We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud noise at 1am from back of hotel and horrible receptionist”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We had a truly horrible stay and would recommend that people avoid this hotel. Our double room itself was pretty standard with a small tv. It was at the back of the hotel and there was a loud noise from about 1am, possibly due to climate control machine, or fans outside, and this kept us awake for about 2 hours. We called downstairs and the porter on duty could not detect where it was coming from.
The receptionist we dealt with was passive aggressive from the moment we checked in and later in the evening, in a rude manner pointed at, and told my boyfriend not to eat pizza in the foyer, even though he had only just sat down to wait for me to come back from the car and had no intention to eat it there! He had merely opened the pizza box to look inside and see its contents. She was friendly to the pizza delivery driver so it is hard to know why she would not be the same with guests actually staying there! We will never return and they lost a lot of potential repeat business from us.
We called the manager the next day and he promised us a callback, saying this was not characteristic of this particular receptionist, but despite phoning again, he never returned the call.
There are other options in Kilkenny and Carlow at the same price and of a better standard so don't waste your money here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shinnywill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for your review, we do welcome genuine reviews but reviews that are calculated are not really appreciated. Upon arrival at the Hotel you went on line to book the room. When you came to checkin you asked for us to charge the credit card used to make the booking but yet you did not have it on you or had we recieved authorisation to charge the card. So from there it went wrong for you!!!. When you got a Pizza delievered to the Hotel you were asked not to eat it in the Hotel Reception Area and your immediate response to this request was dont be jealous that your not having Pizza. A response that was totally unjustified. I did speak to the gentleman who did not want to pay for his stay over the phone and when I went to call him back he has no voice message on the phone so I could not leave a voice message!! Unfortunately we do not offer full refunds to guests that are not warranted. I know you did threaten that if a full refund was not forthcoming that my reviews would take a hit. Please continue to review my property if you wish but the public in general can see fake reviews very quickly when they are not in keeping with the majority of the guests feedback. As I said we do value genuine feedback, thank you for your comments.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

It was the cheapest hotel in our week long stay, and it was great. It's not really in the centre of town, and it's a litle weird being surrounded by big stores. Finding it was tricky but after getting directions it's actually good. The breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank portuguesas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback it is very much appreciated. Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you enjoyed the value that we offer. Please continue to tell your friends and family about Aspect Hotel Kilkenny as we would love to be able to welcome them in the future. Kind regards, Clement Gleeson General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, dinner bed and breakfast. Very reasonably priced. Dinner was good, room was big and clean and breakfast was good. Only inhibitor was the Really strong smell of cigarette smoke by the lifts which was quite stifling and found the lobby/bar/restaurant very cold.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank RNG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for taking time to offer your feedback it is very much appreciated. Sorry to hear that the Hotel felt cold to you but more often we are told that the Hotel is very warm. Thanks again for your feedback it is very much appreciated.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here on more then one occasion..very comfortable clean hotel. Hotel staff accommodating with early check in etc.short taxi ride to town centre.
Will be checking in here again in the future.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank toc_ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for your genuine feedback, we value geniune feedback very much. I am delighted to read that you have stayed with us on more than one occasion and I do hope we will see you again real soon. Glad you found the Team to be accommodation and the hotel to be very comfortable and clean, these are two of our main pillars that we pride ourselves on.
Thank you for your valued business and please continue to spread the very positive news for us as we love to remain busy.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The Aspect is an average hotel, rather nondescript. The rooms are clean, however, and the employees are friendly. The location was very difficult to find--and it is on the far outskirts (suburbs) of town, by a shopping mall. So definitely not a place to stay if you want to walk into town for a cultural experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for your recent feedback. Sorry to read that you found the Hotel hard to find but it is a medieval city so we are not allowed to put up signage by the local authorities. Sorry you found the 15 minute walk to town too far but I am sure by car it only took you 3 minutes. .
I do hope that we can welcome you back again in the very near future.
King regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

it a hotel on out skirts of kk in shopping out let car park, the rooms are clean and good beds the breakfast is ok ,should be open till 11am , its for sleeping and breakfast only type hotel.
a taxi into town cost around 10-13 euro, the walk is to far,

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback it is very much appreciated, we value all genuine feedback. I am disappointed to hear you call Aspect Hotel Kilkenny a 'Sleep and Breakfast' type of Hotel as our food is very well known locally for its quality and for that reason we employ 4 full time chefs to cater for the demand for our food. I am sorry you found the 15 minute walk to town too far but I am shocked with the fee you claim to have paid for a taxi to town given we have a €6 prior to 6pm and €8 after six set fee taxis to town or perhaps your fee is for a round trip!
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny employes of thirty employees all dedicated to caring for each guest that stays with us and the vast majority of our guests are repeat customers and we love to see them return time and time again.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The outside of the hotel gives an illusion that you are entering into a modern hotel. Though inside it is quite rundown and dirty, but the value is unbeatable. Breakfast was average, and the room smelled like smoke. It was adequate for a night and in no way was it a bad experience.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you for your recent review, I am shocked to hear you call the hotel rundown and dirty. Aspect Hotel Kilkenny is far from rundown and dirty and I would have to question if you really experienced our Hotel or not. Aspect Hotel Kilkenny is very well received by its customers but from time to time people may write unjustified reviews. We do really value genuine reviews and if one read the other reviews it becomes clear very quickly how ofter the Hotels cleaniness is highlighted.
Breakfast is average!! It consists of Choice of Juices, Orange, Grapefruit, Apple & Cranberry. Choice of cereal, porridge, cornflakes, rice krispies, weetabix and meusli. Choice of breads, bread rolls, toast brown or white, soda bread, croissants, pain au chocolates, custard and raisin danish, fruit scones. Other items on the cold buffet, selection of youghurts, whole fruits, grapefruit segments, mandarin segments, prunes, selection of cheeses. The hot buffet then has the following choice of eggs, bacon, sausages, tomatoe, black and white pudding, beans, mushrooms. So i do believe that the average person would consider the above selection to be quite extensive.
I can assure our customers that we pride ourselves on a clean hotel, a hotel with good food, a hotel that the team cares about their guests stay and above all we do offer the very best value to our guests but we do not comprimise on the quality that we offer. The vast majority of our guests are repeat customers and customers will not return if you are notting offering a memorable stay.
As I mentioned earlier, we do value and welcome genuine feedback.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,034 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,826 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 19 in Kilkenny
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
2.1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,978 reviews
0.2 mi away
Springhill Court Conference, Leisure & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspect Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspect Hotel Kilkenny

Address: Smithsland South | Springhill, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range: £44 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspect Hotel Kilkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny is a great value hotel in the wonderful medieval city. Here, you will find contemporary style accommodation, with a warm friendly Irish welcome. The guest rooms offer spacious accommodation with ultra comfortable hypnos beds. The rooms contain everything you would want such as ironing board, tea & coffee stations, high standard of decor, safe and more. Rueben's restaurant serves a selection of tasty snacks and meals locally renowned and you can enjoy a full bar service. The hotel has FREE car parking and FREE wireless internet access. Centrally located just 15 minutes walk the city centre yet away from the street noise by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aspect Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Kilkenny
Days Hotel Kilkenny
Kilkenny Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing