We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't complain at the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Can't complain at the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2014

Just a short few lines on this , had to attend a meeting in Kilkenny so it was a late booking and at 49euros I wasn't expecting anything , it's in an odd location beside a retail park .... Friendly welcome , room good for 3 star , old fashioned TV in room , breakfast was Buffett style no complaints except my pet aversion in all irish hotels is queuing for the toaster! All in all I found the staff in both the reception and food and bar areas more than pleasant and would use the hotel again , just be aware it's a fair walk into Kilkenny City but it's great value.

  • Stayed September 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback, we value all of our guests genuine feedback. Thank you for staying with us, your business is very much appreciated.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    277
    158
    60
    26
See reviews for
108
346
22
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballynahinch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2014

I have stayed here three times on business and I always received a warm welcome. The rooms are comfortable and of a high standard. The restaurant serves wonderful food and offers a wide choice of meals.

On a slight negative, I was woken up during the night, on on my first two visits, by the fire alarm. Apparently, this was caused by someone taking a shower late at night, and the extractor fan not working.

Regardless of being wakened by the fire alarm, this is a great hotel with friendly staff and I have since been back, and will be returning on a regular basis.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrueIrishWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback, delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Restaurant has a very good reputation locally for its quality. Sorry to hear that the fire alarm went off twice this was due to someone returning from a night out running a shower and falling asleep on the bed before the actually went to the shower and as a result the steam triggers the alarm system. Thankfully this does not happy often but also it is good to see our alarm system to be so sensitive for in the event we may need it.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel on the outskirts of Kilkenny. Its a 20 min walk to the town centre. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are a good size. I disliked the plastic glasses in the bathroom though. Breakfast was plentiful. We had dinner one night too and I couldn't fault it. Great value overall and I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Thank you for your genuine feedback and your positive comments. I personally am not a fan of a plastic glass in the bedrooms but having seen a documentary on television where the accommodation staff cleaned the guests bedroom glasses from the towels from the previous guest I think you very quickly agree plastic glasses are a very good idea especially when they come sealed in a plastic cover. Thank you for mentioning it to us however.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Hey guys, Caitriona, Kylie and myself (Lucia) just booked a room in your hotel. We are doing a charity skydive in Kilkenny on Saturday and can not wait to stay in your hotel. We just booked the room a minute ago and the and the lady we spoke to was so nice and accomodating. She was able to provide me answers to all questions asked such as how much the taxi would be into town, the nearest swimming pool and even that they can accommodate for my friend who is a celiac. The price of the room is the cheapest around by far and we just wanted to leave a review to say that if the hotel stay is even half as good as the service we received just booking the hotel then we are going to have a very present trip to Kilkenny and stay in aspect hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
First impression counts ...............thank you for your genuine feedback, our team are dedicated to providing a first class service with a smile first time everytime. I hope once you come to stay you will enjoy the hospitality that awaits you.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Have just returned from a two night stay, excellent hotel, staff are very pleasant, helpful and could not do enough for you. Very spacious room, comfortable bed and good food. No hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Thank you for chosing to stay at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny for your recent trip to Kilkenny. Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Please do inform your friends and family about our Hotel as we love to stay busy and be able to constantly offer our guest the very best value on offer in Kilkenny.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Well just returned from the Aspect Hotel again. Love Love this hotel on arrival was greeted as always by reception team and management with a big hello and warm smiles not that I expected anything else from this crew professional as always. I entered the Room to our usual Rewards members treats so it just starts your stay at the hotel on a high. We had a meal in the restaurant which was delicious a special mention for Eugene he was so attentive and chatty and whatever we asked for he got it without a problem. I just wanted to say reading the other reviews especially the one about things I have stayed in this hotel numerous times to count and I have never encountered such professional, hardworking and honest staff so i think this review is very unfair anyway we are planning our next trip to Kilkenny and the Aspect hotel already

Room Tip: Just One tip maybe when booking try and go for the dinner Bed & Breakfast rate fantastic food re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Thank you for returning to stay with us and I am delighted to read that we yet again surpassed your expectations. We value your business and we love to hear genuine feedback from our valued customers.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

[May I say, right from the beginning, that this is NOT a fake review!!!]

I read quite a few reviews of the Aspect Hotel and many were quite derogatory of the hotel. As usual, I was reading the reviews long after booking our stay and shortly before arriving. Of course at that stage it was too late to run...

Well, trip advisor's inherent weakness was exposed again as straight away on arrival, we were almost smothered in care and attention but the wonderful lady at reception, Chloe.

It was late when we arrived but we were snuck into the restaurant just before its official closing time and again were treated like royalty, this time by the fantastic Joanna.

I don't want to spend ages writing this so if you don't mind, I'll just paste in the comment I have just written for the hotel itself:

"We had a wonderful stay. We were made particularly welcome by both Chloe and Joanna who watched out for us the whole two days we were at the hotel. Two very different people who achieved the same thing in completely different ways – a real 'Irish' welcome!
Smart hotel to be employing people of that calibre – good HR dept...!!
Thanks everyone.
Ronan, Máire, Diarmaid & Eilidh"

I know I am only singling out Chloe and Joanna. We were well taken care of also by Colm as we entered the restaurant and I enjoyed his quiet sense of humour!

When we bumped into any of the cleaning staff in the morning they stopped to ask how we slept!!

Yes, the en-suite was smallish but it worked perfectly. This is a commercial hotel in the middle of a ring-road commercial park. I wasn't expecting the Shelbourne Hotel days after a major refurb. In fact, what I was expecting was a dump as that is what many of the trip advisor reviews were leading me to believe.

Another thing (and this is one of my BIG bugbears) was that there was NO nappy on the bed. Joy of joys – YAY...!!! I can't stand them. I usually arrive up to my room, wrecked and just dying to fall into the bed but I know that if I don't remove the plastic under-sheet, I'll wake up in an hour's time dripping in sweat and my night's sleep destroyed. There really is no need for these damnable devices; if people are going to destroy the place, they'll find a way of doing it whether some silly twit in a suit has specified a nappy or not.

Anyway, the Aspect Hotel in Kilkenny does NOT put plastic nappies on the beds!!! Not only that but the beds themselves are high quality complex affairs, so much so that I was tempted to rip off the sheets to see the label so that I could buy one myself for home. Thanks you Aspect suited people – you're obviously people of high moral fibre

Another one – people complained about the reception, the bar and the dining area all being in the one space – yeas they were and may I say well done to the client and the architect who had the guts to go for this wonderful design which made the ground floor public space very open and friendly. This isn't a boutique hotel in an old Georgian town house; one more time, it is a commercial hotel with a big heart.

So, there you go. We had a great two days staying at the small commercial hotel that is the Aspect. Long may they prosper!!

Cheers,
Ronan

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asalater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAspectHotel, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Thank you for your genuine feedback and thank you for your very positive comments. We value genuine feedback and thankfully most people can read between the lines of fake and real reviews.
Thank you for your valued business.
Kind regards,
Clement Gleeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
2.2 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspect Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspect Hotel Kilkenny

Property: Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Address: Smithsland South | Springhill, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspect Hotel Kilkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny is a great value hotel in the wonderful medieval city. Here, you will find contemporary style accommodation, with a warm friendly Irish welcome. The guest rooms offer spacious accommodation with ultra comfortable hypnos beds. The rooms contain everything you would want such as ironing board, tea & coffee stations, high standard of decor, safe and more. Rueben's restaurant serves a selection of tasty snacks and meals locally renowned and you can enjoy a full bar service. The hotel has FREE car parking and FREE wireless internet access. Centrally located just 15 minutes walk the city centre yet away from the street noise by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aspect Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Kilkenny
Days Hotel Kilkenny
Kilkenny Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing