We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice hotel .”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I have just returned from two nights at the aspect hotel. The hotel itself was clean and we'll presented our room was large with everything you'd need. Breakfast on both mornings was nice and there was lots to choose from. The hotel is however badly situated in the middle of an industrial estate and is approx 30 minute walk into town a taxi costs between 8-10 euro. kilkenny is a fantastic break for all ages. I think we would prefer a hotel more centrally located the next time we return. Staff were very friendly and other than location I could not fault this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lfhayes31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your very kind feedback. I feel you would have preferred to have stayed in town, but we never actually deny our location but it is just a 20 minute walk to the centre of the city. However many guests who have experienced the city centre prefer to stay with us when they return to Kilkenny as they can get to sleep when they want to and not been disturbed but the street noise as people spill on the the narrow streets once the late bars and night clubs end.
We do hope we will see you back with us again in the future and please note we are always the best value in Kilkenny even allowing for taxi cost in and out from town.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    279
    161
    61
    26
See reviews for
109
350
23
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for my birthday weekend. All of the staff where so friendly and always went out of there way to help. Exp. the night staff. The price was great rooms and food was lovely there is a small bar does the job before heading out couldn't drink there for the night hotel is a bit out if the way from town but for the price was worth every penny. The staff really made it for us

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for the great feedback and the Team love to get the feedback. We are fortunate enough that we do have an excellent team employed at the Hotel and my philosophy is look after the team and they will look after the guests. Our Team do genuinely want all of our guest to leave with a positive opinion of the Hotel and it is a common trend in almost every review. Thanks again and I can assure you your business is valued by all of us here at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel is billed as 3-star and is priced accordingly. I have to say that the rooms were a generous size, clean with comfortable beds. Breakfast was good, although we didn't eat there at other times. The staff were professional, courteous and helpful. The hotel was a mile or so from the town centre at the side of an out-of-town shopping centre, which was no big deal for us - we weren't expecting majestic herds of wildebeest sweeping across the serengetti. We walked into the centre of town in about 20 mins. If you have limited mobility you'll need a taxi at 8 Euros. A friend and I were staying last weekend for the comedy festival and were dismayed to find on our arrival that only one room was booked instead of two. The hotel staff redeemed the situation by offering us apologies and compensation that were most acceptable - well done Aspect! We'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NI_Traveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for you very kind review it is very much appreciated. I can see we did not get your booking entirely correct but glad we were able to redeem ourselves and please to read that you are happy to return again to stay with us. Please continue to spread to positive word for Aspect Hotel Kilkenny and remember we are always the best value in Kilkenny and even more so when you book on the Hotels own official website.
Thanks for your valued business.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meath ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Arrived at hotel after having great difficulty finding it. It wasnt very well signposted and looked like an office block in an industrial park. Room was ok but single bed very small and a duvet not even big enough to cover my modesty. Decided to stay in hotel for dinner and ordered steak and chips. I was given steak and baked potato so had to wait another few minutes for chips. Onion rings were to come with meal but they and the chips were of the frozen variety. Wasnt worth the 130 euro for the stay. In fact wasnt worth any money. Definitely will not stay there again even for free.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShazzaCSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback, sorry we seemed to have not impressed you one bit with your stay. Our food does have an excellent reputation so I am surprised to hear your feedback. With regards to our duvets been small, they are actually larger than a standard duvet for a single bed so again I am surprised.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longford, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Particularly friendly and helpful staff and good value for the business traveller
Food is excellent and all facilities available with wifi,
A comfortable bed and a good nights sleep coupled with a daily paper and self service breakfast ideal for anyone on the road

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you so much for your genuine feedback and I am delighted to read all of your positive comments. A lot of our guests are customers who have stayed with us before and returning again. We love to see this as it is a real vote of confidence by our guest in what we have to offer. Thanks again for your valued business it is very much appreciated at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel recently for work reasons and appropriately found it is situated on a retail estate. There's a KFC 100m away, along with a couple of carpet mega-stores and a car dealer. Needless to say, there's ample parking.

This is the hotel equivalent of a car ferry, but without the glamour. Nothin' fancy. There is a bed in a room with a door that locks. It's clean and devoid of any identifying features.

Breakfast was included, and it's easy to get into town.

Stairwells are well lit.

Room Tip: back of the hotel is quiet, odd numbered rooms. Even ones are more likely to be overlooking the traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank murnauontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback but we do value genuine feedback. I am sorry to read your comments in relation to Aspect Hotel Kilkenny but I just wonder if you have mixed us up with some other Hotel that you may have stayed at as we get very positive feedback in general and to described as a car ferry is far from norm.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

The location of this hotel is not good if your planning to walk into town for a night out. It is based in a retail park outside town.
There is nothing to the hotel, everything is there when you walk in the door, bar, restaurant, foyer. There was no room service. You would not be staying here for a weekend getaway. The rooms were ok.
I thought it was expensive for what was on offer. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillpickett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback, sorry you did not find our location very nice but that is beyond our controll. We never claim to be located in the centre of the City but most people love our location because they are our of the street noise by night and able to get a nights sleep when they plan to sleep yet close to the City to enjoy what it has to offer. The City is within walking distance of the hotel with a foot path all the way to the centre of town.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
2.1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#11 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspect Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspect Hotel Kilkenny

Property: Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Address: Smithsland South | Springhill, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspect Hotel Kilkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny is a great value hotel in the wonderful medieval city. Here, you will find contemporary style accommodation, with a warm friendly Irish welcome. The guest rooms offer spacious accommodation with ultra comfortable hypnos beds. The rooms contain everything you would want such as ironing board, tea & coffee stations, high standard of decor, safe and more. Rueben's restaurant serves a selection of tasty snacks and meals locally renowned and you can enjoy a full bar service. The hotel has FREE car parking and FREE wireless internet access. Centrally located just 15 minutes walk the city centre yet away from the street noise by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Aspect Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Kilkenny
Days Hotel Kilkenny
Kilkenny Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing