We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very quiet”
Review of Newlands Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Newlands Lodge
Ranked #2 of 72 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“very quiet”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Misread was busy so her husband met us at the door. We were having a wonderful visit. When mairead walked in she started talking so fast we had trouble trying to absorb the just of what she was saying. She was in automatic pilot just pumping out the usual speal when a new group is herded in. All we could do was shake our heads and hope one of use got the information we needed for breakfast parking and food. By next morning she slowed down some to get our breakfast order then she was off again, maybe they were overbooked but it was all so rushed we couldn't ask questions so we headed on in to town. The rooms were clean and there is a room to sit and unwind with a coffee . The rooms had nice showers and a tub and toiletries

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OKCBammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
113
267
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tybee Island, Ga
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Newlands Lodge is a beautiful, comfortable place to stay. Our hosts were very welcoming, and Mairead went out of her way to help us enjoy our first trip to Ireland. The room was spotlessly clean and very attractive. Breakfast was scrumptious and plentiful. I would highly recommend it to anyone and would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merkty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoover, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We spent a night here in August and had the most relaxing time. We arrived early in the morning and Mairead was very accommodating and let us leave our luggage, when we came back in the evening our bags were all in our beautiful, spacious room. It was very comfortable and we felt at home with Mairead and Jimmy. The breakfast was delicious and we had plenty of choices. It was one of our most favorite places of all the B&B's we stayed at.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here in mid September and it was wonderful. The rooms were charming and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. They gave us great recommendations on pubs to eat at and also the Kells priory just down the road, which was one of my favorite stops on our trip. We really felt welcomed staying here and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janjanjanireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I and my two friends arrived with our newly rented car from Enterprise Kilkenny. We had trouble with the manual and driving on the left. Mairead made sure that we would not leave her place without contacting Enterprise. She called them and they came right out! End of car story. Newlands Lodge is wonderful. It is a short distance from the hustle and bustle of the town. We wanted a quiet place and Newlands is it. The rooms were lovely and two of us shared a room and bath. It was plenty big. I wish we could have stayed another night there, but we had our sights on making it to Cashel (which we did not) and on to Dingle(which we made in good time).
Newlands has beautiful landscape. The hosts are personable and so kind. The breakfast is so hearty that I could not eat all of it. I would love to go back there.

Room Tip: I don't think there would be a bad room in the lovely home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliarosecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Newlands Lodge is just a few minutes drive outside the center of Kilkenny. This location gives a bit of a rural feel with the land surrounding this lovely home. The hosts Mairead and Jimmy were delightful and helpful with providing us information for our next days travel throughout the Irish countryside. The rooms were spacious and clean. The breakfast was tasty and plentiful. This was my favorite lodging choice out of everywhere we stayed in Ireland.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HH_in_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

We just left Newland's Lodge and had a wonderful stay! The room was spacious with a comfortable bed and spacious bathrooms. We had a variety of choices for breakfast, including a full Irish breakfast. Most importantly, our host helped us with travel directions and suggestions for restaurants. Our visit could not have been nicer.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nalbonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
4.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,756 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,951 reviews
5.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
4.4 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
Newlands Country House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newlands Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newlands Lodge

Property: Newlands Lodge
Address: Kells Rd | Newlands, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mairead & Jimmy offer luxury accommodation with a choice of superior double and family rooms with king and queen size beds, all rooms with en-suite facilities, guest lounge to relax, private parking, landscaped gardens, free wi-fi. Full Irish breakfast included in rates, and light refreshments available at all times. Newlands Lodge is situated in beautiful countryside, just 4 miles from the magnificent Kilkenny Castle and the 13th century St Sacice's cathedral. Newlands Lodge is Ideally located to tour the surrounding counties of Waterford, Tipperary, and Wexford, all less than 1 hours drive. Dublin is connected to Kilkenny by motorway and the drive is 90 minutes. Newlands lodge welcomes you to its peaceful atmosphere enhanced by a fine reputation of hospitality and customer care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Newlands Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newlands Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing