We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS”
Review of Newlands Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Newlands Lodge
Ranked #2 of 74 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at the end of September.
Glamorous, oversized bedroom (complete with oversized bed), magnificently furnished.
Modern bathroom with powerful hot shower.
Excellent dining and sitting rooms, generous breakfasts of the highest quality.
Very peacefully located about 8 minutes' drive from Kilkenny city centre and its vast array of quality restaurants and many pubs.
Very friendly and helpful hosts, Mairead and Jimmy.
This is more like a resort than a B&B though the welcome and treatment you receive here make you feel like family.
The nightly rate is a bargain for what you get.
Couldn't recommend more highly.

Room Tip: Ask if the biggest room is available and if it is snap it up.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dyingkangar00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed for two nights at Newlands lodge and was by far the best of all the places we stayed on our three week trip around Ireland and Northern Ireland. Mairead and Jimmy are such wonderful hosts, letting us feel so welcome when we arrived and always ready to assist, giving us advice on what to see and do around Kilkenny. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable and the breakfast menu is something to die for. Newlands lodge was definately one of the highlights of our trip.Will stay at no other place should we ever visit this part of the world again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hans V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and I just returned from a round the Ireland trip of 12 days. Had stayed in eight B & B during the trip, this is the best...no doubt. At first I thought the location is remote, I found it was not that far from the city centre, the benefit is it is surrounded by beautiful garden and endless bush and green lawn. The house itself is beautifully decorated and extremely clean. Mairead and Jimmy have put a great great effort into it and they are so helpful. We had no regret following Mairead's advice for which restaurant to go for dinner...Cafe Sol. The breakfast was the best for the trip and the freshly baked scone was unforgettable. Wish I could stay there one more day. I would stay there again if I travel Ireland again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I really liked this B&B and Margaret takes a very professional approach down to the written breakfast menu . Good selection for breakfast including salmon and freshly cut fruit.

Room was clean and spacious, as was bathroom. Plenty of tea varieties and coffee all day in lovely sitting area with biscuits and lollies . Loved the chocolate bars in the room! .Lots of helpful advice on visiting. Definitely on my top highly recommend list. On the road between Kilkenny and Kells, the latter is really worth a visit too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussiealison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We had a spacious 3rd floor room that had a large bathroom with a power shower. There was also a good view of their side yard, the old cottage and the surrounding farmland. Our innkeepers were friendly and Jim carried ours suitcases upstairs. The guesthouse is located about seven kilometers from town, but it is an easy drive and away from the city centre noise. Breakfast was nice with an ample buffet. Mairead also suggested that we visit Kells Priory, which was just down the road and well worth the time. I would definitely recommend Newlands Lodge, unless one had to stay within walking distance of Kilkenny City.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We were so happy to have found this lovely Bed and Breakfast just a short drive outside Kilkenny in the beautiful and peaceful countryside. Mareid and Jimmy were amazing hosts who warmly welcomed us into their lovely home. We felt we were treated more like friends than guests. Mareid and Jimmy's breakfasts were the best that we had on our eight week journey through Scotland, Ireland and England. The freshly made baked goods each morning as well as the delicious smoked salmon are memorable! Our bedroom was huge and so tastefully decorated with beautiful views from the windows of the surrounding countryside. Mareid cheerfully gave us many helpful suggestions for day trips in the surrounding area. We would not hesitate to recommend this property and do hope to stay again if we return to the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This was the first B&B (2 nights) of our 18 nights stay in Ireland. Mairead and Jim were welcoming and gave us some excellent sightseeing advice, especially Kell's priory. Mairead's full Irish breakfast set a standard that few other B&Bs or hotels came close to and her cinnamon scones made all others a disappointment. I only wish we had asked for her recipe.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TB12-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
4 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,831 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,039 reviews
5 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
7.1 mi away
Abbey House B&B
Abbey House B&B
#1 of 4 in Thomastown
169 reviews
3.9 mi away
Newlands Country House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newlands Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newlands Lodge

Address: Kells Rd | Newlands, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range: £84 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mairead & Jimmy offer luxury accommodation with a choice of superior double and family rooms with king and queen size beds, all rooms with en-suite facilities, guest lounge to relax, private parking, landscaped gardens, free wi-fi. Full Irish breakfast included in rates, and light refreshments available at all times. Newlands Lodge is situated in beautiful countryside, just 4 miles from the magnificent Kilkenny Castle and the 13th century St Sacice's cathedral. Newlands Lodge is Ideally located to tour the surrounding counties of Waterford, Tipperary, and Wexford, all less than 1 hours drive. Dublin is connected to Kilkenny by motorway and the drive is 90 minutes. Newlands lodge welcomes you to its peaceful atmosphere enhanced by a fine reputation of hospitality and customer care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Newlands Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newlands Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing