We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Kilkenny - but not the food at Days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Central Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved Kilkenny - but not the food at Days”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2008

We stayed at the Days Hotel, Kilkenny for 4 nights as part of a coach tour. The hotel was very clean but unfortunately it was quite a bit away from Kilkenny. Kilkenny was a lovely town but you need a taxi to get there. The one major disappointment was the food. As we were on a coach tour we were not allowed to choose from the main menu and had to choose from an improvised menu on a piece of paper. These choices were VERY limited and the service was extremely poor - we waited over an hour for our meal on one occasion. The restaurant/kitchen staff appeared incapable of coping with a large group (40) and if you did not like the TWO choices of meals there was no alternative. Some guests actually walked out of the restaurant to go elsewhere for their evening meal. There were plenty of choices for breakfast but the cooked food was almost always cold.

Will certainly go back to Kilkenny as it was lovely - but will never go back to the Days Hotel.

  • Liked — The rooms were immaculate
  • Disliked — The food choices and the service in the restuarant
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tojancal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    277
    158
    60
    26
See reviews for
108
346
22
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2008

Stayed for two nights in this hotel! Never again!

Reception staff were extremely rude whenever we enquired about anything.

Breakfast is literally first come first served. I think they may stop cooking at 9 because by the time we got down everything was gone! We booked dinner one of the evening in the hotel! Absolutely dreadful food, and the situation of the resturant is open plan so ur overlooked by anyone at reception or in the bar! Anytime the front door opened we were frozen.

I was deceived by the trip advisor rating! As I said before, NEVER AGAIN!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Amy-Kav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2008

Only stayed one night - but was impressed with what I saw.

The facilities were excellent and staff very welcoming. The rooms themselves were large, clean and comfortable.

The only down side is that it's on the ring road, some distance from the town centre, so would necessitate a taxi into town.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Nineacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2008

Rather than repeat all the positive comments of the other reviewers, with which I heartily agree (outstandingly friendly staff, superior housekeeping, well-equipped rooms, excellent value for money), I would like to say that I had occasion to stay in the 5-star Shelbourne Hotel in Dublin recently, and in every way, I preferred Days. One example: In the Shelbourne, despite the €300 price tag for the room, they charged €45 per day for an Internet connection. In Days, when I mentioned that I had my laptop with me, the front desk manager cheerfully handed me a cable which gave me unlimited FREE usage for the duration of my stay.

The only down side, as others have mentioned, is that it is not in the city centre. We had a car, and judged the short drive well worth it for being in such an enjoyable, economical and comfortable establishment.

  • Liked — The friendliness and efficiency of the staff; pristine clean and comfortable room; great shower
  • Disliked — Nothing, really.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Beverly_Fay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed here in October 2007. The facilities were excellent - big, clean room and bathroom and welcoming and helpful staff. Easy to park.

Only issue is the distance from the town centre (ie. Where Kilkenny Castle and all the good pubs, restaurants are). We couldn't have survived without our car... much too far to walk... perhaps it could be done in the day, but it didn't appear advisable at night.

The vibe was certainly 'business' - not a real vacationers or travelers type place.

We paid 85 euros for a double room, booked online through the Days Inn website - breakfast was not included in this price.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Luti_Luti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southeast ireland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2007

located in the kilkenny retail park off kilkennys ring road best to follow signs for kilkenny retail park this hotel opened in may 2006 .reception area is open plan with resterant and small bar.good selection for buffet breakfast both hot and cold,evening menu also good.for those who like kfc it is 2minutes walk away.rooms good size and well equiped.bathroom a bit small also well equiped.we stayed one week and found wardrobe space small for that lenght of stay.kilkenny city is 2kilometers away with great selection of shops -pubs great lunches served in pubs.its location on ring road is ideal for day trips from hotel and onward destination.wide selection of people staying when we were there.familys/busness/couples/singles/older travelers.would recomend this hotel.

  • Liked — clean good size well equiped room
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank fliggits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
2.2 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspect Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspect Hotel Kilkenny

Property: Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Address: Smithsland South | Springhill, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspect Hotel Kilkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny is a great value hotel in the wonderful medieval city. Here, you will find contemporary style accommodation, with a warm friendly Irish welcome. The guest rooms offer spacious accommodation with ultra comfortable hypnos beds. The rooms contain everything you would want such as ironing board, tea & coffee stations, high standard of decor, safe and more. Rueben's restaurant serves a selection of tasty snacks and meals locally renowned and you can enjoy a full bar service. The hotel has FREE car parking and FREE wireless internet access. Centrally located just 15 minutes walk the city centre yet away from the street noise by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aspect Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Kilkenny
Days Hotel Kilkenny
Kilkenny Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing