hotel and good value for money. The rooms were clean and tidy and the staff very helpful, in particular I found “Helen” in reception very professional and courtesy.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMAC71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thank you for taking time to offer us your feedback it is very much appreciated. Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Please keep an eye on our rates during April as we will be offering some exceptional value. We are always the very best value for your money when visiting Kilkenny.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We spent two nights on a bed and breakfast package, and had a very nice stay. The room was clean and well maintained, as were the common areas. Nice little well stocked bar and plenty of seating in the lobby for casual business meetings. The staff were always pleasant if stretched a bit thin...the front desk clerk was also serving as the bartender so was running to and fro, but did both jobs well.

The breakfast was quite nice, all self serve with traditional cooked full Irish offerings as well as continental items, fruit, etc. We never left hungry.

The hotel is a bit of a hike from the sites of Kilkenny...in good weather I would say it would be a decent walk for those so inclined, but most people would find it a bit far and prefer to take a car or taxi in. But it's not so far out as to be completely inconvenient. There is a restaurant on site and a KFC close by, but it is otherwise surrounded by a few homeware stores and that's about it.

As others have mentioned this seems a popular site for stag/hen parties, so if you are staying on a weekend don't be surprised by colorful language and retellings of the previous nights escapades coming from the tables around you LOL.

Room Tip: You may avoid some noise by being further from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishred77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review, it will be very much appreciated by the Team at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny. We are delighted that you noticed that the hotel is well maintained and very clean. Our Team as you mentioned are pleasant and we provide genuine hospitality as we care and value you. We are not city centre as you mentioned but easy to access the city by foot or by car, but I can assure you you will not be disturbed by street noise when staying at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny as you are removed from the Night Clubs and Late Bar.
Thanking you for taking time to offer your feedback it is very much appreciated.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,899 reviews
2.1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,866 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,718 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#11 of 18 in Kilkenny
732 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspect Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspect Hotel Kilkenny

Property: Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Address: Smithsland South | Springhill, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspect Hotel Kilkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny is a great value hotel in the wonderful medieval city. Here, you will find contemporary style accommodation, with a warm friendly Irish welcome. The guest rooms offer spacious accommodation with ultra comfortable hypnos beds. The rooms contain everything you would want such as ironing board, tea & coffee stations, high standard of decor, safe and more. Rueben's restaurant serves a selection of tasty snacks and meals locally renowned and you can enjoy a full bar service. The hotel has FREE car parking and FREE wireless internet access. Centrally located just 15 minutes walk the city centre yet away from the street noise by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aspect Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Kilkenny
Days Hotel Kilkenny
Kilkenny Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing