We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Newlands Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkenny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Newlands Lodge
Ranked #2 of 78 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Absolutely Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

A B&B of the highest quality. Mairead was such a friendly and helpful host. Accommodation was magnificent in incredibly spacious room. Such wonderful attention to detail!!! Breakfast was DELICIOUS!!!!!! With our own car, being out of town a little way was no problem at all. The countryside was very picturesque. We took a taxi into town for dinner and a few drinks one night. As there were 4 of us the cost was fine. Would most definitely recommend to others and stay again ourselves.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor and our room was sooooooooooo spacious!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yogi13_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
109
255
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

My husband and I spent only one night in this lovely home and none could compare afterwards. The food was of 5 star quality. The hostess was friendly, informative, kind, and so warm. The house itself is gorgeous, clean, and comfortable. We used our GPS to find it without any trouble. We liked being outside of the town, yet only 10 minutes away. It was so quiet and calming. We would go back in a heart beat and cannot recommend it enough!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KennetteJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I wish we had been able to spend more than one night at this guesthouse near Kilkenny -- the loveliest of the eight b&bs we stayed at during an 18-day trip to Ireland. It was so peaceful being in the country. The house is gorgeous, and the hosts Mairead and Jimmy were engaging and helpful. Breakfast was fabulous, too, with the best homemade scones we had on our trip.

Our room was huge and beautifully furnished. The putting green out front was a nice touch. We enjoyed seeing Kells Priory -- a 12th century monastery down the road we would have missed if Mairead hadn't suggested it. What an amazing site, and it was just us and some sheep there.

I definitely recommend this guesthouse if you are visiting Kilkenny and its amazing castle. This is a great place to stop for the night if you are driving from Dingle to Dublin as we were.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovetoTravel2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at the end of September.
Glamorous, oversized bedroom (complete with oversized bed), magnificently furnished.
Modern bathroom with powerful hot shower.
Excellent dining and sitting rooms, generous breakfasts of the highest quality.
Very peacefully located about 8 minutes' drive from Kilkenny city centre and its vast array of quality restaurants and many pubs.
Very friendly and helpful hosts, Mairead and Jimmy.
This is more like a resort than a B&B though the welcome and treatment you receive here make you feel like family.
The nightly rate is a bargain for what you get.
Couldn't recommend more highly.

Room Tip: Ask if the biggest room is available and if it is snap it up.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dyingkangar00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed for two nights at Newlands lodge and was by far the best of all the places we stayed on our three week trip around Ireland and Northern Ireland. Mairead and Jimmy are such wonderful hosts, letting us feel so welcome when we arrived and always ready to assist, giving us advice on what to see and do around Kilkenny. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable and the breakfast menu is something to die for. Newlands lodge was definately one of the highlights of our trip.Will stay at no other place should we ever visit this part of the world again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and I just returned from a round the Ireland trip of 12 days. Had stayed in eight B & B during the trip, this is the best...no doubt. At first I thought the location is remote, I found it was not that far from the city centre, the benefit is it is surrounded by beautiful garden and endless bush and green lawn. The house itself is beautifully decorated and extremely clean. Mairead and Jimmy have put a great great effort into it and they are so helpful. We had no regret following Mairead's advice for which restaurant to go for dinner...Cafe Sol. The breakfast was the best for the trip and the freshly baked scone was unforgettable. Wish I could stay there one more day. I would stay there again if I travel Ireland again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I really liked this B&B and Margaret takes a very professional approach down to the written breakfast menu . Good selection for breakfast including salmon and freshly cut fruit.

Room was clean and spacious, as was bathroom. Plenty of tea varieties and coffee all day in lovely sitting area with biscuits and lollies . Loved the chocolate bars in the room! .Lots of helpful advice on visiting. Definitely on my top highly recommend list. On the road between Kilkenny and Kells, the latter is really worth a visit too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiealison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
4.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
4.2 mi away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
7.1 mi away
Abbey House B&B
Abbey House B&B
#1 of 4 in Thomastown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newlands Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newlands Lodge

Property: Newlands Lodge
Address: Kells Rd | Newlands, Kilkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mairead & Jimmy offer luxury accommodation with a choice of superior double and family rooms with king and queen size beds, all rooms with en-suite facilities, guest lounge to relax, private parking, landscaped gardens, free wi-fi. Full Irish breakfast included in rates, and light refreshments available at all times. Newlands Lodge is situated in beautiful countryside, just 4 miles from the magnificent Kilkenny Castle and the 13th century St Sacice's cathedral. Newlands Lodge is Ideally located to tour the surrounding counties of Waterford, Tipperary, and Wexford, all less than 1 hours drive. Dublin is connected to Kilkenny by motorway and the drive is 90 minutes. Newlands lodge welcomes you to its peaceful atmosphere enhanced by a fine reputation of hospitality and customer care. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Newlands Hotel Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing