We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Loughborough
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but noisy”
Reviewed 9 September 2009

We stayed in the Days Hotel for one night while travelling around Ireland. It was clean, modern, easy to find & the staff were hepful.
The room was nice but the bath was tiny even for a short person.
We dined in the restaurant & the food was great.
The only thing that I wasn't happy with was that our room must of been near the boiler room as it was so loud at night it kept me awake. But apart from that it was a nice hotel.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank coxy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneGeneralManager, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 15 September 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay in Days Hotel Kilkenny.

I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. I will be passing on your comments about the restaurant and food to our head chef and staff.

I do, however, apologise for the inconvenience caused to you due to the noise coming from the boiler. This noise can not be heard everywhere and we have had someone in to have a look at this and hopefully get rid of the noise. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Kind Regards,

Jane Dunleavy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    279
    161
    61
    26
See reviews for
109
350
23
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

stayed here overnight this week at a very reasonable rate including dinner. The hotel itself is situated on the outskirts of the city in a massive retail park, it is a modern hotel and looks very nice inside and out. The rooms were of average size, the bathrooms were tiny and the restaurant was overlooked by the reception area.

The hotel seemed to be at full capacity with two coach loads of tourists which took over the restaurant. The evening meal was very tasty and reasonable priced. The breakfast was buffet style and was pretty poor but wasnt expecting anything luxury...

Biggest down side was the heat in the room, kept waking up dehydrated which wasnt good....

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CavanPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

I stayed here for a weekend with my boyfriend.The hotel wasnt the easiest to find, but after calling the hotel we got better directions that those we printed from the booking site! Whilst i was aware the location wasnt city centre,it was a good 2025 mins walk into the city centre. Its located at the back of a retail park that you have to zig-zag all the way through to get to the hotel door. A taxi costs 10 EUR(we had to get 3 over the weekend). This is a significant cost that needs to be factored into a stay at this hotel if you plan on socialising in the city centre. The hotel itself was lovely, we had a huge room with a very comfy bed,adequate bathroom,loads of storage and everything worked fine. spotlessly clean and lots of fresh towels/tea coffee etc available. We had breakfast both mornings which was very tasty, fresh and nicely presented. served until 10.30 at weekends which was excellent.check out at 12 was great too. We ate at the hotel one of the nights also,as it was part of the deal we booked and we were very impressed with it. The food was again very tasty,large portions and friendly service and reasonably priced. The wine was yum and reasonably priced too. As with all hotel chains, the restaurant was quite soul-less and open-plan but this is not something we minded much, as we werent staying there for the night. Free internet access also which worked fine for us.

Overall, I would say this is a great hotel to stay in, if only it was nearer the city centre. It is too far out and requires a lenghty walk to the centre or a costly taxi. The actual hotel itself was faultless, but i would have to not recommend based entirely on the location. I would prefer to pay more and stay somewhere more central!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank europeangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

stayed at this hotel in august. from the outside it's nothing special to look at but inside is excellent. the rooms are new and very large. big comfy beds, sat tv, hot and powerful showers, extra towells etc as reqd. there is really nothing to complain about here. price includes a buffet full irish breakfast, loads of parking and little extras like tooth brush or shaving kits as reqd.
there is also a good bar in the lobby, conference rooms and a kfc 3 mins walk from the front door.
it's a bit of a walk into the town centre but only a short taxi ride.
unsure if they have free wi/fi but there is a computer with access in tne lobby. (fee per hour)
price, location and services all excellent.
mrplow37, no b.s., just tell it how it is

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrplow37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Qld, Aust
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2009

We stayed here overnight in July 09. We didn't realise that it was so out of town but then looking at the places closer to town we were pleased with our choice. The staff were pleasant and helpful (except for one). The rooms were lovely, clean & modern. The bed was comfortable. We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was most enjoyable. Breakfast was a buffet and it was fresh.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeaMccabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

We stayed in this hotel for a weekend, as we were a group of girls on a hen night out in Kilkenny. Upon arrival, the lobby was bright and spacious and the receptionist was extremely courteous, friendly and welcoming - this seemed a great start. We were in good form and all checked into our rooms. They were spotlessly clean and spacious with large sized beds. Twin and Double!! The bathrooms were spotless also. As we had organised a meal in town, the hotel reception were able to book taxis to and from town for us, without any difficulty. They were most obliging which was extremely helpful. And as for breakfast the next morning - well it was fab. It was a buffet with both cold and hot selection of foods and was most enjoyable - and eat as much as you like. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would definately return for a short stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneGeneralManager, General Manager at Aspect Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 15 July 2009
Dear Guest,

I am responding to your recent review of our hotel.

I am delighted to read that your stay was enjoyable. I will pass on your comments to the Accommodation team about the cleanliness of the bedrooms and indeed the kitchen staff about the enjoyable breakfast you had.

It is also great to read that the staff were all so helpful and that you had no problems getting in and out of town.

We would certainly be delighted to welcome you back to Days Hotel Kilkenny in the near future and thank you again for taking the time to post a review of your stay.

Kind Regards,

Jane Dunleavy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo,NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2009

I booked this hotel knowing it was on the outer edge of town, and that turned out to be a great thing. Parking was the biggest challenge throughout Ireland for us, and this hotel has a huge lot, so that was fantastic. The hotel itself was very nice, large rooms which surpised us, comfortable beds. Breakfast was included in our rate, not a lot of foods we liked, but for most people it would be more than enough with fresh fruit and a variety of other things.
If you are driving and want to go into Kilkenny I would recommend getting a taxi if possible because we drove into town hoping to go to the castle and walk around, but after almost an hour of getting turned around every which way, and then finding the castle parking lot ripped up for construction and no street parking spaces left, we decided to just forget the whole thing out of frustration. So just be warned of the lack of parking within a reasonable distance of the castle!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank import83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
2.1 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kilford Arms Hotel
Kilford Arms Hotel
#11 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspect Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspect Hotel Kilkenny

Property: Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Address: Smithsland South | Springhill, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspect Hotel Kilkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny is a great value hotel in the wonderful medieval city. Here, you will find contemporary style accommodation, with a warm friendly Irish welcome. The guest rooms offer spacious accommodation with ultra comfortable hypnos beds. The rooms contain everything you would want such as ironing board, tea & coffee stations, high standard of decor, safe and more. Rueben's restaurant serves a selection of tasty snacks and meals locally renowned and you can enjoy a full bar service. The hotel has FREE car parking and FREE wireless internet access. Centrally located just 15 minutes walk the city centre yet away from the street noise by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Aspect Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Kilkenny
Days Hotel Kilkenny
Kilkenny Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing