We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of Newlands Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Newlands Lodge
Ranked #2 of 73 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Newlands Lodge was our first B&B in Ireland after leaving Dublin. The hosts couldn't have been any nicer and made an excellent first impression by helping with the luggage. The room was beautiful, clean and confortable. The putting green was a very nice extra and my grandaughter's first attempt at golf. Breakfast was great and the variety of the full Irish breakfast was the best we found in Ireland. The same could be said for the homemade scones. We liked the country setting and it was a nice drive into Killkinny. You certainly can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
There are newer reviews for Newlands Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

My husband and I, along with a single friend who was traveling with us through Ireland for 2 weeks, stayed at Newlands Lodge in 2 rooms for 2 nights in late August. This was our first B&B stop after spending 3 days in Dublin. We absolutely loved staying with Mairead and Jimmy. The rooms, the attention to detail and the location were perfect! Breakfasts were delicious, the rooms were spacious and had wonderful views out the windows. They had a kettle with a selection of teas and biscuits available in the sitting room at all times. They helped with our luggage, and gave us many helpful tips and things to see. Many small touches make this B&B a wonderful place to stay for several days. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Patti1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed at Newlands Lodge for one night at the beginning of our Ireland trip. The experience was absolutely amazing.
We were welcomed by Jimmy, who took us to our room (& helped us with our heavy luggage) & gave us very helpful instructions on how to drive to & inside the city of Kilkenny & also gave us a maps with recommended restaurants. All his instructions proved to be very precise & helpful.
Our room was the most luxurious room that we've ever been to, felt like in an exotic resort but with a warm & quiet atmosphere.
In the morning we met lovely Mairead who served us with a delicious Irish breakfast with great homemade scones & jams.
Location is very good, less than 10 minutes drive takes you straight to the city center.
It felt as if Mairead & Jimmy thought about each small detail just to present the guest with the perfect experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allnamesaretaken2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We only stayed here for one night but would definitely come back. The rooms were very spacious and beautifully furnished. The owners were very friendly and helpful and paid attention to detail. The breakfast was outstanding with fresh fruit, homemade scones fresh out of the oven and a good choice of cooked breakfasts.
The B&B is located a bit outside of town so you need a car to get there. But it's only a short drive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank 2010_Melanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My wife and I (along with my parents) stayed at Newlands Lodge for two nights in mid-August. It is a first class establishment and has all the comforts you could hope for (large bedroom/bathroom, wireless internet, outstanding breakfast). The owners are a very pleasant, charming couple who have truly created a memorable B&B. They will eagerly provide you with suggestions regarding local points of interest, including one or two that may not be in your travel guides (that was the case with us!). My wife was particularly impressed with the little things they did to ensure a pleasant experience (e.g., leaving a chocolate on your pillow in the evening, providing each person with a water bottle on a daily basis). I would highly recommend them.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eamccarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

During our 2nd trip to Ireland we stayed at Newlands Lodge for 2 nights in August. We are a family of four, with kids ages 20 and 18 - have stayed at many B & B's. I can say without a doubt this was our very favorite B & B. It is lovely - simply beautiful, well designed, comfortable and every detail is carefully thought out. Our family did not want to leave ! Our kids were put up in the loft bedroom, which was lovely with a view of the stars from the window that was amazing. My husband and I were thrilled with a beautiful large room with a king size bed (so nice after a few days on the road !) robes, chocolates on the pillow.. every detail was thought of. Current magazines in the room, toiletries, all set out with care. Mairead and Jimmy were welcoming, even helping us find a place to eat dinner after our late arrival in town. We love the area, on a beautiful road that is only minutes from Kilkenny. We loved exploring Kilkenny, and truly wish we could have stayed longer. A very nice touch was the guide books in the den, with large overstuffed couches, tea and coffee, and baked goods always available. The breakfast was delicious, particularly the Irish porridge which was a favorite. Mairead spent time every day helping us plan our day, talking to us about Ireland, and really could not have been nicer. Of all of Ireland that we have seen (both coasts now) this is our favorite B & B! we are already planning a trip back. Not to be missed !! Thanks for a spectacular visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms were beautiful. We had a king suite, and the king size bed was a nice treat !
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelingtheworld27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

It's those little things that make all the difference when you are travelling. Having a hair dryer, iron, extra pillows, remembering your preferences at breakfast, being interested in your travel experiences etc. These make a stay memorable. Our stay at Newlands Lodge was a wonderful introduction to the hospitality that Ireland has to offer. Outstanding in every area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnBC51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
4.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,783 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,988 reviews
4.0 mi away
Zuni Hotel
Zuni Hotel
#7 of 19 in Kilkenny
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,949 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
4.4 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newlands Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newlands Lodge

Address: Kells Rd | Newlands, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range: £79 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mairead & Jimmy offer luxury accommodation with a choice of superior double and family rooms with king and queen size beds, all rooms with en-suite facilities, guest lounge to relax, private parking, landscaped gardens, free wi-fi. Full Irish breakfast included in rates, and light refreshments available at all times. Newlands Lodge is situated in beautiful countryside, just 4 miles from the magnificent Kilkenny Castle and the 13th century St Sacice's cathedral. Newlands Lodge is Ideally located to tour the surrounding counties of Waterford, Tipperary, and Wexford, all less than 1 hours drive. Dublin is connected to Kilkenny by motorway and the drive is 90 minutes. Newlands lodge welcomes you to its peaceful atmosphere enhanced by a fine reputation of hospitality and customer care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Newlands Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newlands Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing